

## Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

**BOARD OF VETERINARY EXAMINERS** 

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.1037 Fax: 907.465.2974

## Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners

Date: April 27, 2020

**Adopted by:** The Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners

Purpose: COVID-19 crisis impact on Alaskan Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians

**History:** On March 11, 2020 Governor Mike Dunleavy issued a Declaration of Public Health Disaster Emergency under AS 26.23.020(c) for COVID-19. Governor Dunleavy has issued subsequent health mandates limiting health professionals from performing services unless they are following the Health and Social Service (HSS) guidelines. Information and recommendations are ongoing and it is anticipated that these may change regularly. All licensees are expected to stay informed and follow HSS mandates. <a href="https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-mandates/">https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-mandates/</a>

On April 10, 2020 Governor Dunleavy signed SB 241 into law.

Statement from the Board: The Board held a meeting on April 27, 2020. The Board recognized that COVID-19 restrictions have created the inability for some licensees to complete the continuing education requirements for renewal of their professional licenses by December 31, 2020. The regulations for renewal requirements and audits add another burden during this trying time. In accordance with SB241 Sec. 6(b)(2), providing boards the authority to waive continuing education requirements for licensees, the Board of Veterinary Examiners:

RESOLVED to SUSPEND all continuing education requirements for veterinarians and veterinary technicians for the 2020 renewal period due to lack of opportunity to travel, restrictions on in-person gatherings, lack of availability for wet labs, and all other COVID-19 related restrictions.

## **Summary:**

**Enactment of SB 241:** Licensees may renew their license for the January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022 license period without having met all regulatory renewal requirements. **Note:** this decision does not apply to any licensees for this license renewal period who have a consent agreement and are under mandatory audit.

The Alaska State Board of Veterinary Examiners per authority of SB241 Sec. 6 (b)(2) waives the 2020 license renewal requirement to provide 30 hours of continuing education for veterinarians and 10 hours of continuing education for veterinary technicians. The Board waives the continuing competency and audit requirements of 12 AAC 68.220- 12 AAC 68.240 for the December 31, 2020, license renewal.

The Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners authority per in SB 241 Sec. 6 (b)(2).