1	STATE OF ALASKA
2	DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
3	DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS, AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
4	
5	STATE MEDICAL BOARD
6	
7	MINUTES OF MEETING
8	Friday, January 29, 2021
9	
10	By authority of AS 08.01.070(2) and in compliance with the provisions of AS 44.62, a video-conference
11	meeting of the Alaska State Medical Board was held on Friday, January 29, 2021.
12	
13	Friday, January 29, 2021
14	
15	1. Call to Order/ Roll Call
16	The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:26 p.m.
17	
18	Roll Call
19	Board members present, constituting a quorum:
20	Sarah Bigelow-Hood, PA
21	David Boswell, Public Member (Secretary)
22	Larry Daugherty, MD
23	Lydia Mielke, Public Member
24	Steve Parker, MD
25	Richard Wein, MD (Chair)
26	
27	Dr. Freeman and Dr. Gay were absent.
28	
29	Board staff:
30	Sher Zinn, Acting Executive Administrator
31	
32	Visitors present for portions of the meeting:
33	Laura Carrillo, Richard Holt, Lisa Sherrell
34	
35	2. Review Agenda
36	
37	The board reviewed the agenda.
38	
39	On a motion duly made by Dr. Daugherty, and seconded by Sarah Bigelow-Hood,
40	the agenda was approved by affirmation.
41	
42	2. Davieus Farence de Deculations fou Adoution
43	3. Review Emergency Regulations for Adoption
44 45	The heard reviewed the emergency regulation for 12 AAC 40 010 062. No public comment was received
45 46	The board reviewed the emergency regulation for 12 AAC 40.010-963. No public comment was received for the regulation project. The board voted to adopt the emergency regulations as permanent.
46 47	for the regulation project. The board voted to adopt the emergency regulations as permanent.
T /	

MED-1.29.2021 Minutes Page **1** of **3**

On a motion duly made by David Boswell and seconded by Sarah Bigelow-Hood, in considering costs to private persons and that no public comment was received, the board adopts the emergency regulations as permanent for changes to 12 AAC 40.010 through 40.963, as public noticed.

Roll call- Yeas: Sarah Bigelow-Hood, David Boswell, Dr. Daugherty, Lydia Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Wein. No nays.

4. Review Emergency Regulations for Adoption

 The board reviewed the emergency regulation for 12 AAC 40.430, and the public comment that was received for the regulation project. The board discussed the regulation and preferred to remove the wording "or other electronic" because it is too vague. The board voted to adopt the emergency regulations as permanent with the amendment. It was noted the board could define "audio and video" at a future meeting, as other boards have done.

On a motion duly made by Lydia Mielke, seconded by David Boswell, and approved by roll call vote, the board voted to amend the regulation project by removing the wording "or other electronic" in 12 AAC 40.430.

Roll call- Yeas: Sarah Bigelow-Hood, David Boswell, Dr. Daugherty, Lydia Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Wein. No nays.

On a motion duly made by Dr. Daugherty, seconded by Lydia Mielke, in considering costs to private persons and public comment received, the board adopts the emergency regulations as permanent for changes to 12 AAC 40.430, with amendments.

Roll call- Yeas: Sarah Bigelow-Hood, David Boswell, Dr. Daugherty, Lydia Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Wein. No nays.

5. Review and Discussion of Board of Pharmacy Proposed Regulations

Laura Carrillo, pharmacy board executive administrator, Richard Holt, pharmacy board chair, and Lisa Sherrell, PDMP program coordinator, joined the meeting to answer any questions the board had regarding the PDMP.

The board reviewed and discussed the public noticed pharmacy regulations for changes to 12 AAC 52.855. Several questions regarding how the licensees were notified of the requirement to register with the PDMP were posed by the board. It was noted that licensees with prescriptive authority were notified by mail and email when the new requirements took effect in 2017.

Dr. Daugherty and Sarah Bigelow-Hood left the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

6. Adjourn

There being no further business, the board adjourned the meeting at 5:27 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Approved:

MED-1.29.2021 Minutes

1	
2	Sher Zinn
3	
4	Sher Zinn, Acting Executive Administrator
5	Alaska State Medical Board
6	
7	March 9, 2021
8	Date

Richard Wein, MD, President
Alaska State Medical Board

March 3, 2021

Date

MED-1.29.2021 Minutes Page **3** of **3**