Licensing

Training Requirements for Producers
(Long Term Care and Annuity Suitability)

Long Term Care Insurance

One-time eight hour course requirements

Any producer licensed for health authority as of July 1, 2011 may not continue to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance after July 1, 2012 unless the producer has completed a one-time course that is at least eight credit hours. Training taken by the producer to comply with another state's requirements would satisfy our requirement as long as the one-time training course meets the requirements in Alaska Statute 21.53.066(d)

Ongoing requirements

Any producer licensed for health authority that sells, solicits, or negotiates long-term care insurance and is renewing their license after July 1, 2012 must complete an ongoing training course of at least four (4) credit hours every 24 months. The ongoing requirement must be satisfied at each renewal cycle after July 1, 2012.

Annuity Product Training

Insurer/Company Product Training (3 AAC 26.778(a))

For producers licensed prior to October 16, 2011 - A person licensed for life authority as of October 16, 2011 has until January 16, 2012 to complete the product specific training requirements. A producer that has already completed product specific training requirements after January 1, 2011 would meet Alaska's training requirements under this section.

For producers licensed on or after October 16, 2011 - New licensees will be required to complete the training program before they solicit or sale an annuity product.

General Annuity Training (One-time 4 hour training requirement) (3 AAC 26.778(b))

For producers licensed for life authority prior to October 16, 2011 who solicit or sale an annuity product - A person licensed for life authority that solicits or sells an annuity product as of October 16, 2011 has until April 16, 2012 to complete the one-time 4 hour general annuity training requirement.

For producers licensed for life authority on or after October 16, 2011 who solicit or sale an annuity product - A person licensed on or after October 16, 2011 for life authority will be required to complete the training program before they solicit or sale an annuity product.

A producer meets Alaska's general annuity training requirements under 3 AAC 23.778(b) if the producer has satisfied substantially similar training requirements of another state.

Minimum Topics and Exclusions for Annuity Training Course

(c) The one-time four hour annuity training requirement under 3 AAC 26.778(b) must include at a minimum the following topics:

  1. the types of and various classifications of annuities;
  2. identification of the parties to an annuity;
  3. how fixed, variable, and indexed annuity contract provisions affect the consumer;
  4. the application of income taxation of qualified and non-qualified annuities;
  5. the primary uses of an annuity;
  6. the appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements that are consistent with 3 AAC 26.750 – 3 AAC 26.825.

(d) The annuity training required under (b) of this section may not include the following topics:

  1. marketing information;
  2. sales techniques;
  3. specific information about a particular insurer’s products.