
Associate Home Inspector  Online Application - General Information and Instructions: 
 

ONLINE APPLICATION PROCESSING: Your application will be PENDING upon completion of the online renewal 
application. In order to complete the application process, you must provide required statement of liability (signed by your 
employer/supervisor) to the Division, as well as documentation that may be required if you responded “Yes” to any Professional 
Fitness questions. 

 
Please allow 2-4 weeks to complete processing of your application once required documentation is received and your application is 
complete. Required documentation must be received no later than June 30, 2016 in order to complete your application and 
to avoid lapse of license. 

 
Required documentation may be faxed, e-mailed or mailed to the Division as follows: 

 
Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing  
Home Inspector Program 
PO Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Fax: (907) 465-2974 
e-mail: license@alaska.gov 

 
ADDRESS CHANGE:  You may update your address as part of the online application process. You may also provide an email 
address if you would like to receive communication from the Division by email. In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, you must notify 
the Division in writing of any name or address changes. The address of record will be used to send renewals and all other official 
notifications and correspondence. 

 
NAME CHANGE: If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you may not renew online. You must 
download a renewal application from the Home Inspector website, and provide a certified true copy of the legal document (marriage 
certificate, divorce decree, etc.) as proof of the change. 

 
LICENSE TERM: Licenses are issued for a two-year period. However, all Home Inspector registrations expire on June 30 of even-
numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to 
the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known 
address of record. 

 
LAPSED LICENSES: There is no “inactive” license status.  
 
BUSINESS LICENSES: The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. 
Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed or available online separately. For more information about business licenses, 
call (907) 465-2559 or online at BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov. 

 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined 
that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan 
default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900  
or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 
to resolve payment issues. 

 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program is available by written request or 
online: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/HomeInspectors.aspx 

 
REGULATIONS CHANGES: If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulations changes for this program, please send 
a written request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email) and the program you want to be updated on to: 

 
Regulations Specialist 

Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing 

PO Box 110806 
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 
VERIFICATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE DIVISION BEFORE YOUR APPLICATION IS 

COMPLETE 
AND YOUR LICENSE CAN BE RENEWED 
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