NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES RELATING TO TELEMEDICINE BUSINESS REGISTRY
IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to adopt new regulations regarding telemedicine business registry requirements for health care
providers delivering services in this state.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with telemedicine
business registry. The proposed regulations establish initial registration application and renewal
requirements, fees, definition of terms, and other miscellaneous provisions to implement Sec. 38 Chapter
25 SLA 2016 (SB 74).

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
09811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/182919, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on October 24, 2016. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by
the Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before
the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/chpl/BusinessLicensing.aspx. The Department may,
but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end
of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov not later than October
17, 2016 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/TeleMedBusReg-0916.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and
guestions received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.080; AS 43.70.020; AS 44.33.381
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.080; AS
43.70.020; AS 44.33.381

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.



DATE: 9/20/16 /sl

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

10.

11.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of

Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: Telemedicine business registry.

Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.106; 12 AAC 02.600 — 12 AAC 02.690.

Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with new state statute.
Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: $100 initial application, $50 registration, $50 renewal, and $100 late renewal
penalty fees.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2017 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Sara Chambers, Division Operations Manager

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-2144

E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Date: 9/20/16 Prepared by: /sl

Jun Maiquis
Regulations Specialist
(907) 465-2537
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Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

12 AAC 02 is amended by adding a new section to read:
12 AAC 02.106. Telemedicine business registry. The following fees are established for
businesses performing telemedicine services in this state:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial registration, $100;
(2) registration fee for all or part of the biennial registration period, $50;
(3) biennial registration renewal fee, $50;
(4) late renewal penalty fee, $100. (Eff. _ / / Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 44.33.381

12 AAC 02 is amended by adding new sections to read:
Article 5. Telemedicine Business Registry.
Section
600. Application for registration as a telemedicine business
610. Registration renewal

690. Definitions

12 AAC 02.600. Application for registration as a telemedicine business. (a) A health
care provider delivering services that require registration as a telemedicine business shall submit
(1) acompleted application on a form provided by the department;

(2) the applicable fees established in 12 AAC 02.106.

(b) A telemedicine business must register with the name it is using to conduct business in
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this state. A company operating under multiple names shall file a registration for each name.
(c) Before providing services in this state, a telemedicine business must obtain an Alaska
business license under AS 43.70 and 12 AAC 12.

(d) A telemedicine business must file registration under this section at least 60 days

before delivering telemedicine services in this state. (Eff. __ / / , Register )
Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 43.70.020 AS 44.33.381
AS 08.01.080

12 AAC 02.610. Registration renewal. (a) A telemedicine business registration must
be renewed biennially on or before November 1 of even-numbered years. A renewal reminder
document will be mailed to each currently registered telemedicine business at least 30 days
before the renewal date.

(b) A health care provider may renew a telemedicine business registration by submitting

(1) acompleted renewal application on a form provided by the department; and
(2) the applicable fees established in 12 AAC 02.106.

(c) The names, contact information, and Alaska professional license numbers of all
health care providers who delivered telemedicine services as defined in AS 44.33.381 in the
preceding six years must be kept on file by the telemedicine business and submitted to the
department upon request. (Eff. __ / / Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 43.70.020 AS 44.33.381

AS 08.01.080

12 AAC 02.690. Definitions. In this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise,
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(1) "department" means the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development;

(2) for the purpose of telemedicine business registry, "health care provider"
means any professional licensed under AS 08 or any entity defined in AS 47.32.900 and is
engaged in delivering telemedicine services;

(3) "telemedicine services" has the meaning given in AS 44.33.381.

(Eff. /| ,Register )
Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 43.70.020 AS 44.33.381

AS 08.01.080

The article heading for Article 5 is amended to read:

Article 6 [5]. General Provisions.
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