
Residential Real Estate Appraiser Certification Application Instructions 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Residential Real Estate Appraiser Certification 
can be reviewed:  

1. APPLICATION
A signed, completed application (#08-4164, pages 1-6).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”

Nonrefundable Application Fee:  $150.00 
Initial Certification Fee:  $350.00 
Federal Registry Fee:  $  80.00 

Total Fees Due:  $580.00 

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS
A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4164a).

4. CHOOSE TO APPLY FOR CERTIFICATION BY:

Endorsement
If the jurisdiction from which you are using your credentials to apply in Alaska is not in compliance with the provision of Title XI
of the Financial Institutions Reforms Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA of 1989) as determined by the Appraisal
Subcommittee (ASC). State compliance reviews will be conducted administratively.

Examination
If you hold a bachelor's degree or higher in any field or an associate degree in a field of study related to business administration,
accounting, finance, economics, or real estate, have completed 200 core curriculum hours, have completed 1,500 hours in
residential appraisal experience, and are requesting Board approval to take the Uniform State Residential Certification
Examination endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraiser Foundation.  You will be asked to submit an appraisal
report if your application is approved by the Board and it is determined that you are eligible to take the Uniform State Residential
Certification Examination.

Reciprocity
If the jurisdiction from which you are using your credentials to apply in Alaska is in compliance with the provision of Title XI of the
Financial Institutions Reforms Recovery and Enforcement Act (FIRREA of 1989), as determined by the Appraisal Subcommittee
(ASC), state compliance reviews will be conducted administratively.

Trainee Transition
If you currently hold a certification/registration as a trainee appraiser and have obtained a bachelor's degree or higher in any field
or an associate degree in a field of study related to business administration, accounting, finance, economics, or real estate,
completed 125 core curriculum hours and have completed 1,500 hours in residential appraisal experience. You will be asked to
submit an appraisal report if your application is approved by the Board and it is determined that you are eligible to take the
Uniform State Residential Certification Examination.
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Real Estate Appraisers Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 

Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


CERTIFICATION BY ENDORSEMENT 

In addition to the application, fees, and Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4164a), the following items 
must be on file before the Board will consider an application for certification by endorsement: 

1. EXAMINATION RESULTS
A copy of examination results as proof of successful completion of the Uniform State Residential Certification Examination
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation.

2. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE
A completed Verification of Licensure form (#08-4164b) sent from applicant or state agency from at least one jurisdiction in which
the applicant holds or has held a real estate appraiser certificate or license.

a. The state from which the applicant is endorsing must have certification requirements substantially equivalent to Alaska’s
requirements (i.e., 200 creditable hours of classroom instruction, 1,500 hours of work experience and successful
completion of an approved examination).

b. The verification must confirm that the applicant is not the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before
an authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers’ association.

CERTIFICATION BY RECIPROCITY 

In addition to the application, fees, and Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4164a), the following items 
must be on file before the Board will consider an application for certification by reciprocity:  

1. CERTIFICATION/LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser by reciprocity must hold a valid certificate or license from a
state whose requirements for real estate appraiser certification meet or exceed those required in AS 08.87.110(c) and 12 AAC
70.106.

2. VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE
A completed Verification of Licensure form (#08-4164b) sent from applicant or state agency from at least one jurisdiction in which
the applicant holds or has held a real estate appraiser certificate or license.

a. The state from which the applicant is basing their reciprocal license must have certification requirements substantially
equivalent to Alaska's requirements (i.e., 200 creditable hours of classroom instruction, 1,500 hours of work experience
and successful completion of an approved examination).

b. The verification must confirm that the applicant is not the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before
an authority regulating real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers' association.

CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION 

In addition to the application, fees, and Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4164a), the following items 
must be on file before the Board will consider an application for certification by examination:  

1. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS
Notarized copies of certificates of completion, or other evidence of course completion acceptable to the board, that verify
classroom hours of education required in 12 AAC 70.115 (see below).

2. CORE CURRICULUM
An applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser shall document satisfactory completion of 200 creditable
classroom hours of instruction that meet the requirements in 12 AAC 70.140 with emphasis on appraisal of residential properties,
and specified in the following core curriculum:

a. basic appraisal principles, 30 hours;
b. basic appraisal procedures, 30 hours;
c. 15-hour National USPAP course taught by an Appraiser Qualifications Board Certified Instructor;
d. residential market analysis and highest and best use, 15 hours;
e. residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach, 15 hours;
f. residential appraiser sales comparison and income approaches, 30 hours;
g. residential appraiser report writing and case studies, 15 hours;
h. statistics, modeling and finance, 15 hours;
i. advanced residential applications and case studies, 15 hours;
j. appraisal subject matter electives, 20 hours, and may include hours over the minimum of the course topics required.
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3. EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser must meet one of the following education requirements:

a. a bachelor’s degree or higher in any field from an accredited college or university,
OR

b. an associate degree in a field of study related to business administration, accounting, finance, economics, or real estate,
OR

c. successful completion of 30 semester hours of college level courses that cover each of the following specific topic areas
& hours:

i. English composition, 3 hours;
ii. microeconomics, 3 hours;

iii. macroeconomics, 3 hours;
iv. finance, 3 hours;
v. algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics, 3 hours;

vi. statistics, 3 hours;
vii. computer science, 3 hours;

viii. business or real estate law, 3 hours; AND
ix. two (2) elective courses in any of the topics listed above or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics,

business management, or real estate, 3 hours each.
OR 

d. successful completion of at least 30 semester hours of the College Level Examination Program (CLEP) examination in the
following specific topic areas and hours:

i. college algebra, 3 hours;
ii. college composition, 6 hours;
iii. college composition, modular, 3 hours;
iv. college mathematics, 6 hours;
v. principles of macroeconomics, 3 hours;
vi. principles of microeconomics, 3 hours;
vii. introductory business law, 3 hours; AND
viii. information systems, 3 hours.

4. WORK EXPERIENCE
One or more Verification of Work Experience forms (#08-4164c) completed by a combination of one or more different individuals
referenced in 12 AAC 70.110 verifying 1,500 hours of experience obtained continuously over a period of not less than 12 months.

5. WORK VERIFICATION LOG
A completed Appraisal Experience Log (#08-4164e) documenting appraisal work.  Please do not submit work products (appraisal
report) at time of application. The Board or Board Designee will select products for review.

6. EXAMINATION RESULTS
A copy of examination results as proof of successful completion of the Uniform State Residential Certification Examination
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraiser Foundation. The Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
currently utilizes as its testing agent Pearson Education, Inc., which administers both the Certified Residential Appraiser test and
the Certified General Appraiser test. For specific information regarding the examination, contact: Pearson Vue, 800-274-7488.

CERTIFICATION BY TRAINEE TRANSITION 

In addition to the application, fees, and Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4164a), the following items 
must be on file before the Board will consider an application for certification by trainee transition:  

1. CORE CURRICULUM
125 additional hours of education per 12 AAC 70.115(a); d-j under “2” of exam directions above.

2. EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser must meet one of the following education requirements:

a. a bachelor’s degree or higher in any field from an accredited college or university,
OR

b. an associate degree in a field of study related to business administration, accounting, finance, economics, or real estate,
OR

c. successful completion of 30 semester hours of college level courses that cover each of the following specific topic areas
& hours:
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i. English composition, 3 hours;
ii. microeconomics, 3 hours;

iii. macroeconomics, 3 hours;
iv. finance, 3 hours;
v. algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics, 3 hours;

vi. statistics, 3 hours;
vii. computer science, 3 hours;

viii. business or real estate law, 3 hours; AND
ix. two (2) elective courses in any of the topics listed above or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics,

business management, or real estate, 3 hours each.
 OR 

d. successful completion of at least 30 semester hours of the College Level Examination Program (CLEP) examination in the
following specific topic areas and hours:

i. college algebra, 3 hours;
ii. college composition, 6 hours;

iii. college composition, modular, 3 hours;
iv. college mathematics, 6 hours;
v. principles of macroeconomics, 3 hours;

vi. principles of microeconomics, 3 hours;
vii. introductory business law, 3 hours; AND

viii. information systems, 3 hours.

3. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS
Notarized copies of certificates of completion, or other evidence of course completion acceptable to the board, that verify
classroom hours of education required in 12 AAC 70.115.

4. DETERMINATION OF COMPETENCY
A completed Determination of Competency form (#08-4164d).

5. WORK EXPERIENCE
One or more Verification of Work Experience forms (#08-4164c) completed by a combination of one or more different individuals
referenced in 12 AAC 70.110 verifying 1,500 hours of experience obtained continuously over a period of not less than 12 months.

6. WORK VERIFICATION LOG
A completed Appraisal Experience Log (#08-4164e) documenting appraisal work.  Please do not submit work products (appraisal
report) at time of application. The Board or Board Designee will select products for review.

7. EXAMINATION RESULTS
A copy of examination results as proof of successful completion of the Uniform State Residential Certification Examination
endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraiser Foundation. The Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
currently utilizes as its testing agent Pearson Education, Inc., which administers both the Certified Residential Appraiser test and
the Certified General Appraiser test. For specific information regarding the examination, contact: Pearson Vue, 800-274-7488.
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General Information 

APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office 
complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and 
all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued and sent to you. Start the process 
far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers 
should not expect immediate review.  

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS: 
A “yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “yes” to any professional 
fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, 
state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly 
selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency 
requirements as stated on this renewal form.  Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often 
as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE: 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address 
or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the division 
will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your 
current legal name. 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES: 
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or 
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must 
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original 
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: 
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is 
issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption 
from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division for a 
copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number. 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by 
state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov under License Search. 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS: 
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division 
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial 
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no 
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business 
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov 

STALE DOCUMENTS: 
Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division 
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division 
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing 
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915
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PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your 
name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below. 

Regulations Specialist 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 
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Residential Real Estate Appraiser Certification Application 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 

Nonrefundable Application Fee $150.00 

Initial Certification Fee  $350.00 

Federal Registry Fee ($40 per Year) $  80.00 

PART II Application Type 

Applying By: 
Endorsement, State of: _______________ Reciprocity, State of: _______________ 

Examination Trainee Transition 

PART III Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 

 Other Names Used: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street    City    State    Zip 

Contact Phone: Date of Birth: 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address: Select One: Send my Correspondence Electronically 

Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 
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Real Estate Appraisers Program  
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofRealEstateAppraisers 

APR THE STATE

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


PART V National Uniform Licensing and Certification Exam    (Endorsement Applicants Only) 

You must provide a copy of the following certificate: 

AQB-Approved Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser Examination (AS 08.87.110(h)) 

Exam Passed Location Date 
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PART IV License and Certification History  (Endorsement and Reciprocity Applicants Only) 

Are you currently licensed or certified in another state? Yes No 

Please list all states or jurisdictions in which you are currently or have ever been licensed or certified. 
If necessary, continue to list on a separate sheet of paper labeled with your name and signed by you. 

License or Certificate Number State or Jurisdiction Expiration Date 



PART VI Education  (Exam Applicants Only)

DEGREE REQUIREMENT 12 AAC 70.115(c) 
Applicants applying BY EXAMINATION must satisfy one of the following.  Please send official transcripts to the Division.

1. A bachelor’s degree or higher in any field from an accredited college or university.

School Degree Date Degree Awarded 

2. An associate degree in a field of study related to business administration, accounting, finance, economics, or real
estate.

School Degree Date Degree Awarded 

3. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college level courses that cover each of specific topic areas and hours
as listed in the Instructions section of this application, under CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION, section 3.c.

4. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of College Level Examination Program (CLEP) examination in the specific
topic areas and hours as listed in the Instructions section of this application, under CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION,
section 3.d.

AND 

Per 12 AAC 70.115(c) an applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser BY EXAMINATION shall document 
satisfactory completion of 200 creditable classroom hours of instruction that meet the requirements in 12 AAC 70.140 with 
emphasis of residential properties, and specified in the following core curriculum (items 1-10). 

Required Courses Course Sponsor Course Number Date Completed 
Hours 

Completed 

1. Basic Appraisal Principles
(30 Hours Required)

2. Basic Appraisal Procedures
(30 Hours Required)

3. 15-Hour National USPAP Course or
Equivalent (15 Hours Required)

4. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and
Best Use of Property (15 Hours Required)

5. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and
Cost Approach (15 Hours Required)

6. Residential Sales Comparison and Income
Approaches (30 Hours Required)

7. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies
(15 Hours Required)

8. Statistics, Modeling and Finance
(15 Hours Required)

9. Advanced Residential Applications and Case
Studies (15 Hours Required)

10. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives
(20 Hours Required)

Total Hours: 

Are the required course completion certificates attached? Yes No 
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PART VII Education  (Trainee Transition Applicants Only) 

DEGREE REQUIREMENT 12 AAC 70.115(c) 
Applicants applying BY TRAINEE TRANSITION must satisfy one of the following.  Please send official transcripts to the Division.

1. A bachelor’s degree or higher in any field from an accredited college or university.

School Degree Date Degree Awarded 

2. An associate degree in a field of study related to business administration, accounting, finance, economics, or real
estate.

School Degree Date Degree Awarded 

3. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college level courses that cover each of specific topic areas and hours
as listed in the Instructions section of this application, under CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION, section 3.c.

4. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of College Level Examination Program (CLEP) examination in the specific
topic areas and hours as listed in the Instructions section of this application, under CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION,
section 3.d.

AND 

Per 12 AAC 70.115(c) an applicant for certification as a residential real estate appraiser BY TRAINEE TRANSITION shall document 
satisfactory completion of 125 creditable classroom hours of instruction that meet the requirements in 12 AAC 70.140 with 
emphasis of residential properties, and specified in the following core curriculum (items 1-7). 

Required Courses Course Sponsor Course Number Date Completed 
Hours 

Completed 

1. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and
Best Use of Property (15 Hours Required)

2. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and
Cost Approach (15 Hours Required)

3. Residential Sales Comparison and Income
Approaches (30 Hours Required)

4. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies
(15 Hours Required)

5. Statistics, Modeling and Finance
(15 Hours Required)

6. Advanced Residential Applications and Case
Studies (15 Hours Required)

7. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives
(20 Hours Required)

Total Hours: 

Are the required course completion certificates attached? Yes No 
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PART VIII Professional Fitness Questions 
The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial. 

For each “yes” response to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of explanation form 
(#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and 
specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each “yes” answer documented below. 
Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.  

When in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the required explanation and documents.  Applications submitted without 
the required attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 
CONFIDENTIALITY

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records. If you believe that the additional information you are 
attaching to explain a “yes” answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality 
may or may not be granted. 

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude? Yes No 

2. Have you ever had a real estate appraiser license/certification revoked, suspended, denied,
surrendered, or otherwise acted upon in any state or jurisdiction?

Yes No 

3. Are you the subject of an unresolved complaint or disciplinary action before an authority regulating
real estate appraisers or a professional real estate appraisers’ association?

Yes No 

4. Have you committed, or had a lawsuit filed against you, while acting as a real estate appraiser, an
act or omission involving dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation?

Yes No 

5. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For
purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or military offense, including
but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI), or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving
without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted”
includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo
contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or
a fine.

Yes No 

6. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and
including that of any military authorities or is an such action pending?

Yes No 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, you must submit signed and dated 
documentation explaining the specific circumstance(s) of the incident(s). 
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"Yes" Answers 



Signature Page 

Applicant Name: 

PART IX Agreement 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, 
and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents 
submitted herewith are true and correct. 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or 
falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise 
disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime 
of unsworn falsification. 

Applicant Signature: Date Signed: 
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Real Estate Appraisers Program  
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 
Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofRealEstateAppraisers 

APR THE STATE

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


Authorization for Release of Records 

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine 
my appraisal employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and 
any law enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. I also expressly 
permit and authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, 
and Professional Licensing and its investigators.  

I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in 
connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations deemed 
appropriate by the division. 

I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to 
the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 

This authorization is given expressly in connection with the application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for issuance of a 
certification as a residential real estate appraiser. 

I hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators, and all others directly and/or indirectly 
involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested. 

This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below. 

Name: 
First    Middle    Last  

Full Address: 
P.O. Box or Street    City    State    Zip 

Phone: Date of Birth: 

Email: 

Signature: Date: 
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Real Estate Appraisers Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 

Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


Verification of Licensure 

Applicant: 
Please complete the identifying information below and forward a copy of this form to all states, 
territories, or jurisdictions where you currently are or have ever held a license or certificate.  Make 
additional copies of this form, as needed. 

Applicant Name: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street    City    State    Zip 

Applicant Signature: Date Signed: 

Licensing Agency 
or State Board:  

Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form 
directly to the Alaska Real Estate Appraisers Program at the letterhead address.   

Name of License or 
Certificate Holder: Date of Birth: 

License or Certificate 
Number: 

State or 
Jurisdiction: 

Original Issue Date: Expiration Date: 

License or Certificate 
Type: 

Is the License or 
Certificate Current? 

Yes No 

Exam Source: 
(If Applicable) Exam Date: 

1. Is the applicant the subject of an unresolved complaint or ongoing disciplinary action? Yes No 

2. Has the applicant's license/certificate ever been suspended, revoked, voluntarily surrendered,
placed on probation, or restricted in any other way?

Yes No 

If you answered “yes” to either question above, please provide a copy of the disciplinary 
action document. 

Board Seal Signature: Date Signed: 

Printed Name: Title: 

Email: Phone: 

08-4164b (Rev. 08/17/2022)  Verification of Licensure  Page 1 of 1 

               

Real Estate Appraisers Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 

Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

"Yes" Answers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


Verification of Work Experience 
(For Examination Applicants Only)

Verification of 1,500 hours of appraisal work obtained continuously over a period of not less than 12 months and must be certified by 
a combination of one or more different individuals referenced below.  If an applicant cannot, for good cause, provide work experience 
forms from one or more different individuals, the Board may consider and approve other kinds of work experience verification. 

Applicant Name: 

Reference:   Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to
the Alaska Real Estate Appraisers Program at the letterhead address.   

1. I was professionally associated with the above-named applicant during the following dates:

Start Date: 
(mm/yyyy) 

End Date: 
(mm/yyyy) 

2. My professional relationship to the applicant is:

Licensed Construction 
Contractor  

Federal of State 
Regulated Lender  

An Officer of a State 
or Federal Agency 

Present or Former Employer 
of the Applicant 

An officer of a company that customarily uses the services of a real estate appraiser who has recent knowledge of the 
applicant’s experience on that company’s behalf. 

I hereby certify that I was professionally associated with the applicant and the applicant has at least 1,500 hours of experience 
obtained in not less than a 12-month period. 

Notary Stamp Reference 
Printed Name: 

Title: 

Reference 
Signature: 

Date: 

Notary Public 
for State of: 

Subscribed and Sworn to 
Before me on this Day:  

Notary 
Signature: 

My Commission 
Expires:  
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Real Estate Appraisers Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 

Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


Verification of Work Experience/Determination of Competency 
(For Transition Applicants Only)

Trainee Appraiser 
Name:  

Certificate Number: 

Supervisor Name: Certificate Number: 

Supervision Start 
Date:  

Determination 
Date: 

Supervisor:   Please complete this bottom part for the applicant identified above and return the form directly to
the Alaska Real Estate Appraisers Program at the letterhead address.   

1. I was professionally associated with the above-named applicant during the following dates:

Start Date: 
(mm/yyyy) 

End Date: 
(mm/yyyy) 

2. My professional relationship to the applicant is:

Licensed Construction 
Contractor  

Federal of State 
Regulated Lender  

An Officer of a State 
or Federal Agency 

Present or Former Employer 
of the Applicant 

An officer of a company that customarily uses the services of a real estate appraiser who has recent knowledge of the 
applicant’s experience on that company’s behalf. 

During the above-stated period I have determined that the above real estate appraiser trainee has demonstrated his/her ability 
under the Competency Rule which states in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice that an appraiser must: 

1. Be competent to perform the assignment.
2. Acquire necessary competency to perform the assignment, or

3. Decline or withdraw from the assignment.

I observed that this trainee real estate appraiser has demonstrated: 

The ability to properly identify the problem to be addressed, and 

The knowledge and experience to complete the assignment competently, and 

Recognition of, and compliance with, laws and regulations that apply to the appraiser or to the assignment. 

Supervisor Signature: Date Signed: 
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Real Estate Appraisers Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501 

Phone: (907) 269-8160 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers


Work Log Verification Guidelines
Please use the following guide when completing the work verification log. The purpose of this log is for the board to determine the diversity 
and complexity of work experience and to verify the appropriate number of work hours.  Please note that for EXAMINATION applications, 
the Board will randomly select work products to determine USPAP compliance, which must be submitted to the Board before a certificate 
is issued. The work products will be selected based on these forms. 
Part One Guidelines:  

(A) Report Date: The month and year the appraisal report was completed.
(B) Subject Property Address: This is the common name/location of the property, i.e., George's Office Tower, Anchorage, Alaska. Please

be very clear so the board can understand the property being appraised.
(C) Report Type: Please check appropriate format for report (i.e., narrative, letter, form appraisal, or other). If the other column is

checked, please attach an explanation as to the format used.
(D) Property Classification: Below are 13 general property classifications; indicate the one which most closely approximates the

appraisal assignment. 
CB Commercial Building 
CL  Commercial & Office Land 
FL  Farm/Forest land 
FR  Farm/Forest Land with Residential and/or Farm-Use Equipment 
IB  Industrial Warehouse & Manufacturing Building 
IL  Industrial and "Business Campus" Land 
MFS Multi-Family Small 2-4 Units 
MFL  Multi-Family Large 5 or More Units 
ML  Multi-Family Land 
OB  Office Buildings and Plazas, Including Medical 
RL  Residential (Single-Family) Land, Including Any Subdivision Potential and Multiple Lot Sales 
SFR  Single Family Residential (1Family Unit) 
OT  Other (Please Specify): _______________________________________________________ 

(E) Client Named in Report
(F) Work Hours: Indicate total number of hours spent on research, analysis, and preparation of report. Do not include hours which

someone else spent.
Part Two Guidelines: 

Trainee Appraiser: For each criterion (I – X), the trainee appraiser shall indicate whether they contributed to the 
specific appraisal criteria by writing, “T” in the appropriate line for each property documented. 
Supervisory Appraiser: For each criterion (I – X), the supervisory appraiser shall indicate on the appropriate line for 
each property documented whether they had the following responsibilities: 

-Primary Responsibility - Write “P”
-Co-Appraiser - Write “C”
-Reviewed and Approved - Write “R”

For criterion XI indicate the approximate number as described below under experience category.  Criterion Includes: 
I. Inspected property
II. Developed Building Description and Analysis
III. Neighborhood Description and Market Analysis
IV. Developed the Highest and Best Use
V. Collected, Verified and Analyzed Data
VI. Developed Income Approach 
VII. Developed Cost Approach
VIII. Developed Sales Comparison
IX. Developed Final Reconciliation
X. Other (attach an explanation on a separate piece of paper)
XI. Experience Category: Indicate on the line the numeric value associated with each experience type (described below): 

1.)   Fee and Staff Appraisal  
2.)   Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal  
3.)   Review Appraisal  
4.)   Appraisal Analysis  
5.)   Real Estate Counseling  
6.)   Highest and Best Use Analysis  
7.)   Feasibility Analysis  
8.)   Setting forth opinions of value of real property for tax purposes as an employee of a county assessor or Board of Equalization  
9.)   Assistance in preparation of appraisals 
10.) Real estate valuation experience as a real estate lending officer or real estate broker, but only to the extent that the experience is 

 directly related to the actual performance or professional review of real estate appraisals. 
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Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing  
Real Estate Appraisers Section 
550 W 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 
Phone: (907) 269-7140 
Email: RealEstateAppraisers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfRealEstateAppraisers 

Name: ________________________________________________________________ 

Trainee Certificate Number: _______________________________________________ 

Signature: ___________________________________  Date Signed: ______________ 

Hours Requested:        This Page: ____________             Total: ____________________  

Applicants must enter actual hours, subject to approval by the Board. 
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 Appraisal Report = AR*Report Type: Restricted Report = RR 
Trainees only must:
1. Indicate to which portions of the assignment they contributed by putting an “x” in columns I thru X.

2. Prepare a separate log for each month and have their supervisors follow instructions 3 & 4 below.

3. For each portion of each assignment, Supervisors must indicate whether they: P – Had Primary Responsibility, C – Co-appraised, R – Reviewed and Approved

4. Supervisor Printed Name: __________________________________________  Supervisor License/Certificate Number: __________________________ 

Supervisor Signature: ______________________________________________        Date Signed: ________________________________________________ 
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Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness “Yes” Answer 
Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness “Yes” answers. A "Yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but 
concealing one may be. 

Each “Yes” answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, 
even if you have previously provided it.  

 Explanations include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances.
If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.

 Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check “Yes” to any of the
questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).

 Disciplinary actions may include but not be limited to: suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation,
reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning,
caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple “Yes” answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this 
form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident. 

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a “Yes” 
answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted 
according to state law. 

You must submit one form for each “Yes” answer.  Make copies of this form as necessary.  
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Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: License@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering “Yes” to in the box.  

Location of Incident: Date of Incident: 

Explanation of Incident: 

When in doubt, disclose 
and explain. 

Make copies as necessary. 

Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident? 

Court orders  Consent agreements Disciplinary actions Charging documents 

Court records  Fitness to practice All other documentation related to this incident 

I have additional incidents for this “Yes” answer, or “Yes” answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached 
a separate copy of this form for each incident. 

Full Name: PL Code: 

Signature: Date: 

THE STATE

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov


All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All four fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Account Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Billing ZIP Code:

4. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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