
Alaska Board of Nursing
Discipline Guidelines

Board/ 
Occupation

Required to 
complete 
deficient 
CE

Mandatory 
Audit for 

next 2 
renewals

Reprimand License
Suspension   Civil Fine

Continuing 
Competency 

Violations      
NUR           

RN/LPN

Yes Yes Yes

Yes.  Until 
satisfactory 

documentation 
of deficient CE 

is received

$3,000 MAXIMUM AMOUNT comprised of two elements $2,000 fine 
for falsifications on the application (up to $1500 of this amount may be 
suspended based on the gravity of the offense)  plus $100 per credit 
hour lacking up to a $1000 maximum. (see minutes March 2002 BD 

MTG / Reaffirmed June 8, 2007 minutes)
This motion was superceded by the October 2012 resolution  -     

see below

Continuing 
Competency 

Violations      
NUA Nurse Aide

Yes Yes Yes

Yes.  Until 
satisfactory 

documentation 
of deficient CE 

is received

$2,000 MAXIMUM AMOUNT comprised of two elements $1,500 fine 
for falsification on the application (up to $2,350 of this amount may be 

suspended based on the gravity of the offense) plus $50 per credit hour 
lacking up to $500 maximum. (see minutes December 15, 2000 BD 

MTG)
This motion was superceded by the October 2012 resolution  -     

see below

Continuing 
Competency 

Violations 
10/1/2012

Chemical 
dependency or 

drug abuse 
issues

RESOLVED that the Board of Nursing for the State of 
Alaska, under authority 08.01.075(a)(8) establishes the following civil fines against licensees who do not meet continuing 
competency regulations per Article 6 or 12 AAC 44.825:  A fine of  $2,500 for ANPs and CRNAs, $2,000 for RNs, $1,500 for 

LPNs, and $500 for CNAs. This goes into effect beginning with the 2012 renewal audit cycle.

A standard 5 year probation on Consent Agreements, with the provision that the licensee could petition for early release from the 
Consent Agreement by presenting to the Board appropriate written documentation of successful treatment.  
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Civil Fines for Unlicensed Practice – effective 1/18/2013 

Civil Fines for Unlicensed Practice

Days CNAs LPNs RNs ANPs/CRNAs

1‐90 $500 $1,500 $3,000 $5,000

91‐180 $1,000 $2,000 $5,000 $7,500

181‐365 $1,500 + 7 day 
suspension

$3,000 + 7 day 
suspension

$7,500  + 7  day 
suspension

$10,000 + 7 
day suspension

> 1YEAR $2,500 $ 4,000 $7,500 + 
$500/month

$10,000 + 
$1,000/month

All violators
receive a 
reprimand

Civil fines 
double for 
repeat  
violations

Discipline to be 
commensurate 
with severity of 
violation

Effective 
1/18/2013
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