


































































































Sec. 08.62.180. Exemptions. (a) This chapter does not apply to  
(1) vessels subject to federal pilot requirements under 46 U.S.C. 8502 except as provided in AS 

08.62.185;  
(2) fishing vessels, including fish processing and fish tender vessels, registered in the United States 

or in British Columbia, Canada;  
(3) vessels propelled by machinery and not more than 65 feet in length over deck, except tugboats 

and towboats propelled by steam;  
(4) vessels of United States registry of less than 300 gross tons and towboats of United States 

registry and vessels owned by the State of Alaska, engaged exclusively  
(A) on the rivers of Alaska; or  
(B) in the coastwise trade on the west or north coast of the United States including Alaska and 

Hawaii, and including British Columbia, Yukon Territory, and Northwest Territories, Canada;  
(5) vessels of Canada, built in Canada and manned by Canadian citizens, engaged in frequent trade 

between  
(A) British Columbia and Southeastern Alaska on the inside water of Southeastern Alaska south 

of 59 degrees, 29 minutes North latitude, if reciprocal exemptions are granted by Canada to vessels 
owned by the State of Alaska and those of United States registry; or  

(B) northern Alaska north of 68 degrees, 7 minutes North latitude and Yukon Territory or 
Northwest Territories;  

(6) pleasure craft of United States registry;  
(7) pleasure craft of foreign registry of 65 feet or less in overall length; and  

(8) vessels of the Canadian Navy or Canadian Coast Guard that have a home port in British 
Columbia, Canada, while navigating the inside water of Southeast Alaska.  

(b) The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry of more than 65 feet overall length but 
less than 175 feet overall length may apply for an exemption from the pilotage requirement of 
this chapter. If an exemption is applied for and the fee prescribed under AS 08.62.140(b) is 
paid, the board may issue the exemption to the operator of the vessel. The exemption is valid 
for one year from the date on which the exemption is issued. The application for an exemption 
must be submitted to the board at least 30 days before the vessel enters the state. The board 
shall approve or deny an application for the exemption within 10 working days after the 
application is received by the board. If the board does not approve or disapprove the application 
within 10 working days, the exemption is considered to be approved, and the board shall issue 
the exemption. The 10-day period for action by the board is suspended while the board is 
waiting for a response to a request by the board for additional information from the applicant. 
An exemption issued under this subsection may be revoked by the board if the vessel is not 
operated in a manner that is appropriate to protect human life, property, and the marine 
environment or if the vessel does not comply with all applicable local, state, and federal laws. 
The exemption must remain on the vessel while the vessel is in state water. An exemption 
issued under this subsection does not exempt a vessel from the requirement to employ a pilot 
licensed under this chapter while the vessel is in Wrangell Narrows or in the water between 
Chatham Strait and Sitka via Peril Strait.  

(c) The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry of more than 65 feet overall length but not 
more than 125 feet overall length that has received an exemption under (b) of this section shall proceed 
upon initial entry into state water to the first port of call to receive navigational and safety information 
from an agent registered under AS 08.62.040(a)(3) who is employed by the operator of the vessel. The 
navigational and safety information provided by the agent must be approved by the marine pilot 
coordinator and annually reviewed, revised, and approved as appropriate by the board at its spring 
meeting.  

(d) The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry of more than 125 feet overall length but less 
than 175 feet overall length that has received an exemption under (b) of this section shall employ a pilot 
licensed under this chapter from initial entry into compulsory pilotage water of the state to the first port 
of call. The marine pilot shall provide navigational and safety information relating to the pilotage region 
to the operator of the vessel.  



(e) In (b) - (d) of this section,  
(1) "for hire" means for consideration contributed as a condition of carriage on a vessel, whether 

directly or indirectly flowing to the owner, charterer, operator, agent, or other person having an interest 
in the vessel;  

(2) "pleasure craft" means a vessel that does not carry passengers or freight for hire. 
 

12 AAC 56.960. DUTIES OF PILOTS.   
(d) If a vessel piloted by a state licensed pilot goes aground, collides with another vessel or dock, meets 
with any casualty, or is damaged in any way, the pilot shall, no later than 72 hours after returning ashore 
after the incident, file with the marine pilot coordinator an incident report as described in 12 AAC 
56.965. The marine pilot coordinator will, in coordinator’s discretion, investigate the reported incident. 

12 AAC 56.965. INCIDENT REPORT. (a) The written incident report required by 12 AAC 
56.960(d) must be in writing on the form provided by the department. All applicable sections of the 
form shall be completed. The required information shall be obtained as soon as the situation stabilizes 
and the pilot can dedicate his or her time and attention to providing the information.  

(b) The report shall include  
(1) identification of the pilot;  
(2) date and time of the incident;  
(3) identification and description of the piloted vessel and its cargo;  
(4) identification of the vessel’s master and agent;  
(5) a detailed description of the location of the incident;  
(6) a description of the weather and sea conditions at the time of the incident;  
(7) identification of all other persons and vessels involved in the incident;  
(8) identification of witnesses; and  

(9) an illustrated and narrative description of the incident. 
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