
NOTICE TO LICENSED CONTRACTOR 

CHANGE IN PROFESSIONAL LICENSE EXPIRATION 

The Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing issued a notice on September 
21, 2023 (see attached) regarding updates to all General, Residential, Specialty, Mechanical, and 
Handyman Construction Contractors professional license expiration dates.  

The Division of Insurance is sharing this information because of the proof of bonding and 
insurance required for licensure.  The division recommends contractors make the needed changes 
in their insurance and bond coverage required by their contractor construction license as soon as 
practicable.  In addition, the division is alerting producers for a possible surge of amendments to 
coincide with the new license renewal dates. 

Dated October ____, 2023. 

________________________ 
Lori Wing-Heier 
Director of Insurance 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

DIVISION OF INSURANCE 
Anchorage Office 

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1560 
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3567 

Main: 907.269.7900 
Fax: 907.269.7910
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Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS 
AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

Juneau Office 

P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

Main: 907.465.2550 
Fax: 907.465.2974 

September 21, 2023 

Dear Licensed Contractor, 

Effective 10/1/2023, all General, Residential, Specialty, Mechanical & Handyman Construction 
Contractors professional license expiration dates will become 9/30 of even-numbered years, as 
will the expiration dates for residential contractor endorsement holders. 

Please note, the expiration date for electrical administrator, mechanical administrator, home 
inspector, and underground storage tank worker licenses will remain the same as they are now. It 
is only the expiration date for Construction Contractor professional licenses and residential 
endorsement holders that will change. Please see below for specifics on how this will work based 
on your license type(s). 

For Specialty and Mechanical Contractors: 
Your new or renewed license will be active until 9/30/2024 and you will need to renew it at that 
time.  

We anticipate posting renewal applications no later than 9/1/2024 and notices will be sent to 
your email or mailing address of record. Your renewal fees will remain at $250 but you will gain 
an extra nine (9) months in this licensing period, or $125 if your license was issued on or after 
1/1/2023. 

Please note that, as always, you are required to maintain bonding and insurance during this time. 
If you require a new license certificate to show this extended expiration date, please contact our 
office after 11/1/2023 at license@alaska.gov 

For General, Residential & Handyman Contractors and Residential Contractor Endorsement 
Holders: 

As your license is scheduled to expire 12/31/2024, no changes are being made to your license 
expiration date. Renewal applications will be available no later than 9/1/2024 and notices will be 
sent to your email or mailing address of record prior to that date. However, upon renewal, your 
expiration date will be 9/30/2026 (rather than 12/31/2026). While we encourage you to renew 
prior to 9/30/2024, your license will not lapse until 1/1/2025 this one time. (In future renewals, 
you will need to renew prior to 9/30 of even-numbered years.) 
For this one licensing cycle only, your renewal fees will be pro-rated as we recognize your 
renewal period (either this round or next, depending on when you renew) will be shortened by 
three (3) months. If your license was issued on or before 12/31/2023, your renewal fee will be 
$125. If your license is issued on or after 1/1/2024, your renewal fee will be $62.  
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For all: 
Why are the specialty and mechanical contractors paying full renewal fees while the general, 
residential, and handyman contractor and residential endorsement holder fees are being prorated? 
This is because the specialty and mechanical contractors are gaining 9 months of licensure in 
addition to the 24-month licensing cycle they’re currently in and the 24-month licensing cycle 
they will go in to in 2024 (i.e., 57 months total); whereas the general, residential, and handyman 
contractors are losing 3 months of licensure from the 24-month licensing cycle they’re currently 
in and the 24-month licensing cycle they will go in to in 2024 (i.e., 45 months total) – so it’s to 
ensure fairness to everyone. 
 
Information regarding this change will be communicated to the Division of Insurance, the 
Department of Labor and Workforce Development, and the professional licensing Investigations 
unit.  Please contact our office at license@alaska.gov if you have any questions. 
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