
NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON APPLICATION FOR COURSE CERTIFICATION IN 
THE REGULATIONS OF THE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION:  The Real Estate Commission proposes to extend certification period for courses 
certified by the commission to two full licensing cycles. 
 
The Real Estate Commission (Commission) proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 64 
of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with application for course certification, including the 
following: 
 

12 AAC 64.420, Application for course certification, is proposed to be changed to extend 
certification period for courses certified by the commission, to two full licensing cycles. 

 
You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Marilyn Zimmerman, 
Paralegal, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  
99811-0806.  Additionally, the Commission will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by 
electronic mail at marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov.  Comments may also be submitted through the 
Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at 
http://notice.alaska.gov/180067, and using the comment link.  The comments must be received not later 
than 4:30 p.m. on March 4, 2016. 
 
You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-
0806 or by e-mail at marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov.  The questions must be received at least 10 days 
before the end of the public comment period.  The Commission will aggregate its response to 
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Commission’s 
website at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/RealEstateCommission.aspx or on the 
Alaska Online Public Notice System.  The Commission may, but is not required to, answer written 
questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period. 
 
If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this 
process, please contact Marilyn Zimmerman at (907) 465-2532 or marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov not 
later than February 26, 2016 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided. 
 
For a copy of the proposed regulation changes, contact Marilyn Zimmerman at the address or phone 
number above, or go to https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/REC-1215.pdf. 
 
After the public comment period ends, the Commission will either adopt the proposed regulation changes 
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action.  The 
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation.  You should 
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.  Written comments and 
questions received are public records and are subject to public inspection. 
 
Statutory Authority:  AS 08.88.081; AS 08.88.091; AS 08.88.095 
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific:  AS 08.88.081; AS 08.88.091; AS 
08.88.095 
 
Fiscal Information:  The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 
 
DATE:           2/3/16                                                      /s/                                       
                                        Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist    
          Division of Corporations, Business and 

Professional Licensing  



 
For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, 
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that 
occupation.  The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the 
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the 
Alaska Administrative Code.  If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send 
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing 
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

 
1. Adopting agency:  Real Estate Commission – Department of Commerce, Community, and 
 Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 
 
2. General subject of regulation:  Application for course certification. 
 
3. Citation of regulation:  12 AAC 64.420. 
 
4. Department of Law file number:  To be assigned. 
 
5. Reason for the proposed action:  Update and clarification of current regulations.  
 
6. Appropriation/Allocation:  Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing – #2360. 
 
7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
 A private person:  None 
 Another state agency:  None 
 A municipality:  None 
 
8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): 
 No costs are expected in FY 2016 or in subsequent years.  
 
9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
 Sharon Walsh, Executive Administrator 
 Alaska Real Estate Commission 
 Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
 Telephone:  (907) 269-8197 
 E-mail:  sharon.walsh@alaska.gov 
 

10. The origin of the proposed action:  Real Estate Commission. 
 

11. Date:     2/3/16                Prepared by:                   /s/                     
       Jun Maiquis 
       Regulations Specialist 
       (907) 465-2537 



Register          ,                2016  PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 
 
 

Rev. 12/8/2015 Draft  1 

 Chapter 64.  Real Estate Commission.    
 
(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.  Complete new sections are not 
underlined.) 
 
12 AAC 64.420(c) is amended to read: 

(c)  A course certified by the commission may be offered for credit 

(1)  a course certified by the commission to satisfy the requirements under  

12 AAC 64.500(b)(1) may be offered for credit from the date the commission certifies the 

course until January 31 of the next even-numbered year that completes two full licensing 

cycles; 

(2)  a course certified by the commission to satisfy the requirements under  

12 AAC 64.500(b)(2) may be offered for credit from the date the commission certifies that 

course until January 31 of the next even-numbered year, except that a course that is certified 

by the commission from October 15 of an odd-numbered year through January 31 of an even-

numbered year may be offered for credit from the date that the commission certifies the course 

until January 31 of the following even-numbered year.  The commission will provide course 

sponsors with applications for course recertification by October 15 of odd-numbered years. 

(Eff. 10/8/90, Register 116; am 7/16/94, Register 131; am 9/15/94, Register 131; am 2/11/95, 

Register 133; am 6/28/97, Register 142; am 2/12/99, Register 149; am 1/1/2006, Register 176; 

am 3/24/2007, Register 181; am ___/___/____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.88.081  AS 08.88.091  AS 08.88.095  
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