

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3567 Main: 907.269.8160 Fax: 907.269.8156

June 29, 2015

Dear Alaska Broker:

The Real Estate Commission is aware of an increase in advertising violations. The Commission has directed its Investigator to handle violations of 12 AAC 64.130 (8), Grounds for Revocation or Suspension, notifying all licensees and their employing Brokers and requiring them to come into compliance with these regulations.

The Commission has verified the ability to impose civil fines for advertising violations of: AS 08.88.401, Prohibited Conduct; penalties and 12 AAC 64.130(8), Grounds for Revocation or Suspension.

Therefore, <u>starting September 1, 2015</u> all advertising violations will have a civil fine imposed upon both the licensee and their employing Broker or Associate Broker in Charge as applicable. Fines will be assessed per occurrence for <u>both</u> the licensee <u>and</u> the Broker/Associate Broker in Charge.

The following penalties will be assessed on each party (licensee and Broker/Associate Broker in Charge) for each advertising violation:

First offense: \$250.00 each
Second offense: \$500.00 each
Third offense: \$1,000.00 each

As noted in AS 08.88.130(8), all advertising <u>must</u> include the Brokerage name as registered with the Real Estate Commission. The Commission wants to make sure that the Broker or Associate Broker in Charge understand that it is their responsibly to review all advertising prior to publication for compliance.

Penalties will go into effect September 1, 2015.

Should you have any questions, please call 269.8162 or email: Sharon.walsh@alaska.gov
Cordially,

The Alaska Real Estate Commission