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STATE OF ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

DIVISION OF BANKING AND SECURITIES 
P.O. BOX 110807, JUNEAU, ALASKA 99811-0807 

TELEPHONE (907) 465-2521 
TOLL FREE   (888) 925-2521 

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking.aspx 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
TO LICENSE A PREMIUM FINANCE COMPANY IN ALASKA 

REFERENCES: 

AS 06.40.010 AS 06.40.110 
AS 06.40.030 AS 06.40.120 
AS 06.40.050 3 AAC 07.010 
AS 06.40.070 3 AAC 07.020 

The applicant should particularly note the above cites.  In addition, the applicant must become 
thoroughly knowledgeable regarding the entire contents of AS 06.40 and 3 AAC 07. 

Alaska’s statutes and administrative code may be accessed from the Internet 
at: http://akleg.gov/

1. PLEASE READ THESE PROCEDURES VERY CAREFULLY AND COMPLETELY
BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION.

2. An application to establish a premium finance company under AS 06.40 shall be
submitted to the Division of Banking and Securities within the Department of Commerce,
Community and Economic Development.  The address is P.O. Box 110807, Juneau,
Alaska 99811-0807.

3. The applicant shall submit the following:

a) An application for license.

b) A license bond form.

c) An Office Manager’s Questionnaire.

d) Form (A)

e) Application to become licensed in Alaska as a foreign corporation.  This packet is 
for the Corporations Section to review.  You may download these forms at: http://
commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/Corporations/CorpFormsFees/FormsbyEntity.aspx

f) A business license application for Business Licensing. You may download this 
application at: http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/BusinessLicensing/
BusinessLicensingFormsFees.aspx

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking/Forms.aspx
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking/Forms.aspx
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking/Forms.aspx
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking/Forms.aspx
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APPLICATION PROCEDURES (con’t) 

4. The applicant must:

(a) Submit a check or money order made payable to the State of Alaska for $700;
$200.00 is for an annual license fee (AS 06.40.040) and $500.00 is for partial 
payment of investigation expenses (AS 06.40.050(b)). 

(b) Complete the application for license. 

(c) Complete the division bond form in the sum of $5,000.00 (AS 06.40.030). 

(d) Complete the Office Manager’s Questionnaire. 

(e) Complete Form (A). 

(e) Submit for approval by this division a copy of the proposed premium finance 
agreement to be used in this state.  Particular attention is to be given to AS 
06.40.110.  Subsection (c) prohibits the establishment or collection of a 
deficiency balance on personal lines by the premium finance company.  Also, see 
AS 06.40.130 and AS 06.40.140. 

(f) Complete and submit the packet to become licensed in Alaska as a foreign 
corporation. 

(g) Complete and submit the application to become licensed in Alaska with the 
Business Licensing Section, Division of Occupational Licensing. 

(h) Submit for approval by this division a copy of the rate chart to be used in this 
state.  See AS 06.40.120, with particular attention given to subsection (c). 

(i) Submit: 

(i) Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Incorporation from the State of 
the company's domicile. 

(ii) Certified copy of the premium finance company's current Articles of 
Incorporation or comparable proof of legal organization. 

(iii) Certified resolution of Board of Directors authorizing the filing by the 
premium finance company of an application for an insurance premium 
finance license in Alaska; and appointing the Commissioner of the State of 
Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, and/or the Director of Division of Banking and Securities as 
agent for the premium finance company to accept service of process. 

(j) Submit copies of all forms that would be used in administering the Alaska 
agreements, i.e., such as late payment notices, cancellation notices, 
account cards, receipts, etc. 

5. Upon the division's receipt of the completed application for license and the check for
$700.00 it will consider that a formal application has been made.

6. As part of the application process, and after all the documentation in number 4 above
have been received by the Division of Banking and Securities the financial institution
examiner processing the application may make a prelicensing visitation trip to inspect the
facilities of the applicant.




