
How to File a Claim Against a Surety Bond 

A suit may be brought against a contractor or home inspector’s bond for claims relating to: 
 

1. labor including employee benefits; 
 

2. taxes and contributions due to the state, city, and borough; 
 

3. material and equipment; 
 

4. claims for breach of contract; and 
 

5. repair of public facilities. 
 
Bring upon the bond in district court by: 
 

1. Filing a summons and complaint in district court (may be done in small claims court for amounts less than $5,000). 
 

2. Listing when the claim arose, the contractor or home inspector’s business name, bonding company name, and bond number 
as defendant(s). 

 

3. Send two copies of all court documents and $25.00 to the Division of Insurance for the requirements of the division to 
complete service on the surety that issued the bond: 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Insurance 
P.O. Box 110805 

Juneau, AK 99811-0805 
(907) 465-2515 

 

4. In addition to the above requirements, send a copy of the complaint to the letterhead address. 
 
Authority AS 08.18.081 
There are statutes and regulations applicable to these types of claims.  Review AS 08.18.071 - .081, 12 AAC 21.130 - .140, and 12 AAC 
22.060 - .070.  It is your responsibility to research and be aware of the statutes and regulations applicable to your claim.  The citations 
above are not an exhaustive list and are not legal advice.  Failure to comply with applicable statutes and regulations may result in 
delayed payment or nonpayment of claims.  It is not necessary or appropriate to name the commissioner as a party to your action in 
asserting a claim against the surety bond.  If you need a complete license/bond verification, submit your request to the letterhead 
address.  There is a $30.00 fee for this service. 
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Professional Licensing 

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Email: License@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

 
 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

 

  

  

  

  

mailto:License@Alaska.Gov
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing.aspx

