BEFORE THE ALASKA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS ON REFERRAL
FROM THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF INSURANCE

In the Matter of

EMPLOYERS COMPENSATION
INSURANCE COMPANY

OAH No. 22-0738-INS
Agency No. D22-11

DECISION ON SUMMARY ADJUDICATION

I. Introduction

Employers Compensation Insurance Company (ECIC) is a California domiciled
insurance company that does business in Alaska. The Alaska Department of Commerce,
Community & Economic Development, Division of Insurance (Division) assessed a $3,586
"retaliatory fee" against ECIC as part of ECIC's Alaska Premium Tax payment for 2021.
ECIC requested a hearing to challenge the Division's assessment of the retaliatory fee for 2021
and to seek a refund for retaliatory fees it paid in the two preceding years of 2019 and 2020.

The parties cross-moved for summary adjudication. As discussed more fully below, there
being no genuine issues of material fact, ECIC's motion for summary adjudication is denied and
summary adjudication is entered in favor of the Division. This decision finds that ECIC is liable
for payment of the retaliatory fee in the amount of $3,586 for 2021 and denies its request for
refund of the retaliatory fees paid for 2019 and 2020.
II1. Facts and Procedural History'

A. ECIC Retaliatory Fee History

Insurers who write premiums in Alaska are required to "pay a tax on the total direct
premiums written during the year ending on the preceding December 31 ... "? As part of the
statutory scheme, that tax may include what is referred to as a retaliatory fee or tax, which
applies to foreign domiciled insurers doing business in Alaska.’

ECIC is a California-domiciled insurance company that does business in Alaska. It filed
annual Alaska Premium Tax reports for 2019, 2020, and 2021. In April 2020, the Division of

Insurance assessed ECIC a retaliatory fee of $3,476 as part of its 2019 Alaska Premium Tax.* At

The undisputed facts set out below are derived from the exhibits attached to the parties' pleadings, which
were admitted without objection, and from ECIC's appeal documents.
2 AS 21.09.210(d).
8 AS 21.09.270. See generally, Premera v. State, 171P.3d1110, 1112-113 (Alaska 2007).
4 Agency Record (AR) 12.



that time, the Division explained that it included California's "fraud assessment" fee, which is
imposed on all insurers, in its calculation of whether a retaliatory fee was due. The Division's
tax auditor explained:

The 2019 tax report for Employers Compensation Insurance Company did not

include the California Department of Insurance's fraud fee on the domicile side of

the retaliatory schedule. CA law requires that all insurers doing business in CA,

which means actively servicing policies and/or collecting premiums, are subject

to the fraud assessment. The Alaska retaliatory law does not exclude this type of

special purpose fee from the calculation and neither does the CA retaliatory law

as all companies including foreign companies are subject to this fee; thus, this

fraud fee belongs in the retaliatory calculation per Alaska statute 21.09.270.°
ECIC responded that ECIC would "arrange to have this paid as soon as possible."®

In April 2021, the Division again assessed ECIC a retaliatory fee of $3,466 as part of its
2020 Alaska Premium Tax report.” ECIC again did not dispute the retaliatory fee assessment.
When ECIC filed its 2021 Alaska Premium Tax report in early 2022, it again did not account for
the "fraud fee" charged by California. In April 2022, the Division again assessed a retaliatory
fee.® Asin prior years, the Division calculated the size of the 2021 retaliatory fee by comparing
the amounts of "taxes, licenses, and other fees" that ECIC would pay in Alaska versus in
California based upon its $26,333 in premiums. The amount for Alaska was $3,061, while the
amount for California- with the fraud fee included- was $6,647. The difference in total fees
between the two states - $3,586 - is the amount assessed by the Division as ECIC's 2021
retaliatory fee.®

B. ECIC Challenge to 2021 Retaliatory Fee

ECIC disputed the requirement to pay the 2021 retaliatory fee. In July 2022, after
correspondence between the parties had failed to resolve the issue, ECIC queried the Division
about whether the Department would "issue a final, appealable ruling." One week later, the

Division Director issued an "Order Imposing Retaliatory." The Order August 2, 2022 Order

concluded that "the California fraud fee is analogous to the Alaska certificate of authority

5 AR 12.
6 AR 17.
7 AR22.
8 AR27
9

ECIC's original "Retaliatory Schedule" filing is attached at Ex. 2, p. 4 to its October 14, 2022 Dispositive
Motion. The Division's interlineated "Retaliatory Schedule" showing the addition of the California Fraud fee and
the resultant calculation of the retaliatory fee amount is attached as its Amended Ex. 1, p. 4 filed on November 4,
2022
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renewal fee that funds the Alaska fraud section," and reiterated the Division's earlier finding that
ECIC's premium tax obligation included a $3,586 retaliatory fee.'”

C. Procedural History

ECIC requested a hearing in this matter on August 8, 2022."" In its hearing request,
ECIC took issue with the Division's characterization of California's "fraud fee" as a fee
"imposed upon" insurers. Instead, ECIC contended, the fraud fee is actually imposed on
policyholders, so should not be included in the universe of fees from which the retaliatory fee
calculation is made. Based on this reasoning, ECIC's hearing request not only challenged the
2021 retaliatory fee assessment, but also "request[ed] a refund of the full amount of retaliatory
fee paid in each of those years: $3476.00 in 2019 and $3466.00 in 2020."

The parties filed cross-motions for summary adjudication in this case and oral argument
was held on those motions on December 6, 2022. At oral argument, this tribunal raised, sua
sponte, the issue of whether ECIC could properly request a refund of retaliatory fee for Tax
Premium years 2019 and 2020 as part of this case. The parties provided supplemental briefing
on this point.

III.  Discussion

A. Issues Presented

The primary issue is whether ECIC is subject to a retaliatory fee for tax year 2021. The
secondary issue is whether ECIC may, in addition to challenging the 2021 retaliatory fee, also
request a refund of its payment ofretaliatory fees for 2019 and 2020.

The Division does not dispute that ECIC may raise the issue of the 2019 and 2020
retaliatory fee refund in this case.'? The applicable statute AS 21.09.210(k), allows an insurer to
request a refund "[i]f within three years after the date the tax under this section was due, and
insurer discovers a mistake or misinterpretation that resulted in an overpayment of the tax in an
amount exceeding $250 in any one calendar year." Because ECIC's argument, as discussed
below, is that the retaliatory fee for all three years, 2019, 2020, and 2021, is based upon a
mistake or misinterpretation of the applicable statutes, the issue of whether ECIC is entitled to a

refund for 2019 and 2020 is appropriate for decision.

10 Ex. 3.
1 R. 32.
12 See the Division's December 21, 2022 "Response to Request for Supplemental Briefing," p. 3.
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B. Summary Adjudication Standard

Summary adjudication in an administrative proceeding is the equivalent of summary
judgment in a court proceeding.!® It is a means of resolving disputes without a hearing when the
central underlying facts are not in contention, but only the legal implications of those facts. If
facts that are undisputed establish that one side or the other must prevail, the evidentiary hearing
is not required.!'*

C. Is ECIC Subject to a Retaliatory Fee?

The statutory scheme imposing a tax on insurance premiums written in Alaska permits
the imposition of a retaliatory fee or tax on foreign domiciled insurers doing business in
Alaska.'> Alaska Statute 21.09.270 sets forth the conditions upon which a retaliatory fee may be
assessed upon that foreign domiciled insurer:

If, under the laws of another state ... taxes, licenses, and other fees, in the
aggregate ... are or would be imposed upon Alaska insurers ... that are in excess
of the taxes, licenses, or other fees, in the aggregate ... directly imposed upon
similar insurers ... of another state ... under the statutes of this state ... the same
taxes, licenses, and other fees in the aggregate ... shall be imposed by the
director [of Insurance] upon the insurers ... ofthe other state ... doing business
or seeking to do business in [Alaska].16

As explained by the Alaska Supreme Court, in its decision upholding the assessment of a
retaliatory fee, "the purpose of AS 21.09.270 of equalizing and lowering taxes across states is
fairly and substantially furthered by imposition of the retaliatory tax ... "'’

ECIC is domiciled in California. The question to be resolved is therefore whether
California imposes insurance "taxes, license, or other fees, in the aggregate" that exceed the
"taxes, licenses, or other fees, in the aggregate" imposed by Alaska. If so, the Division may
impose a retaliatory tax upon California domiciled insurers doing business in Alaska. If not,
then the Division may not. For instance, in the Premera case, the Alaska Supreme Court held
that Alaska could assess a retaliatory tax against Premera Blue Cross, a Washington domiciled

non-profit hospital and medical services corporation that did business in Alaska, because the

13 See, e.g., Schikora v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 7 P.3d 938, 940-41, 946 (Alaska 2000).

14 See Smith v. State of Alaska, 790 P.2d 1352, 1353 (Alaska 1990); 2 Davis & Pierce, Administrative Law
Treatise§ 9.5 at 54 (3d ed. 1994).

15 AS 21.09.210(d).

16 AS 21.09.270.

17 Premera Blue Cross v. State, Dept. of Commerce & Economic Development, Division of Insurance, 171
P.3d 1110, 1124 (Alaska, 2007).
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State of Washington taxed its non-profit health care services corporations at a higher rate than
Alaska.'®

The Division assessed a retaliatory fee against ECIC based upon the inclusion of the
California fraud assessment fee in its calculation of the retaliatory fee. The crux of the parties'
dispute involves whether it should have been included in that calculation. California requires
that "an insurer doing business in this state shall pay an annual special purpose assessment to be
determined by the commissioner, not to exceed five thousand one hundred dollars ($5,100), to be
used exclusively for the support of the Fraud Division."' The insurer paying that assessment
"may" pass that assessment on to its clientele "by way of a surcharge on premiums charged for
the insurance policies to which those sections apply or by including the assessments within the
insurer's rates."*’

Alaska does not have a direct fraud assessment.?! It does have a $2,250 "annual
continuation of a certificate of authority fee." The Director's "Order Imposing Retaliatory"
provides that "[t]he California fraud fee is analogous to the Alaska certificate of authority
renewal fee that funds the Alaska fraud section".

1. Has ECIC Demonstrated that it is Entitled to Summary Adjudication in
Favor of Eliminating its 2021 Retaliatory Fee?

ECIC made two arguments in support of its position that it was not subject to a retaliatory
fee. Its first argument was that Alaska could not include the California Fraud fee in its
calculations because that fee was not "imposed" upon insurers. Its second argument was that the
Alaska Insurance Guaranty Association (AIGA) fee required of insurers was analogous to the
California Fraud fee and, that if the California Fraud fee was included in the retaliatory fee
calculation, it should also be included. Each of these arguments is addressed below.

a. Is the California Fraud Assessment "Imposed" Upon Insurers?

ECIC argues that the California Fraud assessment is not "imposed" upon insurers
because it has the option of passing that fee onto its insureds. "Impose" is defined as "to levy or
exact (a tax or duty)."** California requires the insurer to pay the assessment: it exacts a duty

upon the insurer to pay the assessment. This meets the definition of "imposed." The fact that the

18 Id. At 1123 - 1124,

19 Cal. Ins. Code § 1872.86(a).

20 Cal. Ins. Code § 1872.87(a).

21 See AS 21.09.210 and 3 AAC 31.050 for a list of standard fees.
2 Impose, Black's Law Dictionary (11t" ed. 2019).
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insurer can pass the assessment on to its insureds does not relieve the insurer of the underlying
obligation. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
b. Should the AIGA Fee be Included in the Retaliatory Fee
Calculation?

ECIC's second argument is that the Division's calculation failed to account for a fee
charged to Alaska-based insurers by AIGA.

AIGA is a non-profit corporation created by statute to "provide a mechanism for the
payment of covered claims ... to avoid excessive delay in payment and ... to minimize financial
loss to claims or policyholders because of the insolvency of an insurer."*® Insurers doing
business in Alaska, with some limited exceptions, are required to be members of AIGA as a
condition of their doing business in the state.”* AIGA members are assessed a yearly fee, which
they are required to pay as a condition of membership.?

ECIC argued that AIGA yearly fees, the amount of which is not contained in the record,
should have been included in Alaska's retaliatory fee calculation, which it undisputedly was not.
ECIC's argument is based upon its position that the AIGA yearly fee is analogous to the
California Fraud fee. This argument is not well taken.

The purpose behind the AIGA member fee is for the protection of insureds in the event
that their insurer is insolvent. The California Fraud fee is to provide funding to the California
Insurance Fraud Division.?® It is not to protect insureds in the event of their insurer's insolvency.
This conclusion is further supported by the fact that California has its own California Insurance
Guarantee Association, which applicable insurers are required to join, and the stated purpose of
which- like AIGA - is "to provide for each member insurer insolvency insurance."?’ Its
members, similar to the members of AIGA, are also required to pay "premium payments from its
member insurers sufficient to discharge its obligations."?® In other words, comparing the AIGA
assessment and the California Fraud fee is comparing apples and oranges.

A review of the Alaska Premera case lends further support to the conclusion that the

AIGA fee should not be included in the retaliatory fee calculation. In that case, health insurers

z AS 21.80.010; AS 21.80.040(a).
24 AS 21.80.040(a).

= AS 21.80.060(a)(3).

26 Cal. Ins. Code§ 1872.86.

2 Cal. Ins. Code § 1063(a).

B Cal. Ins. Code§ 1063.5
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were required to participate in two entities, ACHIA and SEHRA. ACHIA and SEHRA were
statutorily created non-profit associations. ACHIA's purpose was to provide a Medicare
supplement to older high risk Medicare recipients. SEHRA's purpose was to help assist with
health insurance coverage for small employers.”’ Premera Blue Cross argued that the fees paid
to ACHIA and SEHRA should be included in the calculation of the retaliatory rate. The Alaska
Court rejected that argument, noting that that the ACHIA and SEHRA charges were not
"imposed by, payable to, or collected by the State, the ACHIA and SEHRA charges are levied by
specially created non-profit institutions."° Similarly, AIGA is a specially created non-profit,
not a state agency. Under the ruling in Premera, AIGA assessments may not be used in
determining a retaliatory fee.

As shown above, a review of the Alaska statutes regarding the AIGA, the California
statutes regarding the California Insurance Guarantee Association, and the California Fraud fee,
demonstrates that the AIGA assessments are not even slightly analogous to the California Fraud
fee, nor are they imposed by a state agency. Consequently, ECIC's argument on this point fails.

2. Has the Division Established that it is Entitled to Summary Adjudication
Upholding the 2021 Retaliatory Fee?

In addition to opposing ECIC's motion, the Division cross-moved for summary
adjudication in its own favor.

The Division's position is a simple one. California has a Fraud fee, which the Division
included in its calculation of the retaliatory fee. After its calculation and comparison of the
California insurance renewal fees, including the Fraud fee, and the Alaska insurance renewal
fees, the Division concluded that California's insurance renewal fees exceeded Alaska's by
$3,586 in 2021. Consequently, ECIC as a California domiciled insurer was required to pay that
difference of $3,586 as a retaliatory fee pursuant to AS 21.09.270.

As discussed above ECIC made two arguments why the Division's assessment of the
retaliatory fee was made in error. Neither of those arguments are persuasive: the California
Fraud fee is "imposed", and it is not the equivalent of the AIGA fee. Further, as stated by ECIC

in its opening summary adjudication brief: "ECIC concedes that that proceeds from the [Alaska

2 Premera at 1113.

30 Premera at 1120.
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certificate ofrenewal fee and the California Fraud fees] may be used for similar purposes."3!
Both of these fees are part of the "taxes, licenses, and other fees, in the aggregate" required by
each state and both were used in the Division's calculation of the retaliatory fee.

Summary judgment is appropriate where there are no disputed facts, and the undisputed
facts, viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving party, demonstrate that the moving
party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Here, the Division has established, as a legal
matter, that it correctly included the California Fraud fee in its retaliatory fee calculation, and
likewise that it correctly excluded the AIGA assessment in the calculation. No other aspect of
the retaliatory fee calculation is in dispute here. Consequently, the Division has established that
ECIC is liable for the 2021 retaliatory fee of $3,586.

It therefore follows that the Division did not make a mistake, nor did it misinterpret the
retaliatory fee statute when it included the California Fraud fee in its calculations when it held
ECIC liable for retaliatory fees in 2019 and 2020. Accordingly, the Division has established that
ECIC is not entitled to a refund of the retaliatory fees paid for 2019 and 2020.

IV.  Conclusion and Order

Entry of summary adjudication is appropriate because there are no genuine issues of
material fact. Under Alaska law, a non-Alaska domiciled insurer doing business in Alaska is
required to pay the Division as paii of its ammal Premium Tax, a retaliatory fee if its domiciliary
state requires payment of "taxes, license, or other fees, in the aggregate" that exceed the "taxes,
licenses, or other fees, in the aggregate" that would be required by Alaska. The undisputed facts
show that ECIC's domiciliary state, California, required payments of "taxes, license, or other
fees, in the aggregate" that exceeded Alaska's. Accordingly, summary adjudication is entered in
the Division's favor as to the three tax years of 2019, 2020, and 2021.

Dated: February 8, 2023

el

Lawrence A. Pederson
Administrative Law Judge

3 ECIC's October 14, 2022 Dispositive Motion, p. 3.
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Adoption

The undersigned adopts this Decision, under the authority of AS 44.64.060(e)(l), as the
final administrative determination in this matter.

Judicial review of this decision may be obtained by filing an appeal in the Alaska
Superior Court in accordance with Alaska R. App. P. 602(a)(2) within 30 days after the date of

this decision.
BY: Z/ 44} )
bt ump-~V-2an

Lori Wing-Heier
Director, Division Insurance

DATED this 28th day of March, 2023.
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