Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Courtesy licenses for emergency or temporary situations are offered by many boards; please see the table below for

details. Emergency courtesy licenses may be issued only for a limited scope in response to an urgent situation.
“Urgent situation” means a health crisis affecting all or part of the state that requires increased availability of
healthcare providers as determined by the board. It is not dependent upon an official declaration by the governor and

cannot be used for another purpose. Full applications and requirements can be found online.
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Emergency Courtesy License* Six months + can be renewed for six $110 12 AAC 40.045
e Physician, osteopath, podiatrist | months or until the board determines the
e Physician Assistant emergency to no longer exist S70
e Paramedic (MICP)
Expanded MICP scope of practice Until December 31, 2021 N/A Authorized by the
board 2-19-21
Current licensing period extended Until April 1, 2021 N/A Director order
Emergency Courtesy License* 120 days + can be renewed for 120 days; $100 12 AAC 44.318
e Registered Nurse expires no later than 18 months of initial
e Advanced Practice Registered issue
Nurse
e Licensed Practical Nurse
Current licensing period extended* | Until March 1, 2021 N/A 12 AAC 44.315
Emergency Permit* 90 days $100 12 AAC52.110
e Pharmacist
e Pharmacy technician
e Pharmacy intern
Emergency Courtesy License* 120 days + can be renewed for 120 days SO 12 AAC 62.450
e Professional Counselor
Emergency Courtesy License* 120 days + can be renewed for 120 days $250 12 AAC 60.036
e Psychologist
e Psychological Associate
Emergency Courtesy License* 120 days + can be renewed for 120 days $350 12 AAC 19.210
e Marital and Family Therapist
Emergency Courtesy License* 90 days + can be renewed for 90 days $85 12 AAC18.111
e Clinical Social Worker
Emergency Courtesy License* 120 days $1000 | 12 AAC 14.125

e Direct-Entry Midwife

* Adopted as emergency and permanent regulations, effective immediately upon filing. Information subject to change.
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https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx

Telehealth & Licensing During COVID-19

Check regulations, web page, and application for complete details on qualifications, scope of practice, applicable
laws, and application requirements. Qualifications generally include current, unencumbered license in another
jurisdiction. May vary by license type and will require a complete application and payment of fees. Visit
professionallicense.alaska.gov and click on your licensing program to access additional information, including
contacts for your licensing program.

Full licensure is available for all health care professions. Some professions also offer temporary licenses while
awaiting an exam. Please visit professionallicense.alaska.gov to find yours. Please allow enough time to process your
permanent license application before expiry of a courtesy license or waiver. Note that some processes may be
delayed or unavailable in the case of sickness or office closure. Every effort is being made to offer online services
and/or reassign staff to meet the licensing needs of primary care professions.

Practice under any professional license is subject to the laws of the State of Alaska. Be sure you are informed prior
to working.

Businesses offering telemedicine or telehealth must hold a valid Alaska business license and comply with other Alaska
laws pertaining to business practices.

Any business offering telemedicine or telehealth must be listed on the Telemedicine Business Registry. This simple
form can be downloaded here. Licenses and telemedicine registrations can be verified here.

Many boards have also eliminated unnecessary administrative burdens such as notary requirements on license
applications.

The division and our partner licensing boards are working to identify opportunities to ensure access to health care for
those who are sick and to address economic hardships to licensees. If you have suggestions or questions, please
navigate directly to your program at professionallicense.alaska.gov. For fastest response, send a message directly to
the program’s email address. You may email our general delivery box at license@alaska.gov, or contact our front
office at (907)269-8160 or (907) 465-2550. Please note that volume is currently high, and you may experience a delay
if contacting us by phone.

COVID CONSCIOUS

For more information on professional licensing during the coronavirus pandemic, please visit
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/CBPLCOVID-19Information.aspx.

For statewide updates on the coronavirus pandemic, visit covid19.alaska.gov.

For additional information, visit professionallicense.alaska.gov.
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