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1. Why are new fees being proposed?  

 
By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program operation. 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.” 
 
The division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee changes are necessary. In 
February of 2021 the division met with the Board of Public Accountancy and proposed a reduction in fees. 
   
 

2. What are the proposed fees?   
 
Fees proposed for the 2021-2023 licensing period are below. Fees in bold and underlined are proposed, 
[bracketed] amounts being changed. 
 
12 AAC 02.340. Board of Public Accountancy. The following fees are established for accountants, 
partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, and other legal entities: 
 (1) nonrefundable application fee for 
     (A) initial license, permit, or practice privilege, $200 [$300]; 
. . .  
 (3) certified public accountant license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $300 [$390];  
 (4) certified public accountant biennial active license renewal fee, $300 [$390];  
 (5) certified public accountant biennial inactive license renewal fee, $200 [$245];  
. . .  
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 (10) out-of-state practice privilege permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial registration period, $800 
[$900];  
 (11)  biennial [biennal] out-of-state practice privilege permit renewal fee, $800; [$900]  
. . .  
 
 

3. How are the estimated costs determined?  
 
AS 08.01.065 requires all costs of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The proposed fees are 
based on known and anticipated costs.  
 
 

4. What do licensing fees pay for? 
 
The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail adherence to 
the state’s recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.  

• Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the license examiner 
and referred to the agency’s investigative unit if necessary for further review.  

• Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state licensing statutes 
or regulations or an individual practices the profession without a license.  Because state law requires all costs 
of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of that program (AS 08.01.065), any investigative, attorney, 
or appeal expenses of the state will be recovered in the licensing fee.  

 
5. What was the fee analysis? 

 
See attached. 
 
 

6. When was the last increase? 
 
10/18/2015, see attached fee schedule. 
 
 

7. When will the new fees be effective? 
 
After public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division Director for 
consideration. The Division Director for the Department, may adopt the regulation as written/publicly 
noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in 
part or in its whole. After Department action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for 
final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to 
the Lt. Governor for filing.  Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. 
Governor. 
 
 
Do you have a question that is not answered here?  Please email RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov so it can be added. 

mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov
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120,265.00$      

Prof Total Est
112,619.70$      

INV total Est
56,643.00$        

Total Direct Est
169,262.91$      

Indirect Est
125,000.00$      

Cumulative Surplus
542,121.00$      

Ending Surplus
368,123.30$      
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Public Accountancy Fee Analysis 
Analysis last updated: 7/9/2021 The board met in February 2021 to review proposed fee changes.  With active legislation to eliminate the out of state permit the board is reluctant to reduce fees.  

Renewal Deadline:  12/31/2021 This is a modest decrease to reduce carry forward balance of the program while leaving them intact in the event of elimnation of the OOS permit. 
Presented to board:  If legislation does not pass another fee reduction may be possible prior to the 2023 renewal.  

 Proposed by board  Proposed by division Adjustments

Fee Type Current Fee Projected Units
Projected 
Revenue  Fee Adjustment 

 Fee with 
Recommended 

Adjustment 

 Projected 
Revenue after 

Adjustment % Change  Fee Adjustment 

 Fee with 
Recommended 

Adjustment 

 Projected 
Revenue after 

Adjustment % Change

Fee Adjustment 
for Estimated 

Prorated 
Renewals Projected Units 

Projected 
Revenue Loss

In System 01.01.2019 to 12.31.2020

Initial Application for License 300$                  177 53,100$             300$                   53,100$             0% -100 200$                   35,400$             -33% Initial Application for License 177
New Certified Public Accountant 390$                  148 57,720$             390$                   57,720$             0% -90 300$                   44,400$             -23% (150)                    50 (7,500.00)$         New Certified Public Accountant 148
Renewed Certified Public Accountant 390$                  1220 475,800$           390$                   475,800$           0% -90 300$                   366,000$           -23% Renewed Certified Public Accountant 1220
Inactive Certified Public Accountant* 245$                  225 55,125$             245$                   55,125$             0% -45 200$                   45,000$             -18% Inactive Certified Public Accountant* 225
Inactive Public Accountant 200$                  1 200$                   200$                   200$                   0% 200$                   200$                   0% Inactive Public Accountant 1
New LLC, Corporate Permit, and Partnership Permit 530$                  9 4,770$                530$                   4,770$                0% 530$                   4,770$                0% (265)                    2 (530.00)$            New LLC, Corporate Permit, and Partnership Permit 9
Renew LLC, Corporate Permit, and Partnership Permit 530$                  126 66,780$             530$                   66,780$             0% 530$                   66,780$             0% Renew LLC, Corporate Permit, and Partnership Permit 117
New Out-of-State Permit 900$                  20 18,000$             900$                   18,000$             0% -100 800$                   16,000$             -11% (400)                    7 (2,800.00)$         New Out-of-State Permit 20
Renewed Out-of-State Permit 900$                  94 84,600$             900$                   84,600$             0% -100 800$                   75,200$             -11% Renewed Out-of-State Permit 74
License Reactivation Fee 150$                  5 750$                   150$                   750$                   0% 150$                   750$                   0% License Reactivation Fee 5
Delayed Renewal Penalty 100$                  30 3,000$                100$                   3,000$                0% 100$                   3,000$                0% Delayed Renewal Penalty 30
Exam Fee from NASBA** 5,500$              24 132,000$           132,000$           132,000$           
Centralized Fees 5,000$              1 5,000$                 5,000$                 5,000$                

956,845$           956,845$           794,500$           (10,830)$            Calculating Projected Units
Initial: PY new applications
New: PY new applications

Renewal: PY renewed + PY new
* Based on current actuals Temporary: PY temporary
** Per NASBA exam contract, monthly estimate Courtesy: PY courtesy

Centralized: PY revenue x .01
Inactive: Equals PY inactive

CALCULATIONS BASED ON CURRENT FEES CALCULATIONS BASED ON BOARD'S PROPOSAL CALCULATIONS BASED ON DIVISION'S PROPOSAL

Revenues and Expenditures
 FY2017/2018        

Actuals 
 FY2019/2020     

Actuals 
 Projected             

FY2021/2022 
 Projected             

FY2023/2024 
 Projected     

FY2025/2026 
 FY2019/2020     

Actuals 
 Projected             

FY2021/2022 
 Projected             

FY2023/2024 
 Projected     

FY2025/2026 
 FY2019/2020     

Actuals 
 Projected             

FY2021/2022 
 Projected             

FY2023/2024 
 Projected     

FY2025/2026 
Revenue 924,319            922,812             956,845             956,845             956,845             922,812             956,845             956,845             956,845             922,812             794,500             794,500             794,500             
Expenses (724,065)           (683,210)            (683,210)            (683,210)            
Adjustments

Expenses adjusted for 2% biennial increase (724,065)           (738,546)           (753,317)           (724,065)           (738,546)           (753,317)           (724,065)           (738,546)           (753,317)           
Fee adjustment for pro-rated renewal (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             (10,830)             

Projected Net  239,602             221,950             207,469             192,698             239,602             221,950             207,469             192,698             239,602             59,605                45,124                30,353                

Beginning Cumulative Surplus (Deficit) 302,519             542,121             764,071             971,540             302,519             542,121             764,071             971,540             302,519             542,121             601,726             646,850             
Ending Cumulative Surplus (Deficit) 542,121             764,071             971,540             1,164,237          542,121             764,071             971,540             1,164,237          542,121             601,726             646,850             677,202             

Exam Fee from NASBA**



Month & Year Amount Comment(s)
January-19 $5,500.00

February-19 $4,845.00
March-19 $6,520.00

April-19 $5,500.00
May-19 $6,285.00
June-19 $6,470.00
July-19 $5,570.00

August-19 $5,805.00
September-19 $6,445.00

October-19 $5,080.00
November-19 $4,755.00
December-19 $5,865.00

January-20 $5,445.00
February-20 $4,785.00

March-20 $4,740.00
April-20 $3,420.00
May-20 $4,255.00
June-20 $5,450.00
July-20 $5,535.00

August-20 $6,050.00
September-20 $5,910.00

October-20 $6,000.00
November-20 $5,920.00
December-20 $5,920.00 Estimated amount for December 2020.

Total $132,070.00

$5,502.92

NASBA Exam Reimbursement 



Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Professional Licensing Fees Changes FY06 - FY21

(as of September 30, 2020)

CPA FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 FY10 FY11 FY12 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17 FY18 FY19 FY20 FY21
Eff. 11/18/06 Eff. 1/1/08 Eff. 11/30/13 Eff. 10/18/15

Application $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $100 $100 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
Application Initial Exam $50 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $165 $165 Repealed n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Certified Public Account. $220 $220 $220 $220 $220 $220 $220 $220 $290 $290 $390 $390 $390 $390 $390 $390
Inactive License $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $185 $185 $245 $245 $245 $245 $245 $245
Uncertified Public Account. $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $185 $185 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200
Partnership, Corporation $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $135 $310 $310 $530 $530 $530 $530 $530 $530
Out-of-State Practice $100 $100 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $600 $600 $900 $900 $900 $900 $900 $900
Reexam One Section n/a $65 $65 $65 $65 $65 $65 $65 $70 $70 Repealed n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Reexam Two Sections n/a $80 $80 $80 $80 $80 $80 $80 $85 $85 Repealed n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Reexam Three Sections n/a $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $105 $105 Repealed n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Reexam Four Sections n/a $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $110 $120 $120 Repealed n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a
Exam retest $25 Deleted
License Reactivation n/a n/a $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150 $150

Eff. 12/29/13

Delayed Renewal Penalty n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100
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