

## COVID-19 Vaccination Cost Fact Sheet for Health Care Providers http://Covidvax.Alaska.gov

- All Alaskans have access to the COVID vaccine at no charge. Only insurance companies, health plans or the federal government can be billed for vaccine administration fees, not patients. Additional information can be found on the <u>US Health Resources & Services</u> Administration Fact Sheet.
- The federal government has purchased the vaccine and is allocating supply to the states for distribution. There is no cost to the state or the consumer for the vaccine.
- Medicare, Medicaid, Affordable Care Act (ACA) compliant health plans, and many other employer-based plans (i.e. AlaskaCare) will cover the administration costs charged by health care providers and facilities without cost sharing.
- Insurance claims for the COVID-19 vaccine should be submitted similarly to how claims are submitted for other vaccines. Health care providers should refer to billing guidance of the relevant payer to ensure correct billing. Claims may be submitted electronically or manually using paper.
- ACA-compliant plans and most other employer-based plans will reimburse network providers at the network contracted rate. Under ACA-compliant plans, providers are not permitted to balance bill consumers.
- During the national public health emergency, ACA-compliant plans are required to cover administration charges from out-of-network providers at a "reasonable" rate. The Division of Insurance is recommending that providers bill private payers at 150% of the Alaska Medicare rate.
- The Alaska Medicare Fee schedule is determined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
  - o Effective 3/15/2021 To be determined by CMS
    - \$49.84 for each vaccine dose
- The <u>Alaska Medicaid Fee Schedule</u> rate is based on Medicare non-facility individual relative value units (RVU).
  - Medical: Refer to the respective AK Medicaid Fee Schedules (Physician/PAC, APRN or Pharmacist)
  - o Pharmacy: Refer to AK Medicaid Pharmacist Renderer Fee Schedule
- Private payers subject to regulation by the Division of Insurance will reimburse at 150% of the Alaska Medicare Rate:
  - Effective 3/15/2021 To be determined
    - \$74.76 for each vaccine dose



http://Covidvax.Alaska.gov

CMS has released new codes specific for the vaccines. Please see the below chart for basic information. Additional information can be found through payers or CMS.

Vaccine code	Descriptor	Administration codes	Manufacturer	Name	NDC 10/NDC11 Labeler Product ID	Dosing interval
91300	SARS-COV-2 COVID-19 vaccine, mRNA- LNP, spike protein, preservative free, 30 mcg/0.3mL dosage, diluent reconstituted, for intramuscular use	0001A(1 <sup>st</sup> dose) 0002A(2 <sup>nd</sup> dose) 003A (3 <sup>rd</sup> dose) 004A (Booster)	Pfizer, Inc	Pfizer- BioNTech COVID- 19 Vaccine	59267-1000- 1 59267-1000- 01	21 days for second dose  28 days for 3rd dose for immunoc ompromi sed  5+ months for booster
91301	SARS-CoV-2 COVID-19 vaccine, mRNA- LNP, spike protein, preservative free, 100 mcg/0.5mL dosage, for intramuscular use	0011A (1 <sup>st</sup> dose) 0012A (2 <sup>nd</sup> dose) 0013A (3 <sup>rd</sup> dose)	Moderna, Inc	Moderna COVID- 19 Vaccine	80777-273- 10 80777-0273- 10	28 days



http://Covidvax.Alaska.gov

91306	SARSCOV2 Vaccine, mRNA- LNP, spike protein, preservative free, 50MCG/0.25ML IM	0064 A (Booster)	Moderna, Inc	Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine (Low Dose) Administrati on -Booster	80777-273-10 8077-0273-10	5+ months for booster
91303	SARS-CoV- 2 COVID-19 vaccine, DNA, spike protein, adenovirus type 26 (Ad26) vector, preservative free, 5x10 viral particles/0.5mL dosage, for intramuscular use	0031A (single dose)	Janssen	Janssen Covid-19 Vaccine	59676-580-05 59676-0580-05	8+ weeks for booster

This chart was up to date as of 1/26/2022. For updates providers should refer to CMS or AMA coding guidance.

- <a href="https://www.cms.gov/medicare/medicare-part-b-drug-average-sales-price/covid-19-vaccines-and-monoclonal-antibodies">https://www.cms.gov/medicare/medicare-part-b-drug-average-sales-price/covid-19-vaccines-and-monoclonal-antibodies</a>
- https://www.ama-assn.org/find-covid-19-vaccine-codes



http://Covidvax.Alaska.gov

Individuals without Medicaid, Medicare or another insurance plan should not be turned away from receiving the vaccine. Health care providers can submit claims for uninsured or underinsured to the Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA). For uninsured individuals more information can be found at <a href="https://www.hrsa.gov/coviduninsuredclaim">https://www.hrsa.gov/coviduninsuredclaim</a> for those that are underinsured more information can be found at <a href="https://www.hrsa.gov/covid19-coverage-assistance">https://www.hrsa.gov/covid19-coverage-assistance</a>. Providers may <a href="requeste">requeste</a> certain information from patients to make HRSA claims, but patients are not required to provide the information. Providers will still be reimbursed if they attest that they requested the information and it was not provided.

Under their agreement with the CDC for COVID-19 vaccine, healthcare providers must not seek payment or reimbursement from a consumer for the vaccine administration. Providers must not charge an office visit fee or other fee if COVID-19 vaccination is the sole medical service provided and providers must not require patients to seek additional medical services to receive COVID-19 vaccinations. Individuals aware of potential violations of these requirements are encouraged to report them to the office of the Inspector General, US Department of Health and Human Services, by calling 1-800-HHS-TIPS or by visiting the website: TIPS.HHS.GOV

If you have questions about how a COVID-19 Vaccine Insurance claim has been handled, please review the billing guidance of the insurer. Billing guidance can be found at:

Aetna	https://www.aetna.com/health-care-professionals/covid-faq.html
AlaskaCare	http://doa.alaska.gov/drb/headlines/2020/03/coronavirus/index.html#.X - VFNhKiUk
Alaska Medicaid	http://dhss.alaska.gov/dhcs/Pages/COVID19-News.aspx
Medicare	https://www.cms.gov/medicare/covid-19/medicare-covid-19-vaccine-shot-payment
	CMS has introduced a simplified provider enrollment process for those interested in administering COVID-19 shots. To enroll temporarily as a Medicare biller for the COVID-19 vaccine see this webpage:
	https://www.cms.gov/medicare/covid-19/enrollment-administering-covid-19-vaccine-shots



http://Covidvax.Alaska.gov

	A video overview of the enrollment process can be found here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVrMFXyni2o  -
Moda Health Plan & Moda Assurance Company	https://www.modahealth.com/community/covid-19/
Pacific Health Coalition	https://phcoalition.org/
Premera	https://www.premera.com/ak/provider/coronavirus-faq/?WT.z_redirect=www.premera.com/ak/provider/coronavirus-19-faq/
UnitedHealthcare	https://www.uhcprovider.com/en/resource-library/news/Novel- Coronavirus-COVID-19/covid19-testing/covid19-testing-claim-coding- submissions.htm

Other employer sponsored plans may have slightly different billing guidance and providers are encouraged to contact the third-party administrator.

Alaska's COVID-19 Vaccine Task Force, along with external stakeholders, have spent significant time to ensure that providers are promptly paid by the insurers and other private payers without a cost to the consumer. Most plans have agreed to cover the costs of administering the vaccine without a co-pay or other cost sharing. However, not all plans are regulated by the State of Alaska and there may be slight differences in the adjudication of claims.