THE STATE
of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Dispensing Opticians Program
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: DispensingOpticians@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians

Dispensing Optician Apprentice Registration Application Instructions

Before starting an apprenticeship, the apprentice shall register by submitting this form in its entirety.
The following must be received by the division before your application for Dispensing Optician Apprentice Registration
can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION
A signed, completed application (#08-4002, pages 1-3).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”
Nonrefundable Application Fee: S 50.00
Apprentice Registration Fee: $250.00
Total Fees Due: $300.00

3. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS
A completed Authorization for Release of Records form (#08-4002a).

4. STATEMENT OF RESPONSIBILITY
A completed Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4754) completed and submitted by the licensed instructor (supervisor) who
must hold a current license in Alaska as a dispensing optician, optometrist, or physician.

OTHER INFORMATION
Read the applicable statutes and regulations pertaining to apprenticeships (AS 08.71.160; AS 08.71.240; 12 AAC 30.110; and 12 AAC
30.900).

No hours of apprentice training earned before registering as a dispensing optician apprentice in Alaska will be counted toward the
1,800-hour requirement in AS 08.71.110(a)(2)(A).

Documentation of any hours of apprentice training or employment as a dispensing optician outside of Alaska must be verified on a
form provided by the department (#08-4002b) at the time of initial registration for review by the department.

"Regular Supervision" means the licensed supervisor (1) is physically present at the same site as the person being supervised at least
once each day while dispensing optician tasks are being performed by the supervisee; (2) frequently observes and reviews the
supervisee's performance of those tasks; (3) ensures that the supervisee performs all dispensing optician’s tasks correctly under the
supervision of the supervisor; (4) is not away from the location where the supervision takes place for more than two hours each day.
No more than two apprentices may be under the supervision of one licensed dispensing optician at the same time.

If the apprenticeship training is interrupted or discontinued, this office MUST be notified within 30 days to avoid a loss of training
hours. The new sponsor must submit a Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4754) to register the apprentice under a new sponsor.
Training hours under the new supervisor will not be accepted until the form and fees have been received by the department.

At the end of training or a change in supervisors, it is the apprentice's responsibility to give the former sponsor an Apprentice
Verification of Out-of-State Training (form #08-4002b) for their completion; no hours will be considered by the department until the
department office receives this completed form. The department will review and notify the apprentice of approval in writing.
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General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been
received and all fees have been paid, the registration may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing
time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

REGISTRATION TERM:

Registrations are issued for a two-year period and expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except
registrations issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice
will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before registration expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure
to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a registrant from the responsibility of renewing a registration on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A “yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “yes” to any professional
fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation showing final disposition of charge(s) (e.g.
court records, fitness letters, etc.).

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:
Be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or
local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name.
Name and address change notification forms are available on the division’s website. The address of record with the division will be
used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the registration must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.060 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional registration is issued. If you do
not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located
at ProfessionallLicense.Alaska.Gov.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:
All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial
registration and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe,
no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov.

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website:
Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred
contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email:
RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.
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Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Dispensing Opticians Program
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians

Dispensing Optician Apprentice Registration Application

If you are currently registered as an apprentice dispensing optician in the state of Alaska and want to change your sponsor you must
use the Statement of Responsibility form (#08-4754).

J\:y N |Bl Payment of Fees

Required Fees: [ Application and Registration Fee ($50 is Non-Refundable) $300.00

4NIBN Personal Information

Full Legal Name:

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases). If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s).

[ Not Applicable
[] other Names Used:

Mailing Address:

Contact Phone: Date of Birth:

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my registration or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing, | agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. | understand failure to check my email account
or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain
licensure.

q D Send my Correspondence Electronicall
Email Address: Select One: B P i

D Send my Correspondence by Mail

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.

. :4NI|I Employment Information

Place of
Employment:

Physical Address:

Supervisor Name:

License Number: License Type: |:| Optometry |:| Dispensing Optician |:| Physician
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L UINIVAN Out-of-State Training

List any previous dispensing optician experience received outside the State of Alaska. Only out-of-state training documented at the
time of initial registration will be considered towards registration for dispensing optician.

Start Date End Date Name of Optical Company Hours Earned

::YA"A Professional Fithess Questions

The following questions must be answered. “Yes” answers may not automatically result in registration denial.

For each “yes” response to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of explanation form
(#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and
specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each “yes” answer documented below.
Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal
law.

When in doubt, disclose and explain.

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime, or is any
such action pending? For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a
military offense, including (but not limited to) a conviction involving driving under the influence
(DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a D Yes D No
suspended or revoked license. “Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge
or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given
probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.

2. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in D Yes D No
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and
including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?

3. Areyou currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or
that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice as a dispensing opticians apprentice D Yes D No
in a competent, ethical and professional manner?

If you answered “yes” to question 3, in addition to your personal statement, you must
[ "Yes" Answers ] submit a statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safely practice

as a dispensing opticians apprentice. Applications submitted without the appropriate
attachments will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

Alaska Law

] | hereby certify | have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession
(AS 08.71 and 12 AAC 30).
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Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Dispensing Opticians Program
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians

Signature Page

Applicant Name:

Alaska Re.glstratlon [0 Application in Process
Number (if known):

AR/ Agreement

| hereby certify | am the person herein named and subscribing to this application. | further certify | have read the complete

application, and | know the full content thereof. | declare all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents
submitted herewith are true and correct.

| understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or

falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise
disciplining a license, registration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

| further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of
unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

Date Signed:
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THE STATE
of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Dispensing Opticians Program
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: DispensingOpticians@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians

Authorization for Release of Records

I hereby authorize the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators to examine
my employment, educational records, and records pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits and/or settlements, and any law
enforcement records pertaining to me and discuss them with persons having possession of them. | also expressly permit and
authorize the release of any and all such records pertaining to me to the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and
Professional Licensing and its investigators.

| authorize the division to discuss my records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the division in
connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations deemed
appropriate by the division.

| request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records to
the division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska.

This authorization is given expressly in connection with the application (initial, renewal, reactivation) for issuance of a
dispensing optician apprentice registration.

| hereby release you, your organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development,
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing and its investigators, and all others directly and/or indirectly

involved in this matter from any liability or damage which may result from furnishing the information requested.

This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below.

Name:

Full Address:

Phone: Date of Birth:
Email:

Signature: Date Signed:
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Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Dispensing Opticians Program
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: DispensingOpticians@Alaska.Gov
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/DispensingOpticians

Apprentice Verification of Out-of-State Training

The department will, in its discretion, accept out of state apprenticeship training hours received before registration when those hours
are documented at the time of initial registration and are verified by the department, before beginning an apprenticeship in the state

in accordance with 12 AAC 30.110(c). Incomplete forms will be returned.

This form must be completed AND submitted by your supervisor(s). It cannot be submitted by the apprentice.

PART I Personal Information

i Registration
A N :
pprentice Name e
Business Name: Phone
Number:
Mailing Address:
Supervisor Name: License
P ' Number:
License Type: [0 Optometrist [ Dispensing Optician O wb/po

If Dispensing Optician,
Licensed For:

D Contacts

[ Seectacles

D Both

Contacts Training Start
Date:

Contacts Training
End Date:

Total Hours of
Contacts Training:

Spectacles Training
Start Date:

Spectacles
Training End Date:

Total Hours of

Spectacles Training:

Comments:

.| Spectacles Training

Identify any skills or operations you have personally observed. 12 AAC 30.120(a)(1)-(14):
(a) Apprenticeship training under AS 08.71.110 relating to spectacles must include instruction in the following subject areas. Initial
each area the apprentice has been trained in.

Subject Area

Supervisor Initials

1. Customer relations, including communication and interaction

2. Knowledge and application of basic optical concepts and principles;

08-4002b (Rev. 04/18/2025)
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A NIEN Spectacles Training (continued)

3. Knowledge and application of practical anatomy and physiology

4. Knowledge and implications of common ophthalmic disorders

5. Knowledge of frame and lens materials and application of materials based on the selection of
ophthalmic products

6. Applicable laws and regulations relating to the practice of dispensing opticianry in the state

7. Customer instruction on the care and use of ophthalmic products, with emphasis on health and safety

8. Interpretation of prescriptions

9. Proper fitting of spectacles to the customer

10. Selection of spectacles with consideration of the customer’s lifestyle, occupation, cosmetic needs, and
the availability of ophthalmic products

11. Knowledge and application of instruments and measurements necessary to fit or adjust spectacles to
the customer

12. Knowledge and use of optical equipment to verify specifications of optical goods, including a
lensometer, calipers, lens clock, and other measuring devices

13. Management skills necessary for record keeping, billing, and the ordering of optical goods and
supplies

14. Knowledge and use of aseptic techniques

J.UANI|I Contact Lens Training

Identify any skills or operations you have personally observed. 12 AAC 30.120(b)(1)-(14):
(b) Apprenticeship training under AS 08.71.110 relating to contact lens must include instruction in the following subject areas.
Initial each area the apprentice has been trained in.

records

Subject Area Supervisor Initials
1. Customer relations, including communication and interaction
2. Knowledge and application of basic optical concepts and principles;
3. Knowledge and application of practical anatomy and physiology
4. Knowledge and implications of common ophthalmic disorders
5. Applicable laws and regulations relating to the practice of dispensing opticianry in the state
6. Interpretation of prescriptions
7. Obtaining and documenting the customer’s relevant medical history through oral interview and

08-4002b (Rev. 04/18/2025) Verification of Out-of-State Training
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J.UANI|I Contact Lens Training (continued)

8.

Assessment of the technical aspects of the customer’s ocular status for contact lens wear by using
instruments or other methods to determine appropriate contact lens options

Knowledge of instruments used to determine the customer’s contact lens options, including proper
calibration of instruments, evaluation of instrument readings and application to the customer’s needs

10.

Selection of contact lens material and design based on previously gathered information to conduct
diagnostic lens evaluation, if trial fitting is deemed beneficial

11.

Insertion of trial contact lens material and evaluation of subjective and objective findings to determine
appropriate lens selection

12,

Determination of contact lens parameters using the results obtained from the diagnostic contact lens
trial fitting and evaluation of the objective findings and the customer’s subjective responses to fitting
so that the appropriate contact lens may be ordered

13.

Knowledge of instruments and recognized standards necessary to verify contact lens parameters by
comparing contact lens ordered to assure accuracy

14,

Education of the customer on all aspects of contact lens wear including disinfection, storage, care,
maintenance of contact lenses and supplies, and wearing schedules by providing verbal and written
instructions and hands on practice with contact lenses to encourage compliance

Notarized Signature

| hereby certify the above apprentice received the hours of training listed above in accordance with 12 AAC 30.120 and | have
complied with the supervision of apprentice requirements in accordance with 12 AAC 30.125. | understand this report is subject
to audit.
—————————
| : Printed Name: Title:
| |
: | | Signature:
I
| | | Notary Public for Subscribed and Sworn to
: | | state of: Before me on this Day:
| .
| | Notary Signature: My .Commlsswn
e 4 Expires:
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THE STATE
of A I A SI Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Professional Licensing
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: (907) 465-2550

Email: License@Alaska.Gov
Website: Professionallicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness “Yes” Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness “yes” answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but
concealing one may be.

Each “yes” answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form,
even if you have previously provided it.

Explanations include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances.
If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.

Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your
professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.),
and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check “yes” to any of the
questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).

Disciplinary actions may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation,
reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning,
caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple “yes” answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this
form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

<:| Write the professional fitness question number you are answering “yes” to in the box.

Location of Incident: Date of Incident:

Explanation of Incident:

When in doubt, disclose
and explain.

Make copies as necessary.

Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident?

O
O
O

Court Orders |:| Consent Agreements |:| Disciplinary Actions |:| Charging Documents

Court Records [ Fitness to Practice [J Al Other Documentation Related to This Incident

| have additional incidents for this “yes” answer, or “yes” answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached
a separate copy of this form for each incident.

Full Name: Program:

Signature: Date Signed:
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Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this credit card payment
form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture): License Number (if applicable):

| wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply): AMOUNT

|:| Application Fee:

|:| License or Renewal Fee:

|:| Other (fine, exam, etc.):

TOTAL:

Name (as shown on credit card):

Mailing Address:

Phone Number: Email (Optional):

Signature of Credit Card Holder: X

08-4438 (Rev. 11/21/2024) Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) Page 1 of 1

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed.

1. Credit Card Number:
All 3 fields MUST be completed.

o BAEL LS This section will be destroyed after the

payment is processed.

3. Security Code:
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