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\ THE STATE

"ALASKA

f Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Social Work Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811

(907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Social Worker License Renewal

October 31, 2020— June 30, 2022

* Your license lapses after October 30, 2020. There is no grace period - it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
e  Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form.
¢ Plan on a 4-6 week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.

PART | Payment of Fees

|:| Biennial License Renewal $225.00

Baccalaureate: [ Prorated License Renewal
(for licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2019) $112.50
|:| Biennial License Renewal $275.00

R [ Prorated License Renewal
(for licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2019) $137.50
|:| Biennial License Renewal $325.00

Clinical: [ Prorated License Renewal
(for licenses first issued on or after July 1, 2019) $162.50

PART Il Personal Information

Full Legal Name:
Name change: |

If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a Change of Name form.

Mailing Address:
Address change: O

License Number: Phone Number:

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business
and Professional Licensing, | agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. | understand that failure to check my email account or
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.

. O send my Correspondence by Email
Email Address: :
O send my Correspondence by US Mail

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States
Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be
publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.
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NI/ Professional Fithess Questions

The following question must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in license denial.

If you answer “Yes” please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send any

supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.).

Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

All disciplinary decisions or convictions must be reported to the board within thirty days in accordance with 12 AAC 52.991.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

Since the date your last license was issued or renewed:

1. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on D Yes
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and D No
including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?
2. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For
purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including,
but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving D Yes
without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. “Convicted”
includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo D No
contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or
a fine.
3. Within the past two years have you been the subject of an investigation by any licensing jurisdiction O Yes
or are you currently under investigation by any licensing jurisdiction or is any such action pending? D No
4. Have you experienced or been treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, paranoia, a psychotic D Yes
disorder, substance abuse, or any other mental or emotional illness which may impair or interfere
with your ability to practice as a social worker? D No
. . . O Yes
5. Have you been addicted to or excessively or illegally used alcohol or a controlled substance?
O No
6 . R . . . 0O Yes
. Have you experienced a physical impairment that may make you unfit to practice as a social worker? D N
(o]

Continuing Education

credit has been awarded.

Random Audit

the audit are subject to disciplinary license action.

Your license cannot be renewed unless you have met the continuing education requirements in
Article 2 of 12 AAC 18. You may not claim hours for education not yet successfully completed as of
the date of submitting this application. Per 12 AAC 02.960(j), “successfully completed” means CE

A percentage of license renewal applications will be randomly selected for audit. If selected, you
must submit copies of certificates or other acceptable proof that you satisfied the continuing
education requirements as you have stated on this application. You are required to save your
documents for at least three years so you can respond to audits. Licensees unable to comply with
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YNV Statement of Compliance

All licensees are required to check one of the four boxes in this section and complete the attached continuing education
documentation. Read carefully, and check the box that fits your situation. By checking the appropriate box below, you are
certifying your compliance with the continuing education requirements in Article 2 of 12 AAC 18.

|:> Check one of these boxes if your renewal is postmarked on or before October 30, 2020:

|:| First Time Renewal (Issued on or after April 1, 2018)

| certify that | have successfully completed the required 45 contact hours which includes six hours
of substance abuse education, six hours of cross-cultural education relating to Alaska Natives, and
three hours in professional ethics during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2018, through
October 30, 2018, and prior to submitting this renewal application. If audited, | agree to provide
documentation that verifies | meet this training as claimed.

Renewal (Issued on or before March 31, 2018)

| certify that | have successfully completed the required 45 contact hours which includes six hours
of substance abuse education, six hours of cross-cultural education - at least three hours of which
relate to Alaska Natives, and three hours in professional ethics during the concluding licensing
period of July 1, 2018, through October 30, 2018, and prior to submitting this renewal application.
If audited, | agree to provide documentation that verifies | meet this training as claimed.

|:> Check one of these boxes if your renewal application is postmarked after October 31, 2020, or if you
are applying for reinstatement:

[

Continuing Education Completed During 7/1/2018 - 10/30/2020

| certify that during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2020, | have
successfully completed all of the required hours of continuing education as appropriate, per 12 AAC
18.210.

Continuing Education Completed During 7/1/2018 - 10/30/2020 and/or after 10/31/2020

| certify that during the concluding licensing period of July 1, 2018, through October 30, 2020, OR on
or after October 31, 2020, but prior to submitting this renewal application, | have successfully
completed all of the required hours of continuing education as appropriate, per 12 AAC 18.210. |
understand that any hours claimed to meet this requirement may not be used for any future renewal
period.

08-4290 (Rev. 7/23/2020) Application Page 3 of 4




3\ THE STATE
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PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811

(907) 465-2550

Email: SocialWorkExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/SocialWorkExaminers

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

CSW

Signature Page

Applicant Name:

PART V Agreement

documents submitted herewith are true and correct.

the crime of unsworn falsification.

otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

| hereby certify that | am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that | have read the complete

application, and | know the full content thereof. | declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other

| understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto,

or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or

| further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit

Signature:

Date:
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APPLICATION INFORMATION

CSW Information

LICENSE TERM

There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and
expire on June 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the
expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license
expiration to the last known address of record. If your program offers temporary licenses, they are issued for either 30
consecutive days or until the end of the calendar year, whichever period is shorter.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING

The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in
this office, complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete,
the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and
correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid the license will be issued and sent to you.
Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office,
and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

“YES” RESPONSES

A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any
professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document
and judgement.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board,
federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of
address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record
with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on
the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license
and/or court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy,
you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy
of the original document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize
your signature.
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SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS

In accordance with AS 08.01.060, the department is not authorized to issue a license to a natural person, unless the applicant’s
Social Security Number has been provided to the department. If you are a foreign citizen unable to obtain a United States Social
Security Number, please contact the division for further instructions or obtain the Exception from SSN Requirement (Form #08-
4372), from the division web site at www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/.

PUBLIC INFORMATION

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential
by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at
Professionallicense.Alaska.gov under License Search.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last
received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment,
the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a
refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within
that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

TELEMEDICINE/TELEHEALTH SERVICES

Any business providing telemedicine/telehealth services, as defined in AS 44.33.381, is required to register with the Telemedicine
Business Registry. To be registered, complete form 08-4694 provided by the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

BUSINESS LICENSES
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for
business licenses are mailed separately. For more information contact: (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website:
Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with
your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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ARTICLE 2.
LICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION

Section.

200. License renewal requirements

210. Continuing education requirement

220. Approved continuing education activities
230. Audit of continuing education requirements

12 AAC 18.200. LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS. An applicant for renewal of a license under this chapter shall

(1) complete a renewal application on a form provided by the department;

(2) pay the license renewal fee established in 12 AAC 02.155; and

(3) submit a sworn statement of the continuing education contact hours completed during the concluding licensing period, which must include the following
information, when applicable, for each course, seminar, or workshop:

the name of the sponsoring organization;

the location of the course, seminar, or workshop;

the title or a brief description of the course, seminar, or workshop;

the principal instructor;

the dates of attendance;

the titles, issues, and dates of publications or presentations; and

the number of continuing education contact hours claimed.

OMPmMmoOw>

12 AAC 18.220. APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES.

(a) To be accepted by the board, continuing education must contribute directly to the professional competency of a social worker and must be directly related to
the skills and knowledge required to implement social work principles and methods as defined in AS 08.95.990.
(b) The following continuing education activities are acceptable if they are related to social work in accordance with (a) of this section:
(1) postgraduate courses in social work given by an academic institution either audited or for credit;
(2) courses offered by or certified by the Association of Social Work Boards;
(3) courses offered by or certified by the National Association of Social Workers or any state chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.
(4) courses offered by a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education;
(5) seminars, workshops, or mini-courses offered by professional organizations;
(6) cross-disciplinary courses, seminars, or workshops in the fields of medicine, law, behavioral sciences, or other disciplines;
(7) other courses not covered under (1) — (6) of this subsection that are specifically preapproved by the board, up to a maximum of 15 contact hours;
(8) first-time preparation and presentation of a social work course, seminar, or workshop, up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all social
workers and other professionals involved; and
(9) first time presentation or publication of an article or book chapter related to the practice of social work that was presented at a state or national
association meeting or published by a publisher recognized by the profession, up to a maximum of 10 contact hours allocated among all social workers
and other professionals involved.
(c) Hours spent in job orientation may not be accepted as continuing education contact hours.

12 AAC 18.230. AUDIT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

(a) After each renewal period the board will, in its discretion, audit renewal applications to monitor compliance with the continuing education requirements of this
chapter.

(b) Alicensee selected for audit shall, within 30 days from the date of notification, submit documentation to verify completion of the contact hours claimed under
12 AAC 18.210.

(c)  Anapplicant for renewal is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed records of all continuing education hours claimed and shall make them available
to the board upon request under this section. Records must be retained for three years after the date the continuing hours were earned.
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THE STATE FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

== "ALASKA

State of Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information.
Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Program Type: License Number (if applicable):

| wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT
|:| Application Fee:

[ ] License or Renewal Fee:

|:| Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):

1.
2.
TOTAL:
Name (as shown on credit card):
Mailing Address:
Phone Number: Email (optional):
Signature of Credit Card Holder:
08-4438 Rev 12/26/18 Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed!

All 3 fields MUST
be completed!

2. Expiration Date: This section will be

3. Security Code: . destroyed after the
payment is processed.
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