NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF NURSING IN
THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to establish a new license category fee for a retired nurse license issued by the Board of Nursing.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02, of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Nursing, including the following:

12 AAC 02.280, Board of Nursing: fees for nurses, advanced nurse practitioners, and certified
registered nurse anesthetists, is proposed to be changed to establish a new license category fee for a
retired nurse license issued by the Board of Nursing.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online
Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at http://notice.alaska.gov/179136, and using
the comment link. The comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on December 23, 2015.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before
the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Department’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofNursing.aspx or on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is not required to, answer written
guestions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov not later than
December 16, 2015 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

For a copy of the proposed regulation changes, contact Jun Maiquis at the address or phone number
above, or go to https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/NUR-Fees-RetiredNurseLicense-
1115.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and
guestions received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.68.220
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS
08.01.100; AS 08.68.220

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: 11/20/15 Is/
Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing




For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATIONS NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.
3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.280.
4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Update and clarification of current regulations, and compliance
with state statute.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A Private Person: $165 retired nurse license status one-time fee.
Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2016 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulations:
Sara Chambers, Professional Licensing Operations Manager
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-2144
E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
and the Board of Nursing.

11. Date: 11/20/15 Prepared by: /sl
Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist




Register , 2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.280 is amended by adding a new paragraph to read:
12 AAC 02.280. Board of Nursing: fees for nurses, advanced nurse practitioners,
and certified registered nurse anesthetists. The following fees are established for nurses,

advanced nurse practitioners, and certified registered nurse anesthetists:

(12) retired status license one-time fee, $165. (Eff. 3/6/86, Register 97; am 12/13/87,

Register 104; am 6/23/90, Register 114; am 5/20/92, Register 122; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am
2/13/94, Register 129; am 7/28/95, Register 135; am 7/25/96, Register 139; am 8/26/98, Register
147; am 8/10/2000, Register 155; am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am
6/16/2002, Register 162; am 11/19/2008, Register 188; am 7/7/2010, Register 195; am
2/20/2014, Register 209;am /[ Register )

Authority: ~ AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.100 AS 08.68.220

AS 08.01.065
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