

THE STATE

ALASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Online Instructions

Initial Application for Pharmacist License by Exam

PLEASE READ the application instructions, statutes, and regulations before completing your application. Retain this information for future reference. YOU MUST HOLD A PERMANENT LICENSE TO PRACTICE IN ALASKA.

A COMPLETED ONLINE APPLICATION, INCLUDING PAYMENT OF FEES

Fees: \$200.00 total (nonrefundable application fee and license fee)

Note: You may only pay with a credit card when submitting an online application. The online application is not complete until you have completed the credit card payment online.

FOREIGN GRADUATES ONLY:

At the time of application, you must ensure your Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) certificate is on file with the NABP. Board of Pharmacy staff will validate your FPGEC upon screening your application.

ELIGIBILITY TO TAKE EXAMINATIONS:

- Applicants who have already taken the NAPLEX and are applying by score transfer: you must arrange for your score transfer report to be submitted to the NABP.
- Applicants taking the NAPLEX for the first time or for re-takes: eligibility will be granted through the NABP.

Note: The Alaska Board of Pharmacy does not receive automatic notifications when an applicant has taken an examination. Please contact the board when you have taken an exam so a score transfer report can be retrieved and placed into your file.

Contact Information for the NABP: National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

> 1600 Feehanville Dr. Mount Prospect, IL 60056 Phone: 1-847-375-1114

DISCIPLINARY DECISION OR CONVICTION REPORTING REQUIREMENT (12 AAC 52.991):

A licensee shall report in writing to the board any disciplinary decision, felony charges or criminal conviction issued against the licensee not later than 30 days after the date of the disciplinary decision, felony charges, or criminal conviction.

A licensed facility shall report in writing to the board any disciplinary decision, including a voluntary suspension or revocation issued by federal, state, or local government of a license currently or previously held, or any felony charges or criminal conviction under federal, state, or local law of an owner, designated representative, pharmacist-in-charge, or officer of the licensed facility not later than 30 days after the date of the disciplinary decision, felony charge, or criminal conviction.

ALASKA PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP):

Mandatory reporting began on August 1, 2011. All the necessary information regarding the Alaska PDMP can be found at pdmp.alaska.gov. Effective July 17, 2017, reporting is required daily.

LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation showing final disposition of the charge(s) (e.g. court records, fitness letters, etc.).

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*.

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: *RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov*.

(Rev. 01/02/2025) Online Application Instructions Page 2 of 2