THE STATE Department of Commerce, Community,

of and Economic Development
ALASKA DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND

PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

GOVERNOR BIiLL WALKER

P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Main: 907.465.2550
Fax: 907.465.2974

June 17, 2016

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations. ..to implement the
adjustments.”

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to
comply with the statute listed above: to bring the program sustainably out of deficit and to continue to deliver
the current level of service of the chiropractic licensing program. Program expenses have slowly been
depleting its surplus for several years, and the program will be in deficit by the end of this fiscal year. The
Board of Chiropractic Examiners reviewed the fee analysis at its May 20, 2016, meeting and recommended
changes which the Division took under advisement. The proposed fees amounts are enclosed and can also
be found on the Board’s web page

at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web /cbpl/Professionall icensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx

In 2006, the program licensing fees were $730 per biennium. In 2008, the fees decreased to $500 and
decreased again in 2010 to the fee amounts in existence today. The proposed increase in fees is still lower
than the 20006 license fee. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, this increase will stabilize the program and
prevent the need for an even larger increase later.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the
regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall’s license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110800, Juneau, AK 99811
ot RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

|

Janey Hovenden
Director

Encl.


https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS IN
THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY,
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to chiropractors.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners, including the following:

12 AAC 02.150, Board of Chiropractic Examiners, is proposed to be changed to alter the
application, license, renewal, permit, examination, specialty designation, courtesy license, continuing
education course approval, and delayed renewal penalty fees for chiropractors.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of
Chiropractic Examiners and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of
the activities related to the program.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/181903, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on July 22, 2016. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the
Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before
the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Department’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx
or on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is not required to, answer
written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov not later than July 15,
2016 to ensure that any necessary accommaodations can be provided.

For a copy of the proposed regulation changes, contact Jun Maiquis at the address or phone number
above, or go to https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/CHI-Fees-2016.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and
guestions received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.20.180; AS 08.20.185
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065; AS
08.01.100; AS 08.20.180; AS 08.20.185



Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: 6/17/16 /sl
Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.150.

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person: Increase will range from $25 to $200 depending on type of license.
Another state agency: None known.
A municipality: None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2016 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation:
Sara Chambers, Division Operations Manager
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-2144
E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

11. Date: 6/17/16 Prepared by: /sl
Jun Maiquis
Regulations Specialist
(907) 465-2537




Register , 2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.150 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.150. Board of Chiropractic Examiners. (a) The following fees are
established for chiropractors:
(1) application fee for
(A) initial license, $250 [$150];
(B) locum tenens permit, $250 [$50];
(C) any courtesy license, $250 [$50];
(2) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $600 [$450];
(3) biennial license renewal fee, $600 [$450];
(4) temporary permit fee, $150 [$100];
(5) examination fee, $200 [$100];
(6) locum tenens permit fee, $150 [$100];
(7) inactive license fee, $150 [$100];
(8) retired status license fee, $150 [$100];
(9) specialty designation fee, $50 [$25];
(10) fee for any courtesy license, $150 [$100];
(11) continuing education course approval fee, $125 [$50];
(12) continuing education course change approval fee, $50 [$25];
(13) delayed renewal penalty fee, $100 [$50].

(b) The peer review fee charged to a complainant is $50. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100;

6/2/16 Draft 1
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am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96,
Register 140; am 2/21/97, Register 141; am 11/27/98, Register 148; am 1/14/2001, Register 157,
am 6/17/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am 11/15/2002, Register 164; am
8/20/2004, Register 171; am 10/15/2004, Register 172; am 12/12/2008, Register 188; am

1/29/2009, Register 189; am 11/21/2010, Register 196; am 11/28/2010, Register 196; am

] , Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.062 AS 08.01.100 AS 08.20.185

AS 08.01.065 AS 08.20.180

6/2/16 Draft 2
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