

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

BOARD OF NURSING

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501-3567 Main: (907) 269-8160

Fax: (907) 269-8156

Alaska State Board of Nursing

Date: May 8, 2020

Adopted by: The Alaska State Board of Nursing

Purpose: COVID-19 crisis impact on Alaskan Nurses both Licensed Practical Nurses and Registered Nurses.

History: On March 11, 2020 Governor Mike Dunleavy issued a Declaration of Public Health Disaster Emergency under AS 26.23.020(c) for COVID-19. Governor Dunleavy has issued subsequent health mandates limiting health professionals from performing services unless they are following the Health and Social Service (HSS) guidelines. Information and recommendations are ongoing, and it is anticipated that these may change regularly. All licensees are expected to stay informed and follow HSS mandates. https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-mandates/

On April 10, 2020 Governor Dunleavy signed SB 241 into law.

Statement from the Board: The Board held a meeting on May 6-7, 2020. The Board recognized that COVID-19 restrictions have created the inability for some licensees to complete the entire amount of continuing education requirements for renewal of their professional licenses (LPN by September 30, 2020 and RN by November 30, 2020). The Board also recognized that COVID-19 restrictions have created the inability for some licensees to complete the professional activities requirements for renewal of their professional licenses (LPN by September 30, 2020 and RN by November 30, 2020). The regulations for this renewal requirement add another burden during this trying time. In accordance with SB241 Sec. 6(b)(2), providing boards the authority to waive continuing education requirements for licensees, the Board of Nursing:

RESOLVED to DECREASE the continuing education requirements for licensed practical nurses and registered nurses and WAIVE the professional activities requirement for the 2020 renewal period due to lack of opportunity to travel, restrictions on in-person gatherings, restrictions related to social distancing, and all other COVID-19 related restrictions.

Summary:

The Alaska State Board of Nursing per authority of SB241 Sec. 6 (b)(2) decreases the 2020 license renewal requirement to provide 30 hours of continuing education to 15 hours of continuing education for both licensed practical nurses and registered nurses. The Board waives the professional activity hours under audit requirements of 12 AAC 44.610.- 12 AAC 44.620. for the September 30, 2020 and November 30, 2020, license renewal.

The Alaska Board of Nurse authority per in SB 241 Sec. 6 (b)(2).