MULTIPLE EMPLOYER WELFARE ARRANGEMENT

ARRANGEMENT NAME: Certificate of Authority Number:
REQUIRED FILINGS IN THE STATE OF: ALASKA Filings Made During the Year 2024
@ @ 3 “ Q) 6) @)
Check- | Line NUMBER OF FORM APPLICABLE
list # REQUIRED FILINGS FOR THE ABOVE STATE COPIES* DUE DATE SOURCE** NOTES
** Domestic Foreign
State State
I. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
1 Alaska Annual Statement 2 2 3/1 State On DOI website
2 Alaska Quarterly Financial Statement 1 1 5/31,8/31, 11/30 State On DOI website
I1I. REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS
3 Description of events occurring after the close of 1 1 3/1,5/31,8/31, 11/30 Company
books that may have a Material Effect on Financial
Condition
4 Statement of Actuarial Opinion that includes 2 2 3/1 Company
a)  acertification that the unpaid claim liability
meets AS 21.18.080 — 21.18.086;
b)  the recommended level of specific and
aggregate stop-loss insurance that should be
maintained;
¢)  adescription of the actuarial soundness of the
arrangement including any recommended
actions the arrangement should take to
improve its actuarial soundness.
5 Statement of Contribution Rates 1 2 3/1 Company
II. AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
6 Audited Financial Statement 1 1 6/1 Other Note M
III. STATE REQUIRED FILINGS
7 Annual Premium Tax Payment 3/1 State Note D
8 Annual Premium Tax Report 1 1 3/1 State Notes B & N
9 Contribution Rates, Rating Manual, Schedule, Plan, 1 1 Annually at least 30 Other Note Q
Rule or Formula days prior to use
10 Copy of the IRS Form 5500 with all attachments 1 1 When original is filed Other
11 Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure®** 1 XXX 6/1 Company Domestics only
12 Designation of Persons to Contact 1 1 ONLY IF CHANGED State ONLY IF
CHANGED
13 Designation of Person to Receive Service of Process 1 1 ONLY IF State ONLY IF
CHANGED CHANGED
14 Filings Checklist (with Column 1 completed) XXX XXX XXX State For Arrangement
use only
15 Quarterly Estimated Premium Tax Payments 5/31, 8/31, 11/30 State Note O
16 Quarterly Premium Tax Reports 1 1 5/31,8/31, 11/30 State Note O
17 State Filing Fees Payments 311 State Note C

*If xxx appears in this column, this state does not require this filing

**State required filings for a MEWA (3 AAC 21.490)

***For those states that have adopted the NAIC Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure Model Act, an annual disclosure is required of all insurers or
insurance groups by June 1. The Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure is a state filing only and should not be submitted by the company to the NAIC.
Note however that this filing is intended to be submitted to the lead state if filed at the insurance group level. For more information on lead states, see the
following NAIC URL: http://www.naic.org/public_lead state report.htm.



http://www.naic.org/public_lead_state_report.htm

NOTES AND INSTRUCTIONS (A-K
APPLY TO ALL FILINGS)

Required Filings Contact Person:

Rebecca Nesheim, Tax Auditor (907) 465-2584
rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov

Mailing Address:

Chief Financial Examiner
Alaska Division of Insurance
550 West 7t Avenue, Suite 1560
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

Arrangement Financial Filings:
(not including Tax Report)

Annual Premium Tax Report: Required: OPTins

Mailing Address for Filing Fees:

Required to pay via OPTins through the NAIC. The Annual Premium Tax
Report includes the $100 Annual Statement Filing Fee and $2,000 Certificate of
Authority Continuation Fee. Fees must be paid by the Automated Clearing House
(ACH) payment method.

Mailing Address for Premium Tax Payments:

Required to pay via OPTins through the NAIC. Taxes must be paid by the
Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment method. OPTins requires payment
to be received before being released to the state.

Delivery Instructions:

All filings must be submitted no later than indicated due date. If due date falls on
a weekend or holiday, then the deadline is extended to the next business day.

Required is to file annual premium tax report and attachments via OPTins
through the NAIC

Late Filings and Payments:

Late Annual Statement Filings Penalty: $100.00 for each day the insurer fails to
file in the form required and within the time established to the director’s designee.
The director’s designee is as given in the checklist and these instructions.

Late Tax Payment Penalty: $50 per month plus five percent of the tax due per
month or part of a month up to a maximum of $250 plus 25 percent of the tax due
and interest of one percent per month or part of a month. If not paid by the
Automated Clearing House payment method, a penalty of 25 percent of the tax
due, with a minimum of $100 and maximum of $2,000.

Original Signatures:

Two original signatures of officers required on all filings for domestic MEWA’s.
Facsimile accepted for foreign MEWA’s

Signature/Notarization/Certification:

Each signature must be notarized. Use additional complete jurat pages for each
notarized signature if signatures cannot be notarized by one notary.

Amended Filings:

Amended filings must be filed within 30 days of completion along with an
explanation of the amendment and submitted in the same format to the same
address as the original filing.

Exceptions from normal filings:

Letter to Chief Financial Examiner, Alaska Division of Insurance, 550 W. 7t
Avenue, Suite 1560, Anchorage, AK 99501-3567

NONE Filings:

If page has no data to be reported, print “NONE” across the body of the page.

i

Filings new, discontinued or modified
materially since last year:

OPTins requires payment to be received before filing and payment will be
released to the state. Filed date will be based upon when released to the state.

Audited Financial Statement

If total payments to the arrangement for participation during 2022 operations
exceeded $2,000,000, audited financial statements required for prior two years

Reminder:

One copy of page 7 — Contributions - from Annual Statement must be filed with
Annual Premium Tax Report

Quarterly Tax Reports and Estimated Tax
Payments:

If the 2023 tax was $10,000 or more, the insurer is required to make estimated
quarterly tax payments throughout 2024, required via OPTins. See Note F for
late payments.

Division of Insurance Web Site:

www.insurance.alaska.gov

Filing of Rate or Fee, Rating Manual,
Schedule, Plan, Rule or Formula

AS 21.85.070 requires filing prior to use including any modification to these items.
Filing must meet the requirements of AS 21.85.070(d). Filing is submitted to:
Director of Insurance
Alaska Division of Insurance
P. O. Box 110805 333 Willoughby Ave, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99811-0805 Juneau, AK 99801

Express Mail:

Due Date Extensions for Filings:

No extensions allowed. Filings are to be submitted by the due date.



mailto:rebecca.nesheim@alaska.gov
http://www.insurance.alaska.gov/

General Instructions
For Arrangements to Use Checklist

Alaska does not want to receive a copy of the checklist.
Column (1) (CheckKlist)

Arrangements may use the checklist to submit to a state, if the state requests it. Arrangements should copy the checklist and place an
“x” in this column when mailing information to the state.

Column (2) (Line #)

Line # refers to a standard filing number used for easy reference. This line number may change from year to year.

Column (3) (Required Filings)

Name of item or form to be filed.

Column (4) (Number of Copies)

Indicates the number of copies that each foreign or domestic arrangement is required to file for each type of form.

Column (5) (Due Date)

Indicates the date on which the arrangement must file the form.

Column (6) (Form Source)

This column contains one of three words: “State,” “Company” or “Other.” If this column contains “State,” the state will make the
forms available online with the filing instructions. If this column contains “Company,” the arrangement, or its representative (e.g., its
CPA firm), is expected to provide the form based upon the appropriate state instructions. If the column says “Other” the form must be
obtained from other required source.

Column (7) (Applicable Notes)

This column contains references to the Notes and Instructions that apply to each item listed on the checklist. The arrangement should
carefully read these notes before submitting a filing.
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