



# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office

550 West 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 1600 Anchorage, AK 99501 Main: 907.269.0350

## MEMORANDUM

TO: Marijuana Control Board

DATE: October 15, 2021

FROM: Jane P. Sawyer, Regulations Specialist

RE: Regulations Project – Reinstatement of license – failure to renew

At the August 2021 meeting, the board amended the reinstatement fee after considering public comment received on second draft and sent an amended draft out for public comment (the amended draft also included technical changes made by Law). This third draft was out for public comment for about 33 days. Comment was received.

The draft:

- amends section 3 AAC 306.035 (application for renewal of a license), including adding new subsections, to allow for a licensee to submit a renewal application along with a statement of reasons for failure to submit a renewal application on time no later than September 30 of the year in which the license expired.
- repeals and readopts section 3 AAC 306.080 (denial of a license or endorsement application), to reletter it for logical progression but the "new" language is (c) which lays out provisions for which the board will deny an application for reinstatement, including that the application was submitted later than September 30 of the applicable year, the applicant was granted a reinstatement within ten years prior, or the failure to submit a timely renewal application is due to excusable oversight.
- adds the word/phrase "reinstatement" or "license reinstatement" to applicable sections such as informal conference 3 AAC 306.085, formal hearing 3 AAC 306.090, appeals 3 AAC 306.095, for applicant/licensee due process.
- Amends section 3 AAC 306.100 (fees; refund), to add a non-refundable reinstatement fee of *"equal to 100 percent of the applicable renewal license fee in addition to the applicable renewal fees."*

Options for the board:

- Vote to adopt as is
- Amend and adopt (or send back out for public comment if necessary)
- Send back to staff for more work
- Close project without action



Jana D. Weltzin Licensed in Alaska & Arizona 901 Photo Avenue, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Anchorage, Alaska 99503 Phone 907-231-3750 JDW Counsel jana@jdwcounsel.com

September 29, 2021

## Re: Comment on Regulation Change to 3 AAC 306 Reinstatement of Licenses

Dear Honorable Members of the Alaska Marijuana Control Board:

Please accept this letter regarding the proposed regulation changes to 3 AAC 306.035, .080, .085, .090, .095, and .100 dealing with the reinstatement of licenses. As an initial matter, I want to lend my support to the proposed regulation changes.

As this regulation change was put out for a second round of public comment, a lot of what I would like to suggest has already been received by the board with a minor change reflective of the discussion during the August MCB meeting in Nome.

The proposed regulations do not allow reinstatement if an application for reinstatement has occurred in the past ten (10) years. This seems excessive, mistakes happen, and as we have seen with the pandemic there are many situations where the mail chain gets interrupted, etc., I would propose the Board consider modifying the proposed regulation change from a ten (10) year limitation to a five (5) year limitation. Thank you for your consideration and thank you for your continued hard work furthering the growth and sustainability of our thriving marijuana industry.

Truly and Sincerely Yours, Jana D. Weltzin, Esq

3 AAC 306.035 introductory language is amended to read:

3 AAC 306.035. Application for renewal of license; **reinstatement for failure to timely renew.** 

3 AAC 306.035(d) is amended to read:

(d) The director may require an applicant for renewal <u>or reinstatement</u> of a license under this chapter to submit fingerprints and pay fees as required by 3 AAC 306.055(a).

3 AAC 306.035(g) is amended to read:

(g) If a marijuana establishment required to submit a renewal application under (a) of this section fails to deliver a complete license renewal application or fails to pay the required renewal fee and the late renewal application fee on or before August 31 of each year, that marijuana establishment license expires at 12:00 midnight on August 31 of that year. A holder of an expired license shall immediately surrender the license to the board. Any holder of an expired license that seeks authority to operate must file a complete new application under 3 AAC 306.020, and 3 AAC 306.025, along with the required fees. <u>A holder of an expired license may</u> **apply for reinstatement as described in (i) of this section.** 

3 AAC 306.035 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(i) A holder of an expired license under (g) of this section may apply to the board for reinstatement of a license no later than September 30 of the year on which the license expired.When applying for reinstatement, the applicant shall:

(1) submit a statement of reason, on a form prescribed by the board, for not submitting a renewal application on time;

(2) submit a complete renewal application as required in (b) of this section,including the license renewal fees, and, if applicable, fingerprint and fees as required by 3 AAC 306.055(a);

(3) attest that the applicant has not been granted reinstatement under this section during the prior 10 years;

(4) satisfy any additional requirements for reinstatement of the license as required by the board.

(5) pay the non-refundable license reinstatement fee set out under 3 AAC306.100(b).

3 AAC 306.035 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(j) Nothing in (i) of this section gives any person a right to reinstatement of the license.License reinstatement will be granted solely as described under this chapter.

3 AAC 306.035 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(k) Granting license reinstatement does not prevent the board from taking additional disciplinary action against the licensee. (Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 12/28/2017, Register

224; am 2/21/2019, Register 229; am 3/25/20, Register 233; am \_\_\_/\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_\_)
Authority: AS 17.38.010 AS 17.38.150 AS 17.38.200

AS 17.38.070 AS 17.38.190 AS 17.38.900 AS 17.38.121

3AAC 306.080 is repealed and readopted to read:

3 AAC 306.080. **Denial of license or endorsement application.** (a) After review of the application, including the applicant's proposed operating plan and all relevant information, the board will deny an application for a new license or new onsite consumption endorsement if the board finds that

(1) the application is not complete as required under the applicable provisions of <u>3</u>
 <u>AAC 306.020</u> - <u>3 AAC 306.055</u>, or contains any false statement of material fact;

(2) the license or endorsement would violate any restriction in <u>3 AAC</u> <u>306.010</u> or <u>3 AAC 306.015;</u>

(3) the license or endorsement would violate any restriction applicable to the particular license type authorized under this chapter;

(4) the license or endorsement is prohibited under this chapter as a result of an ordinance or election conducted under <u>AS 17.38.210</u>, <u>3 AAC 306.200</u>, or <u>3 AAC 306.230</u>;

(5) the applicant's actions or the operating plan does not adequately demonstrate that the applicant will comply with applicable provisions of this chapter;

(6) the license or endorsement would not be in the best interests of the public; or

(7) a protest by the local governing body is not arbitrary, capricious, and unreasonable.

(b) After review of the application and all relevant information, the board will deny an application for renewal of a marijuana establishment license if the board finds

(1) any cause listed in (a) of this section;

(2) that the license or endorsement has been operated in violation of a condition or restriction the board previously imposed;

(3) that the applicant is delinquent in the payment of taxes due in whole or in part from operation of the licensed business;

(4) that a protest by the local governing body is not arbitrary, capricious, and unreasonable; or

(5) that the applicant has lost right to possession of the applicant's licensed premises.

(c) After review of the application and all relevant information, the board will deny an application for reinstatement of license due to failure to submit a timely renewal if the board finds

(1) any cause listed in (a) or (b) of this section;

(2) violation of any terms of administrative hold or seizure of marijuana or marijuana product as described in 3 AAC 306.830;

(3) the application was submitted later than September 30 of the given applicable year;

(4) the applicant has had an application for reinstatement granted during the 10 years before application submittal; or

(5) the failure to submit a timely renewal application is due to excusable oversight; excusable oversight includes confusion as to whether an original license holder or the applicant for a transfer license is required to submit the renewal application;

(d) After review of the application and all relevant information, the board will deny an application for transfer of license to another person if the board finds

(1) any cause listed in (a) of this section;

(2) that the transferor has not paid all debts or taxes arising from the operation of the business licensed under this chapter unless the transferor gives security for the payment of the debts or taxes satisfactory to the creditor or taxing authority;

(3) that transfer of the license to another person would result in violation of the provisions of this chapter relating to identity of licensees and financing of licensees;

(4) that the prospective transferee does not have the qualifications of an original applicant required under this chapter; or

(5) that a protest by the local governing body is not arbitrary, capricious, and unreasonable.

(e) If the board denies an application for a new license, renewal of a license, reinstatement of license, license conversion, or transfer of a license to another person, the board will, not later than 15 days after the board meeting at which the application was denied, furnish a written statement of issues to the applicant, explaining the reason for the denial in clear and

concise language, and identifying any statute or regulation on which the denial is based. In the notice of denial the board will inform the applicant of the right to an informal conference under 3 AAC 306.085 and to a formal hearing under 3 AAC 306.090.

(f) After review of the application and all relevant information, the board will deny an application for license conversion if the board finds that

(1) the application contains any false statement of material fact;

(2) the license would violate any restriction applicable to the particular license type authorized under this chapter;

(3) the license is prohibited under this chapter as a result of an ordinance or election conducted under <u>AS 17.38.210</u>, 3AAC 306.200, or <u>3 AAC 306.230</u>;

(4) the applicant's actions or the application does not adequately demonstrate that the applicant will comply with applicable provisions of this chapter;

(5) a protest by the local governing body is not arbitrary, capricious, and unreasonable; or

(6) the license conversion would not be in the best interest of the public.

(Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 2/21/19, Register 229; am 8/21/2019, Register 231; am Eff.

\_\_\_\_/\_\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

 Authority:
 AS 17.38.010
 AS 17.38.150
 AS 17.38.200

 AS 17.38.070
 AS 17.38.190
 AS 17.38.900

 AS 17.38.121
 AS 17.38.121
 AS 17.38.121

3 AAC 306.085(a) is amended to read:

(a) If an applicant for a new license, renewal of a license, <u>license reinstatement</u>, license conversion, or transfer of a license to another person is aggrieved by an action of the board denying the application, the applicant may, not later than 15 days after the date of the written notice of denial, request an informal conference with the director or the board. An informal conference requested under this section must be held at a time and place convenient to the applicant and the board, but not later than the next scheduled meeting of the board. An informal conference may be conducted telephonically.

(Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 2/21/2019, Register 229; am \_\_\_\_/\_\_\_; Register \_\_\_\_\_) Authority: AS 17.38.010 AS 17.38.150 AS 17.38.200 AS 17.38.070 AS 17.38.190 AS 17.38.900

AS 17.38.121

3 AAC 306.090(a) is amended to read:

(a) If an applicant for a new license, renewal of a license, <u>license reinstatement</u>, license conversion, or transfer of a license is aggrieved by an action of the board denying the application, the applicant may request a formal hearing by filing a notice of defense in compliance with AS 44.62.390 not later than 15 days after the date of the written notice of the denial, or as provided in 3 AAC 306.085(b) if the applicant requested and participated in an informal conference. Failure to file a notice of defense as provided in this section constitutes a

waiver of the right to a formal hearing. (Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 2/21/2019, Register 229; am Eff. \_\_\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

 Authority:
 AS 17.38.010
 AS 17.38.150
 AS 17.38.200

 AS 17.38.070
 AS 17.38.190
 AS 17.38.900

 AS 17.38.121
 AS 17.38.121

3 AAC 306.095 is amended to read:

(a) An aggrieved applicant or marijuana establishment license holder may appeal to the board regarding any action of the director, or an employee or agent of the board regarding an application for a new license, a license renewal, <u>license reinstatement</u>, a license conversion, or a transfer of license to another person.

(b) An applicant or marijuana establishment license holder aggrieved by a final decision of the board regarding an application for a new license, a license renewal, <u>license reinstatement</u>, a license conversion, or a transfer of license to another person may appeal to the superior court under AS 44.62.560. (Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 2/21/2019, Register 229; am Eff.

\_\_\_\_/\_\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

 Authority:
 AS 17.38.010
 AS 17.38.150
 AS 17.38.200

 AS 17.38.070
 AS 17.38.190
 AS 17.38.900

 AS 17.38.121
 AS 17.38.121

3 AAC 306.100(b) is amended to read:

(b) The non-refundable application fee for a license renewal application is \$600. If a renewal application is late as provided under 3 AAC 306.035(e), an additional non-refundable late renewal application fee is \$1,000. The non-refundable application fee for renewal of an onsite consumption endorsement is \$600. <u>The non-refundable reinstatement fee for an expired license under 3 AAC 306.035(i) is equal to 100 percent of the applicable renewal license fee in addition to the applicable renewal fees.</u>

(Eff. 2/21/2016, Register 217; am 7/19/2017, Register 223; am 8/11/2018, Register 227; am 2/21/2019, Register 229; am 4/11/2019, Register 230; am 5/1/2019, Register 230; am 5/9/2019, Register 230; am 3/25/2020, Register 233; am Eff. \_\_/\_\_\_, Register \_\_\_\_)

Authority:	AS 17.38.010	AS 17.38.150	AS 17.38.200
	AS 17.38.070	AS 17.38.190	AS 17.38.900
	AS 17.38.121		

Current language for 3 AAC 306.080 which is being repealed and readopted:

[(a) AFTER REVIEW OF THE APPLICATION, INCLUDING THE APPLICANT'S PROPOSED OPERATING PLAN AND ALL RELEVANT INFORMATION, THE BOARD WILL DENY AN APPLICATION FOR A NEW LICENSE IF THE BOARD FINDS THAT (1) THE APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE AS REQUIRED UNDER THE APPLICABLE PROVISIONS OF 3 AAC 306.020 - 3 AAC 306.055, OR CONTAINS ANY FALSE STATEMENT OF MATERIAL FACT;

(2) THE LICENSE WOULD VIOLATE ANY RESTRICTION IN 3 AAC 306.010 OR 3 AAC 306.015;

(3) THE LICENSE WOULD VIOLATE ANY RESTRICTION APPLICABLE TO THE PARTICULAR LICENSE TYPE AUTHORIZED UNDER THIS CHAPTER;

(4) THE LICENSE IS PROHIBITED UNDER THIS CHAPTER AS A RESULT OF AN ORDINANCE OR ELECTION CONDUCTED UNDER AS 17.38.210, 3 AAC 306.200, OR 3 AAC 306.230;

(5) THE APPLICANT'S ACTIONS OR THE OPERATING PLAN DOES NOT ADEQUATELY DEMONSTRATE THAT THE APPLICANT WILL COMPLY WITH APPLICABLE PROVISIONS OF THIS CHAPTER;

(6) THE LICENSE WOULD NOT BE IN THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE PUBLIC;

(7) A PROTEST BY THE LOCAL GOVERNING BODY IS NOT ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS, AND UNREASONABLE.

(b) AFTER REVIEW OF THE APPLICATION AND ALL RELEVANT INFORMATION, THE BOARD WILL DENY AN APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF A MARIJUANA ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE IF THE BOARD FINDS

(1) ANY CAUSE LISTED IN (A) OF THIS SECTION;

(2) REPEALED 8/21/2019;

(3) THAT THE LICENSE HAS BEEN OPERATED IN VIOLATION OF A CONDITION OR RESTRICTION THE BOARD PREVIOUSLY IMPOSED;

(4) THAT THE APPLICANT IS DELINQUENT IN THE PAYMENT OF TAXES DUE IN WHOLE OR IN PART FROM OPERATION OF THE LICENSED BUSINESS;

(5) THAT A PROTEST BY THE LOCAL GOVERNING BODY IS NOT ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS, AND UNREASONABLE; OR

(6) THAT THE APPLICANT HAS LOST RIGHT TO POSSESSION OF THE APPLICANT'S LICENSED PREMISES.

(c) AFTER REVIEW OF THE APPLICATION AND ALL RELEVANT INFORMATION, THE BOARD WILL DENY AN APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF LICENSE TO ANOTHER PERSON IF THE BOARD FINDS

(1) ANY CAUSE LISTED IN (A) OF THIS SECTION;

(2) THAT THE TRANSFEROR HAS NOT PAID ALL DEBTS OR TAXES ARISING FROM THE OPERATION OF THE BUSINESS LICENSED UNDER THIS CHAPTER UNLESS THE TRANSFEROR GIVES SECURITY FOR THE PAYMENT OF THE DEBTS OR TAXES SATISFACTORY TO THE CREDITOR OR TAXING AUTHORITY;

(3) THAT TRANSFER OF THE LICENSE TO ANOTHER PERSON WOULD RESULT IN VIOLATION OF THE PROVISIONS OF THIS CHAPTER RELATING TO IDENTITY OF LICENSEES AND FINANCING OF LICENSEES;

(4) THAT THE PROSPECTIVE TRANSFEREE DOES NOT HAVE THE QUALIFICATIONS OF AN ORIGINAL APPLICANT REQUIRED UNDER THIS CHAPTER; OR

(5) THAT A PROTEST BY THE LOCAL GOVERNING BODY IS NOT ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS, AND UNREASONABLE.

(d) IF THE BOARD DENIES AN APPLICATION FOR A NEW LICENSE, RENEWAL OF A LICENSE, LICENSE CONVERSION, OR TRANSFER OF A LICENSE TO ANOTHER

PERSON, THE BOARD WILL, NOT LATER THAN 15 DAYS AFTER THE BOARD MEETING AT WHICH THE APPLICATION WAS DENIED, FURNISH A WRITTEN STATEMENT OF ISSUES TO THE APPLICANT, EXPLAINING THE REASON FOR THE DENIAL IN CLEAR AND CONCISE LANGUAGE, AND IDENTIFYING ANY STATUTE OR REGULATION ON WHICH THE DENIAL IS BASED. IN THE NOTICE OF DENIAL THE BOARD WILL INFORM THE APPLICANT OF THE RIGHT TO AN INFORMAL CONFERENCE UNDER 3 AAC 306.085 AND TO A FORMAL HEARING UNDER 3 AAC 306.090.

(e) AFTER REVIEW OF THE APPLICATION AND ALL RELEVANT INFORMATION, THE BOARD WILL DENY AN APPLICATION FOR LICENSE CONVERSION IF THE BOARD FINDS THAT

(1) THE APPLICATION CONTAINS ANY FALSE STATEMENT OF MATERIAL FACT;

(2) THE LICENSE WOULD VIOLATE ANY RESTRICTION APPLICABLE TO THE PARTICULAR LICENSE TYPE AUTHORIZED UNDER THIS CHAPTER;

(3) THE LICENSE IS PROHIBITED UNDER THIS CHAPTER AS A RESULT OF AN ORDINANCE OR ELECTION CONDUCTED UNDER AS 17.38.210, 3AAC 306.200, OR 3 AAC 306.230;

(4) THE APPLICANT'S ACTIONS OR THE APPLICATION DOES NOT ADEQUATELY DEMONSTRATE THAT THE APPLICANT WILL COMPLY WITH APPLICABLE PROVISIONS OF THIS CHAPTER;

(5) A PROTEST BY THE LOCAL GOVERNING BODY IS NOT ARBITRARY, CAPRICIOUS, AND UNREASONABLE; OR

(6) THE LICENSE CONVERSION WOULD NOT BE IN THE BEST INTEREST OF THE PUBLIC.]