

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF INSURANCE

550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1560 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3567 Main: 907.269.7900 TDD: 907.465.5437 Fax: 907.269.7910

BULLETIN B 13-11

TO: ALL INSURERS AND RESIDENT LICENSEES AUTHORIZED TO TRANSACT INSURANCE IN THE STATE OF ALASKA AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES

RE: CONTINUING EDUCATION REGULATIONS

In 1995, Alaska Statute (AS) 21.27.020(f) was enacted, which authorized the director of the Division of Insurance (division) to adopt regulations for the establishment of a continuing education (CE) requirement for licensed insurance producers in this state. Regulations adopted in 1996 established a program that required the licensee to determine whether the course, seminar, or program of learning met the requirements identified in the regulations, subject to audit by the director.

Because of advancements in technology, the Division seeks to streamline and achieve greater efficiencies in the license renewal process for resident licensees by automatically verifying CE compliance when the licensee files for online license renewal. Changes were therefore proposed to the existing CE regulations to incorporate a preapproval process that would allow for systematic changes to access and verify compliance with these requirements. Changes to Regulations 3AAC 23.100 – 3AAC 23.208 were adopted, effective January 1, 2014.

The regulations provide guidance specific to applicability, acceptable course content and criteria, provider and course filing requirements, computation methods, record retention, and compliance responsibilities while transferring the burden of review and approval of CE providers and courses from the licensee to the division. Persons offering CE courses must file for provider and course approval, using the process and forms adopted by the National Association of Insurance Commissioner's (NAIC).

In addition to establishing a preapproval process for courses, the Division has partnered with the NAIC's affiliate State Based Systems (SBS), to facilitate the filing and tracking of continuing education information. SBS will allow licensees to search for providers and courses that have been approved for credit.

Additionally through the SBS system, online CE credit banking for licensees who have successfully completed a CE course will be available to licensees so they are able to check and verify at any time during their license cycle their compliance status. This information is available at SBS Online Services (https://sbs-ak.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp). Please note that only courses taken https://sbs-ak.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp). Please note that only courses taken https://sbs-ak.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp). Please note that only courses taken https://sbs-ak.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp).

Continuing Education Providers

Any person that wishes to offer a CE course must apply for approval as a CE provider through SBS at https://sbs-ak.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/ext/login/launch.jsp. Courses must also be filed through SBS and prior approval is required before the provider may advertise or offer any course to residents of this state.

Provider application and renewal fees are \$200 and \$100 respectively and will expire on December 31 of the fourth year after the date of the last approval. Course application and renewal fees are \$50 per course and expire on September 1 of the second year after the date of approval.

Although the regulations do not become effective until January 1, 2014, and as every course and provider must now obtain prior approval, any person intending to become a provider or offer a course for continuing education credits is encouraged to seek approval of itself and submit courses prior to this effective date to alleviate significant time delays for provider and course approvals.

Continuing Education Filing and Reporting Requirements

Any provider that offers a course in this state must:

- 1. Issue, not later than 30 days after the course completion date, a certificate of completion to each licensee who successfully completes the course; and
- 2. File on the division's online system, State Based Systems, within 10 days after the course completion date, a course roster that includes all licensees that have successfully completed the course.

Licensee Transition Period/ Reporting of Continuing Education Credits

Licensees that have taken a course **prior to January 1, 2014**, including any courses that will be reported as carry-over credits, will be required to retain course certificates, journals and all documentation to substantiate those credit hours claimed at renewal. A licensee will be required to complete and submit the Continuing Education Reporting Form (http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance/Insurance/programs/Licensing/CE/CE%20Reporting%20Form.pdf) since these credits will not be electronically submitted to our office by the provider and hours banked to the licensee's record.

For any CE courses taken <u>after January 1, 2014</u>, the provider is now required to submit course rosters to our office for all attendees that have successfully completed the course. All credit hours will be banked and available for viewing through State Based Systems (http://www.statebasedsystems.com/). A licensee is not required to report these credit hours by submitting the Continuing Education Reporting Form.

A CE provider is required to maintain records and documents for a period of four years from the date the course was offered. Licensees claiming credit hours for courses taken prior to January 1, 2014 must retain all course documentation, including work papers, certificates and any other documentation that validates the number of credit hours reported at renewal for a period of four years. For courses taken after January 1, 2014, the record retention responsibility shifts solely to the provider.

Information pertaining to CE may be accessed online at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance/Insurance/programs/Licensing/continuingEducation. html. We encourage licensees and CE providers to review the regulations to ensure that they are fully compliant with our requirements.

Dated this 6th day of December 2013 at Anchorage, Alaska.

Bret S. Kolb
Director