COLLECTION AGENCY ONLINE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS

e For licenses expiring 6/30/2016

e Renewal period 7/1/2016- 6/30/2018

e Licenses not renewed will lapse after 6/30/16.

e Thereis no grace period. Itis unlawful to work with a lapsed license.

ONLINE RENEWAL

You must know your license number to renew online. If you do not know your license number, you may find it
on the Division’s website at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/Main/CBPLSearch.aspx?mode=Prof

Complete all sections of the online renewal. Payment is made by credit card. We accept Visa and MasterCard.
If you are unable to submit an online renewal, you must submit a paper renewal which may be found on the
Collection Agency webpage.

If you answer “yes” to any of the professional fitness questions on the renewal, you will not be allowed to
proceed and must submit a paper application.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on
file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a
social security number, your license may not be renewed online. Please download the Request for Exception
from SSN Requirement form from the Division webpage and the paper renewal from the Pawnbroker
webpage. Fill out both forms and submit with the renewal fee by mail.

Division’s website: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx

Collection Agency website:
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/CollectionAgencies.aspx

PAPER APPLICATIONS

If you must submit a paper application, complete all sections of the paper renewal, sign and date and submit
with the proper payment to the address on the top of the first page of the form. Processing of paper
applications takes up to three weeks after receipt. If you use a paper application, please plan accordingly to
ensure your license is renewed by 6/30/16.

LATE RENEWAL PENALTY

If you do not renew your license online or postmark your completed paper application by 8/30/16, you will be
required to pay a LATE RENEWAL PENALTY of $50. It is unlawful to work with a lapsed license.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF RENEWED LICENSE

The effective date of a renewed license will be the date a complete renewal application is filed with the
Division as determined by 12 AAC 02.920 and 12 AAC 02.940.


https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/cbp/Main/CBPLSearch.aspx?mode=Prof
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/CollectionAgencies.aspx

GENERAL INFORMATION

BUSINESS LICENSES: The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated
business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed or available online separately. For
more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2559 or online at BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has
determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license
valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office
at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program is available
online at Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov/CollectionAgencies

REGULATIONS CHANGES: If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulations changes for this
program, please send a written request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email) and the
program you want to be updated on to:

Regulations Specialist
Department of Commerce, Community & Economic
Development Division of Corporations, Business &
Professional Licensing
PO Box 110806
Juneau, Alaska
99811-0806



