

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

INSTRUCTIONS:

- 1.) Review your mailing address; if your current address is different than what appears on the online renewal webpage, delete the auto-populated address and enter your new address. After completing your online renewal, this will automatically update your file with our Division. This is your opportunity to change your address without submitting a Change of Address form and \$5.00 fee required if you want a duplicate print of your license to reflect the most updated address. If you have an address change after the renewal period, you will be required to submit the address form.
- 2.) Please enter a valid e-mail address in the space provided. This is becoming increasingly important as the Division transitions to electronic communication as a more common form of contacting licensees.
- 3.) Answer the professional fitness questions to the best of your knowledge. If in doubt, disclose. For all questions in which you respond with a "yes" answer, you will need to provide a written statement including the dates, locations, and circumstances. Depending on the nature of the question, you may need to provide a "Fitness to Practice" letter from your primary care physician indicating your ability to practice safely and competently. You may also be required to submit any/all supporting documents, including court records, judging documents, and evidence of compliance with court-mandated fines or other actions. If you answer "yes" to any of the professional fitness questions, you will not be able to continue with the online renewal; you must submit a paper form.
- 4.) Depending on your program statutes and regulations, you may be required to report every instance of continuing education activity, or you may only be required to answer to a checkbox affidavit. If an answer is required, you will not be able to move through your online renewal until you have provided a response.

GENERAL INFORMATION:

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOAN - If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Post-Secondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Post-Secondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues.

PUBLIC INFORMATION – Please be aware that all information on this renewal form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Licensee information, including mailing addresses, is available on the division's website at: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx under License Search.

BUSINESS LICENSES – Renewal applications for business licenses are processed separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or go to http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/BusinessLicensing.aspx.

AUDIT REQUIREMENTS:

12 AAC 02.960. AUDIT OF COMPLIANCE WITH CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS -

(e) A licensee selected for audit under (c) or (d) of this section will be notified by the department. Within 30 days of notification, the licensee shall submit to the department, documentation to verify completion of the continuing competency activities claimed on the statement submitted with the application for license renewal. The documentation must include a valid copy of a certificate or similar verification of satisfactory completion of the continuing competency activities claimed that provides

- (1) the name of the licensee;
- (2) the amount of continuing competency credit awarded;
- (3) a description of the continuing competency activity;
- (4) the dates of actual participation or successful completion; and
- (5) the name, mailing address and signature of the instructor, sponsor, or other verifier.
- (f) A licensee subject to audit under (a) of this section is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed records of all continuing competency activities completed and shall make the records available to the department on request. A licensee shall maintain the records until the later of
- (1) four years from the date of completion of the continuing competency activity; or
- (2) if the licensee was selected for audit, the date that the department notifies the licensee that the audit is completed.
- (g) The department will extend the period for providing documentation of completion of continuing competency activities if the department finds that the licensee has good cause for the need for additional time to submit the documentation required in (e) of this section.
- (h) The department will notify the respective board of a licensee's failure to comply with the department's request for records under (e) of this section.
- (i) For professions licensed by the department, the department will consider the licensee's failure to comply with the department's request for records under (e) of this section as grounds for imposition of disciplinary sanctions to the extent allowed under AS 08 and this title.
- (j) In this section, "successful completion" means the date that credit for the continuing competency activity is awarded by the instructor, sponsor, or other verifier for completion of the activity.

12 AAC 02.965. FAILURE TO MEET CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE –

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in AS 08 or this title, a license issued under AS 08 will not be renewed or reinstated if the applicant for renewal or reinstatement has not earned the required number of continuing education credits. The applicant may earn the required number of credits after the expiration date of the license. Continuing education credits earned to reinstate or renew an expired license may not be used to satisfy the continuing education requirements for a future renewal or reinstatement. Credits submitted to satisfy the continuing education requirements under this section must be approved under AS 08 and this title by the department or the applicable board.
- (b) For the purposes of this section, "continuing education credits" includes continuing competency, contact hours, continuing education units (CEU's), and credit hours.