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Age _____               or                VA Letter _____              Current PFD _____                     
 
Approved _____              Denied _____             Entered by: ____________________ 
  rev  3.15.22 

Municipality of Anchorage 
2023 Senior Citizen, Disabled Veteran Exemption Application 

AS 29.45.030 (e)-(i)    Exemption up to $150,000 of valuation 
To qualify for tax exemption, property must be applicant’s primary residence and permanent place of abode prior to 
January 1, 2023. Upon initial application, the owner must have been a resident of the State of Alaska for the entire year of 
2022.  In each subsequent year the property must be owned and occupied as the primary residence and permanent place 
of abode for at least 185 days prior to January 1, and when absent, the dwelling is not rented or leased to another.  

Senior Citizen must be 65 on or before December 31, 2022.  New applicants must provide proof of age.   

Disabled Veteran must provide a current VA letter (dated within one year) stating at least a 50% service-connected 
disability. 

Mail to:  Municipality of Anchorage OR Submit in person to:  OR Email to: 
  Property Appraisal   Property Appraisal   propappcs@muni.org 
  P.O. Box 196650   632 West 6th Avenue, Suite 300 
  Anchorage, AK 99519-6650   
 
    For more information call: (907) 343-6770 

Application must be complete and received or postmarked on or before March 15, 2023. 
It is the property owner’s responsibility to ensure receipt of the application by the MOA. 

Property owners are required to notify the assessor of any change in ownership, property use, residency, status of disability or 
other factor affecting qualification for the exemption. 

 
I am applying for:  Senior Citizen    Senior Citizen Widow/Widower (Must be 60 years of age) 

           Disabled Veteran   Disabled Veteran Widow/Widower 
 
Dwelling Type:           Single Family      Condominium  Duplex             Mobile Home             Other: _______ 
 
When did you most recently establish residency in the State of Alaska?  ____________________ 
 
Were you absent from Alaska more than 185 days from December 31, 2021 to Present?                Yes                 No     

Has your property been transferred into a trust?                 Yes   No 

Do you apply for and receive the Alaska PFD?     Yes                   No     

Is any portion of this property used for: Commercial purposes?                  Yes                   No  
                  Rental purposes?                          Yes                   No 

If Yes, what percent is used for commercial or rental purposes?   _____________% 
 
I CERTIFY:  That the information I am supplying on and with this form is TRUE and CORRECT.  That prior to January 1 of 
the year for which this exemption is sought I was a resident of the State of Alaska for the entire year and subsequently will own and 
occupy this property for a minimum of 185 days during each calendar year thereafter and when absent, the dwelling is not rented or 
leased to another. I authorize the Municipality of Anchorage to obtain information necessary to verify my eligibility.  Falsely applying for 
an exemption or failing to notify the Municipal Assessors Office of a change in exemption status may result in payment of back taxes, 
penalties, and interest for prior years. 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT: ________________________________________________ Date: ____________________ 

Real Property Number (Parcel ID Number) Mailing Address Property Site Address, if same as mailing write “same” 

Name of Applicant:  Last Name                            First Name                                       MI Birth Date Daytime Phone Number 

Primary Email Address Secondary Email Address 

mailto:propappcs@muni.org
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Municipality of Anchorage     Senior Citizen Exemption Information 
Timely Applications accepted through March 15th (907) 343-6770, Fax :( 907) 343-6599  www.muni.org/pa  

 
1. Applicant must be 65 years of age on or before December 31st of the prior year for which the exemption is 

sought. 
2. Applicant must have proof of age when filing for the first time.  One of the following: A current Alaska 

driver license or Alaska State ID issued by DMV, birth certificate, naturalization papers, passport, baptismal 
certificate, military discharge papers (DD 214) or an age verification letter from the Social Security office is 
acceptable documentation. If spouse is also a senior, please have them sign the application and 
provide proof of age. 

3. Applicants that have any changes in ownership, in residency, permanent place of abode or other 
factor affecting qualification for the exemption must file each year by March 15th.  If application is not 
received by March 15th, the assessor may accept a late filing if the applicant’s failure to file a timely 
application was caused by a serious medical condition of the applicant, or a member of the 
applicant's immediate family. In addition to the application, the applicant shall also file a letter explaining 
the reason for the late filing.  

4. The application must be filled out completely. 
5. Applicant must own and occupy the property as their primary residence and permanent place of abode 

on January 1 of the assessment year for which the exemption is sought.  Each subsequent year the property 
must be owned and occupied a minimum of 185 days per year as the primary residence and when absent, 
the dwelling is not leased or rented to another. 

6. The applicant may not own other property that is currently or will be receiving a homeowner, Residential, 
Senior Citizen or Disabled Veteran exemption.  

7. Applicant must be a resident of Alaska for the entire year prior to the exemption year. 
8. Widow/Widower: Upon attaining 60 years of age, the widow/widower, of a previous program participant, 

may obtain an exemption under the above requirements.  Must provide copies of marriage and death 
certificates. 

9. If property is recorded into a trust and you are not the recorded trustee:  We do not need a copy of the 
entire trust, but do require a copy of the following pages of the trust:  First page of Trust, Page Designating 
you as the owner/trustee, Page that specifically identifies the property placed into trust, and the 
signature/date witness page. 

10. Change notification:  It is the responsibility of every person who obtains an exemption under this section to 
notify the assessor of any change in ownership, property use, residency, permanent place of abode or other 
factor affecting qualification for the exemption. Failure to notify may result in loss of exemption 
retroactively, payment of back taxes, penalties and interest for prior years. 

11. A qualified senior citizen or disabled veteran need not file an application for successive tax years if there is 
no change in ownership, in residency or permanent place of abode, status of disability, or other factor 
affecting qualification for the exemption. 

12. If we have any questions, you will receive a phone call and/or letter.  Please review your tax bill for the 
exemption.  The tax bill should reference “State Credit”, if it does not; please contact our office immediately 
regarding the exemption. 

AS 29.45.030 
3 AAC 135.085 
AMC 12.15.015 

Other Senior Citizen Resource Agencies 
Older Person’s Action Group     Senior Center      Mabel T. Caverly Center       Aging & Disability Resource Ctr. DHHS 

276-1059          770-2000                 276-1496             343-7770 
 

http://www.muni.org/

