

State of Alaska Local Boundary Commission

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640, Anchorage, Alaska 99501, 907-269-4559, Fax 907-269-4563

MINUTES FOR LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION PUBLIC MEETING

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 – 9:30 a.m. Atwood Building, 550 West Seventh Avenue, Room 1620 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

ADMINISTRATIVE

1. Call to order

Chair Lynn Chrystal called the meeting to order at 9:36 a.m.

2. Roll call and determination of quorum

LBC staff Brent Williams called the roll and determined that four commissioners, Commissioners John Harrington, Bob Harcharek, Lynn Chrystal, and Darroll Hargraves were present and represented a quorum.

3. Acknowledge guests and staff present

a. Originating site (Anchorage) Present in person were Eileen Collins, Brent Williams (LBC staff); John Nickels, Jed Smith, and Glen Hamburg(Local Government Assistance staff, DCRA); Jim Brennan (Brennan and Heideman); John Sedor (Southwest Region School District).

b. Each individual teleconference site

Present via teleconference were Jim Baldwin (representing City of Clark's Point and Native Villages of Ekuk, Portage Creek, and Clark's Point); Bruce Baltar (Bristol Bay Native Association; Rose Loera, Alice Ruby, Navin Brissram (City of Dillingham); Norm Van Vactor (Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation); Bryce Edgmon (Alaska Representative for District 37, Dillingham); Barbara Sheinberg (Sheinberg Associates representing the City of Dillingham); Melvin Andrew, Nancy George, Mike Minista (City of Manokotak); Melody Nibeck (Local Government Specialist, DCRA); David Piazza, Steven Noonkesser (Southwest Region School District).

4. Approve or amend agenda

Commissioner Harcharek moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Harrington seconded the motion. Brent Williams called the roll and the motion passed unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

1. Approve or amend July 16, 2015 minutes

Commissioner Harrington moved to approve the minutes from July 16, 2015 as presented. Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion. Brent Williams called the roll and the motion passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

1. Public comment regarding issues not on the agenda or before the commission

None



State of Alaska Local Boundary Commission

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640, Anchorage, Alaska 99501, 907-269-4559, Fax 907-269-4563

Consider designating a person as defined by AS 01.10.060 to bring forward a petition for borough incorporation in the Dillingham Census Area

Commissioner Harrington moved that the Local Boundary Commission determine that a petition to incorporate a borough formed with boundaries comparable to those of the Southwest Region School District or the Dillingham Census Area will likely promote the standards established under the Constitution of the State of Alaska, AS 29.04, AS 29.05, AS 29.06, or chapter 3 AAC 110. Filing such a petition is in the best interests of the state because it would give the LBC a fuller array of information and options, given the complex history of petitions to the LBC from this region over the years, the numerous feasibility studies undertaken, and the competing petitions now before the commission. I further move that the Local Boundary Commission designate and direct the Division of Community and Regional Affairs to prepare a petition to incorporate a borough formed with boundaries comparable to the Southwest Region School District or the Dillingham Census Area.

Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion. Discussion followed. The chair heard comments from John Sedor, Alice Ruby, Jim Baldwin, Jim Brennan and Melvin Andrew. Brent Williams called the roll and the commission voted: Commissioners Harrington and Harcharek in favor; Chair Chrystal and Commissioner Hargraves opposed. With a two-two vote, the motion failed.

3. Consider consolidating any such petition with the City of Dillingham's annexation petition

This agenda item was no longer relevant as the previous motion failed.

4. Request for consolidation of an annexation petition from the City of Manokotak with the City of Dillingham's annexation petition

No action was taken on this agenda item.

5. Consideration of waiving 3 AAC 110.700(d) for comments submitted regarding such petitions

Commissioner Harcharek motioned to waive 3 AAC 110.700(d) for comments submitted to the LBC. Commissioner Harrington seconded the motion. Brent Williams called the roll and the motion passed four votes in favor.

6. Comments from commissioners and LBC staff

Commissioner Hargraves suggested that a message to the Legislature be a topic for the November meeting.

Eileen Collins spoke to clarify an issue.

7. Public comment

The commissioners heard from Jim Brennan, and Alice Ruby.

8. Adjourn

Commissioner Harrington moved to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hargraves. Brent Williams called the roll. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.