

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Pharmacy

Proposed Regulations - FAQ

August 2021

1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

12 AAC 52.855. Registration with the prescription drug monitoring program (PDMP) controlled substance prescription database.

The proposed regulations will clarify the registration process with the PDMP, including specifying what details must be included to successfully submit a registration request at alaska.pmpaware.net.

There is extensive confusion among licensees and applicants as to what steps must be followed in order to successfully register with the PDMP.

These changes will result in clarity around the registration process and will improve provider compliance with mandatory registration required by the controlled substances act in AS 17.30.200.

12 AAC 52.856. PDMP registration renewal.

This proposed new section will establish and clarify that a PDMP registration must be renewed biennially on the date the corresponding professional license is due for renewal.

There is extensive confusion among licensees and applicants as to what steps must be followed in order to successfully renew with the PDMP.

These changes will result in clarity around the renewal process and will improve provider compliance with continuous registration. These changes will also align with the renewal fee in 12 AAC 02.107(2).

12 AAC 52.857 Change in dispensing or distributing of controlled substances.

This proposed new section will clarify that pharmacists no longer dispensing federally-scheduled controlled substances in Alaska are then not to register with the PDMP. In this case, the dispensation exemption form must be submitted to the board within 30 days of the change in dispensing status. Similar notification requirements apply to pharmacies.

It is not currently possible to know which licensees meet the mandatory registration requirement with the PDMP, as this depends upon whether the pharmacist is dispensing controlled substances. The status may change based on position, employer, and on whether the pharmacist is living in Alaska. This change is needed in order to accurately capture which licensees must be registered.

These changes will result in clarity around which pharmacists are dispensing controlled substances in the state, which will lead to improved patient safety and health outcomes.

2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

The existing cost to renew is \$25.00. This renewal fee took effect on April 22, 2018. No changes are being made to this fee.

3. When will the regulations be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Board for consideration. The Board may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.