

State of Alaska Local Boundary Commission

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640 • Anchorage, Alaska 99501 Telephone: 907-269-4559 • Fax 907-269-4563

STATE OF ALASKA LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION

Minutes of Meeting
October 3, 2013 – 10:00 a.m.
Atwood Building, 550 West Seventh Avenue, room 1620
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
(Originating site of the teleconference)

ADMINISTRATIVE

- 1. Call to order Chair Chrystal called the meeting to order.
- 2. Roll call At the request of the Chair, Brent Williams called the roll of the commissioners.

Present: Lynn Chrystal in Anchorage. Darroll Hargraves, Lavell Wilson, and John Harrington attended via teleconference.

Acknowledge guests and staff present

Anchorage: Scott Ruby, DCRA Director; LBC staff Brent Williams and Brice Eningowuk; court reporter Wanda Ventres;

Allakaket via teleconference: Allakaket City Council members Emily Grey and Steven Bergman, Sr.; Acting City Manager Lucy Straussburg,

Alatna via teleconference: Tribal council member Clara Sam, Harding Sam of the City of Allakaket, council member Dena Sam

Kotzebue via teleconference: City Manager Derek Martin, Capital Projects Manager Jason Jessup, City planner Grant Hildreth, Planning Commission members Chairman Charles Huss and Matt Bergan

Fairbanks via teleconference: DCRA staff Jeremy Johnson, Jeffrey Congdon Division of Forestry via teleconference: Greg Staunton

3. Approve agenda

Commissioner Wilson moves to approve the agenda. Commissioner Hargraves seconds the motion.

Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Wilson, Commissioner Hargraves, and Chair Chrystal Motion carried.

4. Public comments regarding Local Boundary Commission matters - None

NEW BUSINESS

 Suspension of 3 AAC 110.690(b) for the next LBC meeting/hearing. 3 AAC 110.690(b) requires that telephonic attendees bear the cost of calling

(Commissioner Harrington arrives telephonically)

Commissioner Wilson moves to suspend 3 AAC 110.690(b) for the next meeting.

Commissioner Hargraves seconds the motion.

Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Wilson, Commissioner Hargraves, Commissioner Harrington, and Chair Chrystal

Motion carried.

2. Suspension of 3 AAC 100.700(d) to not require paper originals of comments for the Allakaket annexation and concurrent detachment petition, the Edna Bay incorporation petition, the Kotzebue annexation petition, and the Big Lake incorporation petition. 3 AAC 110.700(d) requires that "[t]he original of a document served by electronic mail or facsimile transmission must be submitted to the commission within 10 days after the submission of the filing by either electronic method."

Commissioner Harrington moves to suspend 3 AAC 110.700(d).

Commissioner Hargraves seconds the motion.

Discussion made regarding regulation to allow use of email/fax submission of documents and not require a hard copy.

Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Harrington, Commissioner Wilson, Commissioner Hargraves, and Chair Chrystal

Motion carried.

3. Suspension of 3 AAC 110.690(a) to permit the LBC to conduct next year's Allakaket detachment and annexation petition hearing entirely by teleconference, instead of having two members physically present

Commissioner Harrington moves to suspend 3 AAC 110.690(a).

Commissioner Hargraves seconds the motion.

Community members commented, and encouraged the commission to hold its hearing live in Allakaket. Commissioners' consensus was that at least some of the commissioners should travel to Allakaket for the hearing if deemed necessary if the petition became controversial. Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Harrington, Commissioner Hargraves, Commissioner Wilson, and Chair Chrystal

Motion carried.

4. Approve or amend Wasilla annexation petition draft written decision

Commissioner Harrington moves to approve the Wasilla petition written decision.

Commissioner Wilson seconds the motion.

Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Wilson, Commissioner Harrington, Commissioner Hargraves, and Chair Chrystal

Wasilla written decision approved.

5. Approve or amend September 12, 2013 minutes

Commissioner Harrington moves to approve minutes of September 12, 2013.

Commissioner Wilson seconds the motion.

Chair Chrystal requests a vote.

Yes: Commissioner Harrington, Commissioner Hargraves, Commissioner Wilson, and Chair Chrystal

September 12, 2013 LBC meeting minutes approved.

6. Resolution urging full state funding of basic need for all school districts

Reopened the September 12, 2013 Motion to approve Resolution No. 2013-01.

Chair Chrystal suggested Comm. Hargraves and Comm. Harrington work together on a discussion of state funding of basic need for all school districts, with the assistance of LBC and DCRA staff. Such a discussion would be included in the LBC annual report. Comm. Hargraves and Comm. Harrington agreed to do so.

Chair Chrystal requests a roll call vote.

Yes: Commissioner Wilson and Commissioner Harrington

No: Commissioner Hargraves and Chair Chrystal

Motion failed.

7. Comments from commissioners and LBC staff

- a. Next meeting to approve annual report planned for mid-December to early January 2013.
- b. October 10, 2013 Edna Bay public informational meeting scheduled.
- c. Edna Bay incorporation petition hearing schedule hearing set for May 14 or May 15, 2014, but could be earlier.

ADJOURN

Commissioner Wilson made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Harrington seconded the motion. All those in favor say aye. **Motion carried.**

LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION

LYNN CHRYSTAL, CHAIR

ATTEST:

BRENT WILLIAMS, STAFF or

BRICE ENINGOWUK, STAFF