STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS, AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

STATE MEDICAL BOARD

MINUTES OF MEETING January 5, 2023

By authority of AS 08.01.070(2) and in compliance with the provisions of AS 44.62, a special meeting of the Alaska State Medical Board was held on Thursday, January 5, 2023.

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Chair Wein at 4:03 p.m.

Roll Call

Board members present:

Sarah Bigelow Hood, PA-C
Matt Heilala, DPM
Lydia Mielke, Public Member (Secretary)
Maria Freeman, MD
David Paulson, MD
Richard Wein, MD (Chair)
David Wilson, Public Member

Absent: Steve Parker, MD

Dr. Parker joined the meet at 4:05 PM

Division staff present: Director Sylvan Robb; Investigative Staff, Greg Francois, Sonia Lipker, Billy Homestead, Angel Romero and Marilyn Zimmerman; Board staff, Natalie Norberg and Jason Kaeser **Other staff present**: CBPL, Special Assist to Commissioner, Sara Chambers, Dept. of Law, AAG, Megyn Weigand

Invited guests from Alaska's Physician Health Committee: Pam Ventgen, Maryann Foland, MD, Paula Colescott, MD, Alexander von Hafften, MD

Other invited guests: Linda Bresnahan, Federation of State Physician Health Programs, Chris Bundy MD, Washington State Physician Health Program

New CBPL Director, Sylvan Robb was introduced. Director Robb started with the Division of Corporations, Boards and Professional Licensing on January 3rd, 2023. She most recently held the position of Deputy Commissioner for the Dept. of Heath and has held multiple leadership roles in State Government over the last seven years.

2. Review / Approval of Agenda

On a motion duly made by Lydia Mielke and seconded by Ms. Bigelow-Hood, the Board approved by roll call vote to accept the draft agenda as presented.

Roll Call: Yeas, Ms. Bigelow Hood, Dr. Freeman, Dr. Heilala, Ms. Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Paulson, Dr. Wein and Mr. Wilson

3. Introduction of special topic: Medical Board Investigative Process for DUIs

On a motion duly made by Lydia Mielke, and seconded by Ms. Bigelow-Hood the board entered into executive session in accordance with AS 44.62.310(c), and Alaska Constitutional Right to Privacy Provisions, for the purpose of discussing protocols for disciplinary sanctions and rehabilitation for licensees with drug related criminal offenses. With state staff and invited guests remaining in the session.

Roll Call: Yeas, Ms. Bigelow Hood, Dr. Freeman, Dr. Heilala, Ms. Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Paulson, Dr. Wein and Mr. Wilson

The Board went off the record at 4:15 PM. The Board returned on the record at 5:46 PM.

On a motion duly made by Lydia Mielke and seconded by Dr. Heilala, the board approved the establishment of a work group to 1) develop guidance for investigators for making referrals to the Physician Health Committee by, and to 2) examine and make recommendations for possible changes needed to the disciplinary matrix. The work group shall present recommendations at the quarterly board meeting in May 2023.

Roll Call: Yeas, Ms. Bigelow Hood, Dr. Freeman, Dr. Heilala, Ms. Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Paulson, Dr. Wein and Mr. Wilson

4. Applicant Review / License Approvals

On a motion duly made by Lydia Mielke, and seconded by Ms. Bigelow-Hood the board entered into executive session in accordance with AS 44.62.310(c), and Alaska Constitutional Right to Privacy Provisions, for the purpose of discussing applications for full licensure and with board staff remaining.

Roll Call: Yeas, Ms. Bigelow Hood, Dr. Freeman, Dr. Heilala, Ms. Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Paulson, Dr. Wein and Mr. Wilson

The Board went off the record at 5:55 PM. The Board returned on the record at 6:00 PM.

On a motion duly made by Ms. Mielke and seconded by Dr. Freeman the Board approved by roll call vote to grant the following physicians, full licensure in Alaska.

Roll Call: Yeas, Ms. Bigelow Hood, Dr. Freeman, Dr. Heilala, Ms. Mielke, Dr. Parker, Dr. Paulson, Dr. Wein, and Mr. Wilson

	Lic Type	First Name	Last Name
1.	MD	Asef	Anwar
2.	MD	Usha	Aryal
3.	DO	Akash	Attreya
4.	MD	Melissa	Balbuena-Root
5.	MD	Troy	Belle
6.	MD	Michael	Berven
7.	DO	Carolyn	Chudy
8.	MD	Alexander	Dabrowiecki
9.	MD	Kira	Dillard
10.	MD	Rashmi	Hande
11.	MD	Marc	Kahn
12.	MD	Brian	Keefe
13.	MD	Russell	Kosik
14.	MD	Emily	Lampe
15.	DO	Mark	Merlin
16.	DO	Chirag	Panchal
17.	MD	Gowri	Ramachandran

5. Wrap up / Adjourn

The Meeting was adjourned by unanimous consent at 6:03 PM

Respectfully submitted:	Approved:
/s/ Natalie Norberg, Executive Administrator Alaska State Medical Board	/s/ Reclare Ween, M Richard Wein, MD, President Alaska State Medical Board
2/10/2023	2/10/2023
Date	Date