

State of Alaska Local Boundary Commission

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640, Anchorage, Alaska 99501, 907-269-4559, Fax 907-269-4563

MINUTES FOR LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION PUBLIC MEETING

Friday, September 25, 2015 – 9:30 a.m. Atwood Building, 550 West Seventh Avenue, Room 1656 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

ADMINISTRATIVE

1. Call to order

Chair Lynn Chrystal called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m.

2. Roll call and determination of quorum

Brent Williams called the roll. Four commissioners were initially present: Commissioners John Harrington, Bob Harcharek, Lavell Wilson, and Chair Lynn Chrystal Commissioner Darroll Hargraves arrived at 9:50 a.m.

3. Acknowledge guests and staff present

a. Originating site (Anchorage)

Brent Williams, and Eileen Collins (LBC Staff); Mary Lynn Mascalka (Attorney General's office); Jed Smith, Glen Hamburg, Lynn Kenealy (LGS staff); John Sedor (Southwest Region School District); Jim Brennan (Brennan and Heideman); Ferdinand Sharp; Brooks Chandler (Boyd, Chandler, and Falconer); Jane Angvik; Vic Fischer; Shalome Cederburg (Boards and Commissions);

b. Each individual teleconference site

Melvin Andrew, Moses Toyukak, Mike Minista (City of Manokotak); Adam Berg, Representative Bryce Edgmon (aide and representative for Dillingham area); Norm Van Vactor (Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation); Molly Dischner (KDLG); Bruce Baltar, David Piazza (SWRSD); Robert Heyano (Ekuk Village Council); Jan Levy (filling in for Jim Baldwin); Alice Ruby (City of Dillingham); Melody Nibeck (LGS staff in Dillingham);

4. Approve agenda

Commissioner Harcharek moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Harrington seconded the motion. Brent Williams called the roll and the motion passed with four votes in favor and none against.

NEW BUSINESS

1. Public comment concerning items not on the agenda

Brooks Chandler, attorney for the City of Dillingham, was the only one to comment.

2. Whether to postpone proceedings on Dillingham's annexation petition to allow concurrent consideration of Manokotak's annexation petition, for purposes of consolidating the two petitions under 3 AAC 110.430. Both petitions would then proceed on the same schedule.

Commissioner Wilson moved to postpone proceedings on Dillingham's annexation petition to allow concurrent consideration of Manokotak's annexation petition, for purposes of consolidating the two petitions under 3 AAC 110.430. Both petitions would then proceed on the same schedule. Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion.

With the motion on the table, public comment proceeded. The commission heard comments from the following members of the public:



State of Alaska Local Boundary Commission

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640, Anchorage, Alaska 99501, 907-269-4559, Fax 907-269-4563

Brooks Chandler; Wassillie Gust; Jan Levy; Jane Angvik; Vic Fischer; and Jim Brennan.

Staff then stated their recommendation was approval of the motion.

Commission members asked questions and briefly discussed the issue before calling for a vote. Brent Williams called the roll. All five commissioners voted in favor of the motion and it passed unanimously.

3. Discussion of topics for November LBC meeting

Staff and commissioners discussed details for the upcoming meeting. Comm. Harrington asked if staff could determine between now and then how functional it would be for the LBC to consider borough formation petitions and other things on its own powers. Comm. Harcharek said that the constitution stipulates borough formation throughout the state, and that the Legislature is the assembly for the unorganized borough. He would appreciate insights about how the LBC could stimulate or urge the Legislature to take action on additional borough formations.

4. Comments from commissioners and LBC staff

There were no comments from commissioners or staff.

5. Adjourn

Commissioner Harrington moved to adjourn. Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion. Brent Williams called the roll and the motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned.