
 

 

 
 

 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

 

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Main: 907.465.2550 

Fax: 907.465.2974 

July 27, 2016 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to 
comply with the statute listed above, to retain the program’s surplus position, and to continue to deliver the 
current level of service to the marital and family therapy licensing program.  Program expenses have slowly 
been depleting the program’s surplus for several years, and the program is now in a position to increase fees 
to prevent the complete depletion of the surplus.   

The Board of Marital and Family Therapy reviewed the fee analysis at its July 20, 2016, meeting and 
recommended a much lower fee increase to license holders than what the Division recommended.  Neither 
recommendation comes close to meeting the program’s annual expenses; however, the Division’s 
recommendation utilizes the surplus to cover these costs at a much slower pace.  If fees are not raised at this 
time, the surplus will soon be gone, requiring fees to be increased even higher by the next license renewal and 
raising legislative scrutiny of the efficacy of this board.   

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Board’s web page 
at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMaritalFamilyTherapy.aspx.  
The following table reflects the projected revenue based on fee adjustments as proposed by the Board and by 
the Division:   

 

The marital and family therapy fees remained steady until FY2011 when the therapist’s license fee was raised 
from $775 to $865 and the associate’s license fee was raised from $415 to $445.  In FY2013, therapist’s 
license fees decreased from $865 to $665.   

The following table is a revenue and expenditure comparison of three scenarios.  The first column assumes 
no fees changes are made, the second column is based on the Board’s recommendation, and the third and 
final column is based on the Division’s recommended fee increases.   

 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMaritalFamilyTherapy.aspx
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As you can see from this table, the first column shows a future biennial “Projected Net” average deficit of 
($36,538), the second column reflects an average deficit of ($31,458), and the final column reflects an average 
deficit of ($21,058).  The Division’s recommendation still does not cover the program’s biennial expenses and 
continues to spend down the surplus, but at a slower pace.  This provides an opportunity to reduce 
expenditures where possible to meet the revenue shortfall.  Fees are reviewed annually and adjustments will 
be made as required to comply with AS 08.01.065.   

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments 
received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during this fall’s license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 
or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey Hovenden 
Director 
 
Encl. 
 
 

mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov


NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR 
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF MARITAL AND FAMILY 

THERAPY IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION:  The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to marital and family therapists and associates. 
 
The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt 
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational 
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Marital and Family Therapy, including the 
following:  
 

12 AAC 02.242, Board of Marital and Family Therapy, is proposed to be changed to alter the 
application, license, renewal, and temporary license fees for marital and family therapists and 
associates. 

 
Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected 
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation.  The Department 
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Marital 
and Family Therapy and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the 
activities related to the program. 
 
You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations 
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  
99811-0806.  Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by 
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.  Comments may also be submitted 
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at 
http://notice.alaska.gov/182333, and using the comment link.  The comments must be received not later 
than 5:00 p.m. on August 29, 2016.  Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the 
Department.  
 
You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-
0806 or by e-mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov.  The questions must be received at least 10 days before 
the end of the public comment period.  The Department will aggregate its response to substantially 
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMaritalFamilyTherapy.aspx 
or on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.  The Department may, but is not required to, answer 
written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.  
 
If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this 
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov not later than August 
22, 2016 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided. 
 
A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by 
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov, or go to 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/MFT-Fees-2016.pdf. 
 
After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes 
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action.  The 
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation.  You should 
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.  Written comments and 
questions received are public records and are subject to public inspection. 
 
Statutory Authority:  AS 08.01.065; AS 08.63.100; AS 08.63.110; AS 08.63.130; AS 08.63.140 



Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific:  AS 08.01.065; AS 08.63.100; AS 
08.63.110; AS 08.63.130; AS 08.63.140 
 
Fiscal Information:  The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 
 
DATE:            7/28/16                                                               /s/                                     
                               Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist    
         Division of Corporations, Business and 
       Professional Licensing 
 
For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, 
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that 
occupation.  The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the 
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the 
Alaska Administrative Code.  If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send 
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing 
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

 
1. Adopting agency:  Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development – Division of 

Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 
 
2. General subject of regulation:  Occupational licensing fees. 
 
3. Citation of regulation:  12 AAC 02.242. 
 
4. Department of Law file number:  To be assigned. 
 
5. Reason for the proposed action:  Compliance with state statute. 
 
6. Appropriation/Allocation:  Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing – #2360. 
 
7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
 A private person:  Increase will range from $25 to $135 depending on type of license. 
 Another state agency:  None known. 
 A municipality:  None known.  
 
8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):  

No costs are expected in FY 2017 or in subsequent years.  
 
9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
 Sara Chambers, Division Operations Manager 
 Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development  
 Telephone: (907) 465-2144 
 E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov  
 
10. The origin of the proposed action:  Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 
 
11. Date:          7/28/16                     Prepared by:                    /s/                       
        Jun Maiquis 
        Regulations Specialist 
        (907) 465-2537 



Register          ,                2016  PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 
 
 

7/27/16 Draft 1 

 Chapter 02.  General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)   
 
12 AAC 02.242 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.242.  Board of Marital and Family Therapy.  The following fees are 

established for marital and family therapists and associates:  

(1)  nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $200 [$175];  

(2)  license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $800 [$665];  

(3)  biennial license renewal fee, $800 [$665];  

(4)  four-year associate license fee for supervised practice, $500 [$445];  

(5)  temporary license fee, $200 [$100].  (Eff. 6/4/93, Register 126; am 10/1/93,  

Register 127; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 11/27/98, Register 148; 

am 12/16/2001, Register 160; am 12/9/2010, Register 196; am 12/2/2012, Register 204; am 

___/___/____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.63.110  AS 08.63.140 

AS 08.63.100  AS 08.63.130 
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