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“Strengthening competitive 
insurance markets while 

 protecting Alaskans.” 

STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Division of Insurance 
Email:  Insurance@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Insurance.Alaska.Gov

Tel: 907.465.2515 · Fax: 907.465.3422

Juneau Physical Address: 
 

State Office Building, 9th Floor 
333 Willoughby Avenue 

Juneau, AK 99811 

Juneau Mailing Address: 
 

Division of Insurance 
PO Box 110805 

Juneau, AK 99811 

Anchorage Office: 
 

(Physical and Mailing Address) 

Division of Insurance 
Robert B. Atwood Building 
550 W 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 
Anchorage, AK 99501 

Tel: 907.269.7900 
Fax: 907.269.7910

Public Records Request

Public records of property and casualty rates, rules, and forms filed with the Division of Insurance are now 
available online through SERFF Filing Access. For other Division public records requests, use this form. 

Under the Alaska Public Records Act, AS 40.25.100 – 40.25.295, a person may request a public agency’s public 
records. The agency must disclose the requested records unless they are protected from disclosure by a state 
or federal law, including a court order, or are statutorily excluded from the Act. 

Under the Alaska Public Records Act, I am requesting an opportunity to inspect or obtain copies of the following 
public records: 

Are you such a requester? 
Yes 
No 

I understand that the Division of Insurance (Division) may require that I pay an estimate of any reimbursable 
costs before it begins or continues any search or copying and that I must pay all reimbursable costs before it 
provides any records. For paper copies, the Division charges $0.25 per page, plus postage. A certified copy of 
a document costs $25. Additionally, the Division may charge handling costs (if the records have been archived) 
and personnel costs (if the time required to search for and/or copy records exceeds five person-hours in any 
calendar month). The Division may also charge for other reimbursable costs. 

Full Name: 

Mailing Address: 

Contact Phone: 

Email Address: 

Press this button to email the records request to the Division of Insurance: 

mailto:Insurance@Alaska.Gov
http://insurance.alaska.gov/
https://filingaccess.serff.com/sfa/home/AK
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The Division of Insurance (Division) is committed to complying with its responsibilities under the Alaska Public 
Records Act to disclose requested non-protected records subject to the Act. 
 
The Division has 10 business days to provide an initial response to your request. The initial response might do the 
following:  

 
1. ask you to clarify your request to identify the records requested, speed the response, or lessen the 

administrative burden of processing an overly broad request;  
 

2. notify you that the Division is responding under AS 40.25.115, which governs requests for electronic 
services and products;  

 
3. provide a cost estimate;  

 
4. take an extension of time;  

 
5. provide responsive records; and/or  

 
6. wholly or partially deny the request for any of the following reasons:   

 
a. the record is protected from disclosure, 

 

b. the Division does not possess or control the record, or  
 

c. the Division believes the record is in its possession or control but has not yet located it.  
 

These are a few categories of records that the Division may or must withhold: 
 

1. Medical and public health records; 
 

2. Records required to be kept confidential by a federal law or regulation or by a state law (such as article 
1, section 1 of the Alaska Constitution, which protects confidential business information, and the Alaska 
Uniform Trade Secrets Act, AS 45.50.910 – 45.50.945), including a federal or state court order or a 
common law privilege or protection (such as the attorney-client privilege, the attorney work-product 
doctrine, the executive communications privilege, and the deliberative process privilege); this includes 
records containing information, including in some cases contact information, protected under the right to 
privacy (e.g., in article 1, section 22 of the Alaska Constitution), the Alaska Personal Information 
Protection Act, AS 45.48.010 – 45.48.995, and/or the balance-of-interests principle; and 

 
3. Certain law enforcement records, including certain records of Division investigators. 

 
You may appeal a denial of a request for public records subject to the Act to the Division Director by following the 
requirements of 2 AAC 96.340. You may seek judicial review of such a denial by pursuing an injunction from the 
superior court under AS 40.25.125. 

 
This is not a comprehensive summary of your rights and the Division’s responsibilities under the Alaska Public 
Records Act. If you have questions, the Division suggests that you review the Act and the regulations, 2 AAC 
96.100 – 2 AAC 96.470, and/or contact an attorney. 

   

 

 
 

“Strengthening competitive 
insurance markets while 

 protecting Alaskans.” 

STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Division of Insurance 
 

Email:  Insurance@Alaska.Gov 
Website: Insurance.Alaska.Gov 

 Tel: 907.465.2515 · Fax: 907.465.3422 
 

 
 

 Juneau Physical Address: 
 

State Office Building, 9th Floor 
333 Willoughby Avenue 

Juneau, AK 99811 
 

Juneau Mailing Address: 
 

Division of Insurance 
PO Box 110805 

Juneau, AK 99811 

Anchorage Office: 
 

(Physical and Mailing Address) 
 
Division of Insurance 
Robert B. Atwood Building 
550 W 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 
Anchorage, AK 99501 
 
Tel: 907.269.7900 
Fax: 907.269.7910 

 

 
 Public Records Request 

 

mailto:Insurance@Alaska.Gov
http://insurance.alaska.gov/

	redStroke: 
	request: Enter your public records request here.
	addPage: 
	courtRules: (currently in litigation with the State of Alaska)
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: No
	Name1:    First Name:
	Name4: 
	Name2:    Middle Name:
	Name3:    Last Name:
	Address1:    Address:
	Address5: 
	addTally: No
	Address2:    City:
	Address3:    State:
	Address4:    ZIP Code:
	telSym1: (
	telPrint: 
	Phone1: 
	Phone2: 
	Phone3: 
	telSym2: )
	Phone4: 
	Phone5: 
	Phone6: 
	telSym3: -
	Phone7: 
	Phone8: 
	Phone9: 
	Phone10: 
	Secondary: Extension, Secondary, and/or Fax
	Email Address: 
	footerNum: Page 1 of 1
	textShield: 
	flashMessage1: An additional page has been created.
	undefined: [not provided]
	litText: Per AS 40.25.122 and 2 AAC 96.220, the Division may ask if a requester is a party or represents a party in an administrative or judicial litigation with the state in which a requested record is relevant. If the answer is "Yes", the requester must seek the records in accordance with the rules of procedure applicable in the administrative or judicial proceeding.
	textCount: No
	emptySecondary: 
	printText:   Attach additional sheets as necessary. You may return this form to any of the letterhead addresses.
	feeText: I understand that the Division of Insurance (Division) may require that I pay an estimate of any reimbursable costs before it begins or continues any search or copying and that I must pay all reimbursable costs before it provides any records. For paper copies, the Division charges $0.25 per page, plus postage. A certified copy of a document costs $25. Additionally, the Division may charge handling costs (if the records have been archived) and personnel costs (if the time required to search for and/or copy records exceeds five person-hours in any calendar month). The Division may also charge for other reimbursable costs.
	receiveDate: 
	nameTemp: Dssd
	addressTemp: 
	request1: The information you entered on the previous page has been copied here. You may append to it, or delete it. Either way, the information you already entered on Page 1 will not be deleted. 

_________________________________________________________________________________________


Enter your public records request here.



	nameDUP: [not provided]
	addressDUP: [not provided]
	phoneDUP: [not provided]
	emailDUP: [not provided]
	emailForm: 


