

Commission Call Meeting Minutes
Conference Call
February 7, 2013 – 9:00 am.
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1770 Anchorage, Alaska

Call to Order

Chair Vesel called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

Roll call and determination of quorum

Present: Barb Nickels, Dawn Grossman, Kirsten Franklin-Temple,

Elaine Dahlgren, Jeff Wheaton, Joelle Hall, Justin

Fantasia, Kate Powers, Kirsten Vesel, Leona Grishkowsky, Steve Ricci, Tracey Burke, Marianne Kerr, and Melora

Gaber

A quorum was established.

Excused Absent: Denise Morris, Linda McDevitt

Absent: Lebron McPhail

Guest: Amy Hetrick, Dr. Eileen Lally, and Brenda Bogowith

Corporation for National & Community Service State Program Office: Cat Koehn

Staff present:

In person - Nita Madsen and Jane Ramos

By Phone – Margy Hughes

Introduction of New Commissioner

Marianne Kerr

Introduction of guest present

Amy Hetrick, Senior Program Officer for AmeriCorps State and National Dr. Eileen Lally, International Volunteer Director for Hope Community Resources Brenda Bogowith, Executive Director for Alaska Community Services

Approval to adopt the meeting agenda

Chair asked for a motion to approve the written meeting agenda. Commissioner Dahlgren moved to approve the agenda. Commissioner Grishkowsky seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

Approval of the December 19, 2012 Commission meeting minutes

Chair called for a motion to approve the December 19, 2012 Commission Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Nickels moved for a motion to approve the minutes as written. Commissioner Dahlgren seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

Approval of the January 9, 2013 Commission Decision meeting minutes

Chair called for a motion to approve the January 9, 2013 Commission Decision Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Nickels moved for a motion to approve the

minutes as written. Commissioner Fantasia seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

Chair Report

Commissioner Vesel – *no written report.*

Chair called for a motion to expand the Executive Committee members. Commissioner Nickels moved for a motion to recommend Tracey Burke to be a member of the Executive Committee. Commissioner Wheaton seconded. **Motion Passed** unanimously.

Standing Committee Reports

Commissioner Vesel reported on behalf of the Executive Committee; no written report.

Commissioner Ricci reported on behalf of the Legislative Committee; no written report.

Task Force/Sub-Committee Reports

Commissioner Morris is on an excused absence.

CNCS Alaska State Program Office Report

Kirsten Franklin-Temple reported on behalf of the CNCS and shared Mayors Day of Recognition; no written report.

Staff Reports

Executive Director - Nita Madsen report attached.

Program Coordinator – Margy Hughes *no written report.*

Margy shared FEMA training, Emergency Management Planning Grant and NOFO schedules.

Disability Coordinator/Admin Asst – Jane Ramos no written report.

Jane shared the updated system in tracking and monitoring of Grants payment and AKSAS reconciliation.

Next Steps

Chair Vessel shared the Next Commission Meeting Dates all via teleconference from 9 am-12 noon:

May 8th

Adjournment

Commissioner Hall moved to adjourn the meeting and seconded by Commissioner Wheaton. The **Motion Carried** unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 11:30 am.