

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING HOME INSPECTOR LICENSING SECTION 333 WILLOUGHBY AVENUE, 9TH FLOOR, JUNEAU, AK 99801 P.O. BOX 110806, JUNEAU, AK 99811-0806 Phone: (907) 465-5470 E-Mail: license@alaska.gov Website: www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/phin.htm

"HOW TO FILE A CLAIM AGAINST A SURETY BOND"

INFORMATION SHEET

A suit may be brought against a Home Inspector's bond for claims relating to:

- 1. labor including employee benefits;
- 2. taxes and contributions due to the state, city, and borough;
- 3. material and equipment;
- 4. claims for breach of contract; and
- 5. repair of public facilities.

Bring suit upon the bond in District Court by:

- 1. Filing a summons and complaint in District Court (may be done in Small Claims Court for amounts less than \$5,000).
- 2. Listing when the claim arose, the contractor's business name, bonding company name, and bond number as defendant(s).
- 3. Send two copies of all court documents and \$25.00 to the Division of Insurance for the requirements of the division to complete service on the surety that issued the bond:

State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Insurance P.O. Box 110805 Juneau, AK 99811-0805 (907) 465-2515

4. In addition to the above-three requirements, please send a copy of the complaint by registered or certified mail to the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing:

State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806

(Authority AS 08.18.081)

You should be aware that there are statutes and regulations applicable to these types of claims. Please review AS 08.18.071 – 08.18.081 and 12 AAC 21.130 - .140. It is your responsibility to research and be aware of the statutes and regulations applicable to your claim. The citations above are not an exhaustive list and are not legal advice. Please note that failure to comply with applicable statutes and regulations may result in delayed payment or nonpayment of claims. Please also note that under 12 AAC 21.130(d), it is not necessary or appropriate to name the commissioner as a party to your action in asserting a claim against the surety bond. If you need a complete license/bond verification, please submit your request in writing to this department. There is a \$20.00 fee for this service.