
Drug Room License Application Instructions

In accordance with AS 08.80.157, a facility where drugs or devices are dispensed shall be licensed by the board. An institutional facility 
that does not maintain a pharmacy but prepares and administers prescription drugs from bulk supplies for patients receiving treatment 
within the facility must be licensed by the board as a drug room. 

Note: Please read the application, statutes, regulations, and all instructions carefully. It is your responsibility to be aware of licensing 
requirements and provide all necessary documentation. The board will not issue a license until your application is complete. 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 

The following must be received by the division before your application for registration can be reviewed: 

1. APPLICATION
A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4185, pages 1-4).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska” in accordance with 12 AAC 02.310.
Nonrefundable Application Fee:     $100.00 
License Fee:   $150.00 

Total Fees Due:   $250.00 

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS
A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4185a).

4. NAMES OF ALL OWNERS
Names of all owners, partners, or principal corporate officers of the institutional facility.

5. FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
A valid Federal Employer Identification Number.

6. PHARMACIST-IN-CHARGE
Name of the pharmacist designated to be the pharmacist-in-charge. If the pharmacist-in-charge is employed on a consultant basis,
a copy of the written agreement with the consultant pharmacy must be on file.

7. LIST OF PHARMACISTS
A list of pharmacists working in the facility.

8. SELF INSPECTION REPORT
A completed self-inspection report.

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP 

In accordance with 12 AAC 52.040, when ownership of a facility changes, a new license is required. The existing license must be 
returned and a new application, along with the appropriate fees and supporting documentation, must be submitted. 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Change of Ownership can be reviewed: 

1. APPLICATION
A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4185 pages 1-4) and numbers 3-8 above.
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2. FEES 
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska” in accordance with 12 AAC 02.310. 
Nonrefundable Application Fee     $100.00 
License Fee:       $150.00 

 
 

Total Fees Due:      $250.00 
 

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF NAME OR LOCATION 
 

In accordance with 12 AAC 52.030, when ownership of a facility changes, a new license is required. A new application, along with the 
appropriate fees and supporting documentation, must be submitted. 
 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Change of Name or Location can be reviewed:  
 

1. APPLICATION 
A completed application, signed and notarized (#08-4185, pages 1-4). 

 

2. FEES 
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska” in accordance with 12 AAC 02.310. 
Nonrefundable Application Fee:     $100.00 
Duplicate License Fee:     $    5.00 

 
 

Total Fees Due:      $105.00 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION 
All information supplied with this application is available to the public unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about licensees, including mailing addresses, is available at http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/home.aspx under 
License Search. 
 
ALASKA PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP) 
Mandatory reporting began on August 1, 2011. All of the necessary information regarding the Alaska PDMP can be found on the 
Board of Pharmacy’s website at http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofPharmacy.aspx. 
 
12 AAC 52.991. DISCIPLINARY DECISION OR CONVICTION REPORTING REQUIREMENT 
A licensee shall report in writing to the board any disciplinary decision or conviction, including conviction of a felony or conviction of 
another crime that affects the applicant’s or licensee’s ability to practice competently and safely, issued against the licensee in another 
jurisdiction not later than 30 days of the date of the disciplinary decision or conviction. 
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Drug Room License Application 
 

 

PART II Institution Information 
Company/Owner 
Name:  

 

Institution Name:   

Institution 
Website:  

 
Federal Employer 
Identification Number:  

 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street                                                                    City                                                                State                                    Zip  

Physical Address:  
                     Street                                                                    City                                                                State                                    Zip  

Contact Phone:   
Emergency 
Contact Phone:  

 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Consultant 
Pharmacist Email:  

 Select One:   Send my Correspondence Electronically 
 

 Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 
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PHA 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees:  

NEW APPLICATION  

      Nonrefundable Application Fee   $100.00 

 License Fee  $150.00 

       CHANGES (CURRENT ALASKA LICENSE #) 
     

 Change of Ownership  ________________________ $250.00 

 Name Change   ________________________ $105.00 

 Location Change   ________________________ $105.00 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
  

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfPharmacy


PART III Ownership Information 
Check the applicable box and provide the complete name(s) of the owner(s) including all partners or principal corporate officers of 
the institutional facility. 
 

Note: Licenses are nontransferable and any change of name, location, ownership requires a new license. 

 Sole Proprietorship  Partnership  Corporation  LLC/LLP 

Full Name Title 

  

  

  

 
 

PART IV Personnel  
Name of Consultant 
Pharmacist or Pharmacy:  

 License Number:   

Physical Address:  
                     Street                                                                    City                                                                State                                    Zip  

Email Address:   Contact Phone:   

 
 

PART V Licensed Pharmacists  

List all licensed pharmacists employed. 

Full Name License Number 

  

  

  

 
 

PART VI Inspection Attestation                                            
A copy of the inspection report is no longer required to be submitted as part of this application. Simply complete this attestation. 

 

 
By checking this box and providing my signature, below, I acknowledge and attest that a self-inspection of the premises using 
the form provided by the department will be completed within fourteen (14) days after commencement of business. 

 I further understand and attest that the self-inspection must be retained, and available upon request, for the duration of the 
licensing period in which it was completed. 

Pharmacist-in-Charge 
Signature:  

 Date Signed:   
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PART VII Professional Fitness Questions   
 

The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial.  
 

For each “yes” response to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of explanation form 
(#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and 
specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each “yes” answer documented below. 
Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.  
 

All disciplinary decisions or convictions must be reported to the board within thirty days, in accordance with 12 AAC 52.991.  When 
in doubt about your response, disclose and provide the required explanation and documents.  Applications submitted without the 
required attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed. 
CONFIDENTIALITY  
The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records. If you believe that the additional information you are 
attaching to explain a “yes” answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality 
may or may not be granted. 

 

When in doubt, disclose and explain. 

1. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee ever had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, 
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on 
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in 
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and 
including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending? 

 Yes  No 

2. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee ever been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? 
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, 
including but not limited to, driving under the influence(DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), 
driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. 
“Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea 
of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition 
of sentence, or a fine. 

 Yes  No 

3. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee furnished false or fraudulent material in an application made in connection with drug or 
device manufacturing or distribution? 

 Yes  No 

4. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee had a suspension or revocation by federal, state, or local government of a license 
currently or previously held for the manufacture or distribution of drugs or devices, including 
controlled substances? 

 Yes  No 

5. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee obtained remuneration by fraud, misrepresentation, or deception?  Yes  No 

6. Have you as the owner, or any partner, corporate officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, or any 
employee had dealings with drugs or devices that are known or should have been known to be 
stolen drugs or devices? 

 Yes  No 

 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, you must submit signed and dated 
documentation explaining the specific circumstance(s) of the incident(s). 
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"Yes" Answers 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Notary Signature Page  
 
PART VIII Notarized Signature 

I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete 
application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or 
other documents submitted herewith are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment 
hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, 
revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license or permit to practice in the state of Alaska. 
 

I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit 
the crime of unsworn falsification. 
 

A person who makes a false statement on this application may be subject to civil and criminal penalties, including 
prosecution for perjury (AS 11.56.200 & AS 11.56.230). 

 Applicant Printed 
Name:  

Applicant 
Signature:  

Notary Public for 
State of:  Subscribed and Sworn to 

Before me on this Day:  

Notary Signature:  My Commission 
Expires: 
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Authorization for Release of Records 
 

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine 
my employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law 
enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. I also expressly permit and 
authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and 
Professional Licensing and its investigators.  
 
I authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in 
connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations deemed 
appropriate by the division. 

 
I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to 
the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 
 
This authorization is given expressly in connection with the application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for issuance of a Drug 
Room License. 
 
I hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators, and all others directly and/or indirectly 
involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested. 
 
This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below. 

Name:  
First                                                                                            Middle                                                                                                  Last  

Full Address: 
P.O. Box or Street                                                                    City                                                                State                                    Zip  

Phone:   Date of Birth:    

Email:   

Signature:   Date Signed:   
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ARTICLE 8. 
DRUG ROOMS AND FACILITIES WITHOUT A PHARMACY. 

 
Section 
800. Drug room license 
810. Pharmacist required 
820. Responsibilities of the consultant pharmacist 
830. Emergency drug kits 
840. First dose kits 
850. Emergency distribution 
 

 12 AAC 52.800. DRUG ROOM LICENSE. (a) An institutional facility that does not maintain a pharmacy but prepares and administers 
prescription drugs from bulk supplies for patients receiving treatment within the facility must be licensed by the board as a drug room 
under 12 AAC 52.010 and 12 AAC 52.020. 
 (b) An institutional facility that does not maintain a pharmacy but stores and administers prescription drugs that are labeled and 
dispensed for specific patients by a pharmacy does not require a drug room or pharmacy license. 
 

 12 AAC 52.810. PHARMACIST REQUIRED. An institutional facility described in 12 AAC 52.800(a) must continuously employ a 
pharmacist or have a written agreement with a pharmacy or pharmacist to provide consultant pharmacist services. 
 

 12 AAC 52.820. RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE CONSULTANT PHARMACIST. A pharmacist who, under 12 AAC 52.810, provides 
consultant pharmacy services shall 
 (1) provide evaluations and recommendations concerning drug distribution, control, and use; 
 (2) complete on-site reviews to ensure that drug handling and use procedures conform to AS 08.80, this chapter, and recognized 
standards of practice; 
 3) provide drug information to facility staff and physicians; 
 (4) plan and participate in the facility’s staff development program relating to drug distribution, control, and use; 
 (5) assist in establishing policies and procedures to control the distribution and administration of drugs; and 
 (6) document pharmacy services that are provided and maintain the documentation for a period of at least two years. 
 

 12 AAC 52.830. EMERGENCY DRUG KITS. (a) An institutional facility described in 12 AAC 52.800(b) may have a limited supply of 
drugs provided by a pharmacist licensed under this chapter and AS 08.80 in emergency drug kits on-site. An emergency drug kit is for 
use by personnel authorized to administer the drugs to patients receiving treatment within the institutional facility. 
 (b) The pharmacist who provides or supplies drugs in emergency drug kits shall cooperate with the prescribing practitioners on staff 
at the institutional facility to determine the identity and quantity of the drugs to be included in the emergency drug kits. 
 (c) An emergency drug kit must 
 (1) only contain drugs that are not available from any other source in sufficient time to prevent risk of harm to patients; 
 (2) only contain drugs that are provided and sealed by a pharmacist; 
 (3) be stored in a secured area to prevent unauthorized access; 
 (4) be labeled on the exterior to indicate it is for use only in emergencies as described in this section; and 
 (5) have a list of the kit’s contents posted on or near the kit. 
 (d) Drugs may be removed from an emergency drug kit only under a valid order from a prescribing practitioner. 
 (e) When the supplying pharmacist is notified that an emergency drug kit has been opened, the supplying pharmacist shall restock 
the kit within a reasonable time, not to exceed seven days. 
 (f) The supplying pharmacist shall label the exterior of an emergency drug kit to indicate the expiration date of the kit’s contents. 
The expiration date of an emergency drug kit is the earliest expiration date of any drug supplied in the kit. When an emergency drug 
kit expires, the supplying pharmacist shall replace any expired drugs in the kit. 
 

 12 AAC 52.840. FIRST DOSE KITS. (a) In addition to the emergency drug kit described in 12 AAC 52.830, an institutional facility 
described in 12 AAC 52.800 may maintain a first dose kit for the initiation of nonemergency drug therapy to a patient receiving 
treatment within the institutional facility if the necessary drug is not available from a pharmacy in time to prevent risk of harm to a 
patient. 
 (b) The dispensing or consultant pharmacy for the institutional facility and the medical staff of the institutional facility are 
responsible for the proper storage, security, and accountability of the first dose kit. 
 (c) The staff of the dispensing or consultant pharmacy for the institutional facility shall determine jointly with the medical staff of 
the institutional facility the content and quantity of drugs to be included in the first dose kit. 
 

 12 AAC 52.850. EMERGENCY DISTRIBUTION. In an emergency, if a drug is not otherwise available, a drug room may distribute the 
drug from bulk supplies to a practitioner or a pharmacist for use by a patient outside the facility, under a prescription, until the drug 
can be otherwise obtained. 
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Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness “Yes” Answer 
Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness “Yes” answers. A "Yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but 
concealing one may be. 
 

Each “Yes” answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, 
even if you have previously provided it.  
 

 Explanations include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. 
If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed. 

 

 Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your 
professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), 
and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check “Yes” to any of the 
questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction). 

 

 Disciplinary actions may include but not be limited to: suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, 
reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, 
caution, admonishment, or reprimand. 

 

If you have multiple “Yes” answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this 
form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident. 
 

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a “Yes” 
answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted 
according to state law. 
 

 

You must submit one form for each “Yes” answer.  Make copies of this form as necessary.  
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Professional Licensing 

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: License@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

 

 

 Write the professional fitness question number you are answering “Yes” to in the box.  

 
Location of Incident:  Date of Incident:  

Explanation of Incident:    

When in doubt, disclose 
and explain. 

 

Make copies as necessary. 

   

   

 
Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident? 

 Court orders  Consent agreements  Disciplinary actions  Charging documents 

 Court records  Fitness to practice  All other documentation related to this incident 

 
I have additional incidents for this “Yes” answer, or “Yes” answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached 
a separate copy of this form for each incident. 

 

Full Name:  PL Code:  

Signature:  Date:  

THE STATE 

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov


All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this 
credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee: _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):   __________________________________________________________________ 

License Number (if applicable):    ___________________________________________________________________________

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):         AMOUNT  

Application Fee:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

Other (fine, exam, etc.):  _________________________________________________________________________________   __________________________

1. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:                 ___________________________

Name (as shown on credit card):   _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address:            _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               ____________________________________________________________

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/06/2022                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST be 
completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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