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STATE OF ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

DIVISION OF BANKING AND SECURITIES 
550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1850 

Anchorage, AK 99501 
Telephone: (907) 269-8140 

Email: financialinstitutions@alaska.gov  
http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/dbs/Banking.aspx 

 
 APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

TO LICENSE A SMALL LOAN COMPANY 
 

REFERENCES: 
 

AS 06.20.010  AS 06.20.050 
AS 06.20.020  AS 06.20.060 
AS 06.20.030  3 AAC 12.020 
AS 06.20.040  3 AAC 12.030 

 
The applicant should particularly note the above cites.  In addition, the applicant must become 
thoroughly knowledgeable regarding the entire contents of AS 06.20 and 3 AAC 12. 
 
Alaska’s statutes and administrative code may also be accessed from the Internet at: 
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folio.asp  
  
 
1. PLEASE READ THESE PROCEDURES VERY CAREFULLY AND COMPLETELY 

BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION. 
 
2. An application to establish a small loan company shall be submitted to the Division of 

Banking and Securities, within the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development.  It is preferred the application be submitted electronically to, 
financialinstitutions@alaska.gov, or by mail to the address listed above. 

 
3. The applicant must complete the following: 
 

i. An application for license. 
 

ii. A license bond form. 
 

iii. Application to become licensed in Alaska as a foreign corporation or 
incorporated in Alaska as a domestic corporation. Instructions and forms 
may be accessed at: 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Corporations.aspx  

 
iv. An application for an Alaska Business License. Instructions and forms 

may be accessed at: 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/BusinessLicensing.aspx  

 
**Pursuant to AS 06.20.030(c), licensees of the small loan act are exempt 
from paying the Alaska Business License Fee.  Do not send the fee noted on 
the Application for Business License. 

 
4. The applicant must: 
 

a. Submit, in accordance with AS 06.20.030(a) and (b), a check or money order 
made payable to the State of Alaska for $1,000 as partial payment of investigation 
expenses; and a check for $500 for a single office license or $2,000 for a multiple 
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office license as an annual license fee. 
 

b. Complete the application for license in accordance with AS 06.20.020. 
 

c. Complete the Division bond form in the sum of $25,000 in accordance with 
AS 06.20.050. 

 
d. Complete and submit the packet for becoming licensed as a foreign corporation, 

or incorporated as a domestic corporation.  If already licensed or incorporated in 
Alaska, so state. 

 
e. Submit a certified resolution of board of directors authorizing the filing by the 

corporation of an application to establish a small loan office in Alaska. 
 

f. If applicant is a foreign corporation, submit: 
 

i. A certificate of authority or certificate of incorporation from the state of 
the company’s domicile, and 

ii. Certified copy of the applicant’s current articles of incorporation. 
 

g. Submit, in accordance with AS 06.20.040, proof that liquid assets of at least 
$25,000 per office are available for the operation of the proposed office(s) in a 
branch of a financial institution located in the State of Alaska. 

 
h. Submit, in accordance with AS 06.20.270(5), a schedule of charges and the 

method of computing them to be displayed prominently in each licensed place of 
business. 

 
5. Upon the Division’s receipt of the completed application for license form and the items 

detailed in 4a – 4h above, it will consider that a formal application has been filed. 
 
6. As part of the application process, the examiner processing the application will schedule 

and hold a pre-licensing meeting with the applicants to inspect the facilities of the 
applicant. 

 
7. The Division shall approve or deny every application for license within 60 days from the 

filing of the application with the fees and the approved bond. 
 
8. In accordance with AS 06.20.060, if the Division denies the application, it shall notify 

applicant of the denial, bill the applicant for any outstanding expenses incurred by the 
department during the investigation, and return the bond if those expenses have been 
paid.  Any denial must be reviewed and approved by the Chief of Enforcement and the 
Director before issuance. 

 
9. Upon approval of the application, the Division will issue to the applicant an annual 

license. Accompanying this documentation will be a final statement of billing. 
 
 
 


