

# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

# **Renewal of Veterinarian Licenses**

Your license to practice Veterinary Medicine in the State of Alaska is set to expire December 31, 2018. Licenses that are not renewed before December 31, 2018 will lapse on January 1, 2019.

By law it is illegal for you to practice after your Veterinarian license has lapsed.

The following fees have been established for the Veterinarian license renewal:

- Biennial License Renewal \$600 (for licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2017).
- Prorated License Renewal \$300 (for licenses first issued on or after January 1, 2018).
- Delayed Renewal Penalty \$150 (for renewals postmarked on or after March 1, 2019).

Online renewals will only be accepted on or before December 31, 2018.

Renewals postmarked on or after January 1, 2019 are required to be paper applications.

If you answer "yes" to any of the professional fitness questions in the online renewal, you will not be allowed to proceed and must submit a paper application.

# PAPER APPLICATIONS

Paper renewal applications must be mailed and will be renewed effective as of the postmark on the envelope, or if the postmark is unreadable, the date of receipt. Please be aware that processing time for paper renewals may take up to six weeks and plan accordingly. **Faxed or emailed renewal applications** will not be accepted. Return a completed, signed application to the address indicated on the renewal application with a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska, or use the credit card payment form attached to the renewal application.

# EFFECTIVE DATE OF RENEWED LICENSE

The effective date of a renewed license will be the date a complete renewal application is filed with the Division as determined by 12 AAC 02.920 and 12 AAC 02.940.

### **LICENSE STATUS:**

There is no "inactive" status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date.

#### **SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:**

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov* or contact the Division for a copy of the form.

#### "YES" RESPONSES:

A "Yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "Yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation.

# **RANDOM AUDIT:**

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

#### **PUBLIC INFORMATION:**

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov* under License Search.

# **ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:**

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

#### STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to:

#### REGULATIONS SPECIALIST

Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806