THE STATE Department of Commerce, Community,
O%L ASI( A and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL
LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806
Main: 907.465.2550

Fax: 907.465.2974

GOVERNOR BILL WALKER

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
Proposed Regulations - FAQ
June 2015

1. Why are new fees being proposed?

By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program operations.
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the
adjustments.”

This analysis of current revenues and expenditures for this licensing program revealed a deficit will occur
during the next biennial licensing period if fees are not adjusted. The division proposes increasing licensing
fee amounts in order to comply with the statute listed above, as well as to continue to deliver its current level
of service for the barbers and hairdressers licensing program.

The Director of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing will adopt fees after
considering all public comments. The Board of Barbers and Hairdressers reviewed the proposed increases at
its May 2015 meeting having not made clear its position on the matter. Fees will become effective on
September 1, 2015, so all renewal applications received before the lapse date of August 31 may pay the
current rate. The division will post this information on the web site and begin receipting fees at that time.

2. How may an individual or organization provide feedback on the proposed regulations?
Will I get a response?

On June 1, 2015, the division proposed fees for the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers licensing program. All
comments are due to the division’s regulations specialist, Jun Maiquis, in writing before the public comment

period closes at 4:30 on July 2. Comments may be provided to jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.

This information has been posted in the Alaska Online Public Notice System and was mailed to all licensees
and interested parties. A copy of the proposed regulations has also been posted at

professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardofBarbersHairdressers.


http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardofBarbersHairdressers
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3. What are the proposed fees for licensure?

Fees proposed for the 2015-2017 licensing period are below. Fees in bold and underlined are proposed;
those without such treatment are current fees.

12 AAC 02.140. Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. (a) The following fees are established:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for
(A) initial license, $150 [$80];
(B) courtesy license, $80;
(2) temporary permit fee, $100 [$80];
(3) fee for student permit, student instructor permit, or apprenticeship that is
valid for
(A) one year, $100 [$25];
(B) two years, $125 [$50];
(4) barber, hairdresser, esthetician, advanced manicurist, or instructor written
examination fee, $60 [$35];
(5) barber, hairdresser, esthetician, or instructor practical examination fee, $60;
(6) temporary license fee, $100 [$80];
(7) written examination fee for practitioners of body piercing or practitioners of
tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $60;
(8) temporary shop license fee, $100 [$80];
(9) courtesy license for practitioners of body piercing or for practitioners of
tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $80.
(b) The following license fees are established for all or part of the initial biennial license period:
(1) barber or hairdresser, $180 [$140];
(2) esthetician, $180 [$140];
(3) instructor, $260 [$220];
(4) shop owner, $260 [$220];
(5) school and school owner combined, $660 [$620];
(6) manicurist, $180 [$140];
(7) advanced manicurist endorsement, $60;
(8) practitioner of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $180 [$140];
(9) practitioner of body piercing, $180 [$140].
(c) The following biennial license renewal fees are established:
(1) barber or hairdresser, $180 [$140];
(2) esthetician, $180 [$140];
(3) instructor, $260 [$220];
(4) shop owner, $260 [$220];
(5) school and school owner combined, $660 [$620];
(6) manicurist, $180 [$140];
(7) advanced manicurist endorsement, $60;
(8) practitioner of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $180 [$140];
(9) practitioner of body piercing, $180 [$140].
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4. How are the estimated costs determined? What do licensing fees pay for?

AS 08.01.065 requires all costs of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The regulatory
requirements enacted in other states have no bearing on Alaska’s state statute; therefore, the cost of licensure
in another state is not a reasonable barometer of what should be charged in Alaska.

The proposed fees are based on the known costs of a similarly sized and structured licensing program. The
law requires massage therapists to adhere to many provisions, and it gives ample authority to the board to
determine many of the requirements of licensure. For example:

The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail
adherence to the state’s recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.
Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the license
examiner and referred to the agency’s investigative unit, if necessary for further review.

Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state licensing
statutes or regulations or individual practices athletic training without a license. Because state law
requires all costs of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of that program (AS 08.01.065),
any investigative, attorney, or appeal expenses of the state will be recovered in the licensing fee.

AS 08.61 defers to the board to adopt necessary regulations for management of the licensing program.
This requires board and investigator travel, legal support, and other resources the board and division
need to comply with the expectations of law. The Alaska Administrative Code prescribes the
requirements for public notice and adoption of agency regulations—the cost of which is borne by the
licensing program.

Do you have a question that is not answetred here? Please email jun.maiquis@alaska.gov so it can be added.


mailto:jun.maiquis@alaska.gov

