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A person may not practice manicuring in the state without a license or temporary permit. 
— Sec. 08.13.070 

 
Please read instructions before completing the application. Any section of the application that is not complete or not 
submitted will delay the issuance of your license. Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted. 
 

 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

               

 
Barbers and Hairdressers Program  

State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov 

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

 

Instructions for Manicurist License 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

  

  

  

  

 

In-State Licensure Requirements: 
 

To obtain a manicuring license if you are not currently licensed in any other state, the following 
documents must be on file before your application will be considered: 

 
(1) Completed notarized application. 

 
(2) A check or money order made payable to the State of Alaska as follows: 

 

· Non-refundable application fee of $150.00 
 

· Initial license fee of $180.00 
 

(3) Verification of completion of a Board-approved 12-hour manicuring course in health, 
safety, and hygiene (Form 08-4498). 

 

Out-of-State Licensure Requirements: 
 

If you are currently licensed in another state, you are not required to take the 12-hour manicurist 
course. The following documents must be on file before your application will be considered: 

 
(1) Completed notarized application. 

 
(2) A check or money order made payable to the State of Alaska as follows: 

 

· Non-refundable application fee of $150.00 
 

· Initial license fee of $180.00 
 

(3) Verification of manicurist licensure sent directly from another state showing a current 
manicurist license in that state. The license from the other state must show it is current at 
the time the Alaska manicurist license is issued. A copy of your license is not acceptable.  

 
Manicurists licensed in another state who completed a minimum of 250 hours of training and 
passed a written exam may apply for a Manicurist with Advanced Endorsement license. 

mailto:BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/bah4498.pdf
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EXAMINATION INFORMATION: The manicurist written exam is provided in English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean. Individuals wishing to take the written exam in either Spanish, 
Vietnamese, or Korean must submit their request in writing by the deadline date of the exam they wish to attend. Late requests will not be accommodated. Individuals who would like 
the written exam read to them in English must submit their request for a “verbal” exam in writing. The written request must be received by the deadline date for the exam they wish to 
attend. Interpreters are not allowed in either the practical or written exam sites. Candidates taking the written or verbal exam will be allowed 90 minutes to complete the exam. Only 
individuals who meet the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) may be granted additional time, or other accommodations as determined appropriate. An applicant who fails the 
written examination or any subject of the practical examination three times or more will be required to complete additional hours of training. See 12 AAC 09.075(f).  
 
SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EXAMINATION: Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporation, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit a completed Application for 
Examination Accommodation for Candidates with Disabilities form. This form is available on the division’s website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers or 
contact the division to request the form. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION: The examination dates and deadlines may be viewed online at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers (or contact the Division for 
the information).  
 
If you wish to practice skin care and make-up in the State of Alaska, you must be licensed as an esthetician. If you own a Shop or are an independent contractor you must apply for a 
shop owner license issued by the Board. A state business license is also required. Please contact the Business License Section at (907) 465-2550 or online at 
BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov  
 
“Manicuring” means for a fee, to cut, trim, polish, color, tint, or cleanse a natural or artificial nail; affix material by artificial means to a natural nail for the addition to or extension of the 
natural nail; cleanse, treat, or beautify the hands or feet for cosmetic purposes; or otherwise treat the nails of the hand or foot. This paragraph does not include massage treatment; 
or cleansing, treating, or beautifying the hands or feet solely for the treatment of disease or physical or mental ailments. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or 
renewed for an individual.  If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division for a copy of the form. 
 
PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS: If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska 
Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support 
Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
PUBLIC INFORMATION: Please be aware that all information on the initial application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal 
law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License Search. 
 
RENEWAL INFORMATION: All licenses expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years regardless of when issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the license expiration 
date will be issued through the next renewal date. 
 
ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An 
abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to 
submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no 
refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 
 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred 
contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 
 
REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

 

 

Temporary Permits: 
 

An applicant holding a current valid license as a manicurist in another state may be granted a 
temporary permit while waiting for permanent licensure. The permit is valid for a maximum of six 
months or until the Board either issues a permanent license or rejects the application. A request 
for a temporary permit must be made on the application for permanent licensure form and include 
the following: 

 
(1) Completed notarized application. 

 
(2) A check or money order made payable to the State of Alaska as follows: 

 

· Non-refundable application fee of $150.00 
 

· Temporary permit fee of $100.00 
 

· Permanent license fee of $180.00 
 

(3) Notarized copy of a current manicurist license from another state. Your license from the 
other state must be current when Alaska issues your permanent license. If your out-of-
state license lapses before Alaska issues your permanent license, you will be required 
to renew your out-of-state license. 

 
Note: To obtain a notarized copy of your license, you must present the notary with the original 
license along with the copy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original document” 
on the copy, and sign your name. The notary will notarize your signature. 
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• An incomplete application or any unusual circumstances noted in the application may require additional 
processing time. Review your application fully to ensure you have answered every question completely and 
followed all of the instructions. 

 
• It is your responsibility to be aware of licensing requirements and provide all necessary documentation. 

 
• Allow 6- to 8-weeks for processing the application from the time your file is complete. Please read the 

application and instructions carefully. Failure to do so may cause additional correspondence and delay the 
processing of your application. All required forms and documentation must be mailed to the Division directly 
from the required source or they will not be accepted. 

 

  

           

                                           BAH 

Barbers and Hairdressers Program  
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 
Email: BoardOfBarbersHairdressers@Alaska.Gov 
Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

Application: Manicurist License  

Required Fees: 
  Nonrefundable Application Fee $150.00 

 Permanent License Fee $180.00 
 

Optional Fee: 
  Temporary Permit Fee $100.00 

 Must hold a current valid license as a manicurist in another state.  
 

Full Name:  

Mailing Address:  

Birthdate:  Gender:  Male 
 Female 

Contact Phone:  
  (                      )     — 

  
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting your license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing by email, you agree to notify the Division in writing when your email address changes. You 
understand that failure to check your email address or to keep it in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in the inability to obtain or retain licensure. 

Email Address:   
 

 Send my Correspondence by Email 
 

 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your 
United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information 
and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 

 
             

  
 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

 

THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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Name of Manicuring School(s):   

School Name Address Dates Attended Total Hours 

    

    

    

Apprenticeship:   

Name of Instructor Name of Shop Dates Attended Total Hours 

    

    

    

Licensing Information:   

State License # Category Date Issued Expiry Date 

     

     

     

Notarized Signature 

I certify that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and that all credentials supplied 
by me to support my application are true and correct. The Division may deny, suspend, or revoke the license of a 
person who has obtained or has attempted to obtain a license by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subjected to 
criminal charges for unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

 Applicant’s 
Signature:  Printed Name:  

Notary 
Public for 
State of: 

 
Subscribed and 
Sworn to Before 
me on this Day: 

 

Notary’s 
Signature:  My Commission 

Expires:  

Notary Stamp 
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      Barbers and Hairdressers Program 

     State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
     PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 

     Phone: (907) 465-2550 • Fax: (907) 465-2974 
     E-mail: license@alaska.gov 

     Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers 

Verification of Training, Examination and Licensure 
 

Applicant: Complete this top section and mail to the state board in which you hold a current license. Some states 
require a fee for completion of license verification; you may wish to check with the state board prior to submitting this 
form for completion. If the state where you are currently licensed is not the state in which you received your training 
and/or examination please send a copy of this form to the state where you received your training and/or examination as 
well as the state where you are currently licensed. 
 
 Applicant’s Printed Name  

License Number  Date of Birth  

—    —    —    THIS PART TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSING BOARD    —    —    — 
Licensing Board: Please provide the information requested below and return the form directly to the Alaska Board of 
Barbers and Hairdressers to the address at the top of this page. This section is not to be completed by the applicant. 

Name of Applicant  State  

Type of License Granted to 
the Applicant  Total Hours  

License Number  Issue Date  Expiry Date  

Licensed by        Reciprocity/Endorsement      Examination  Date:  

Written Exam Administered. Yes             No  Score:    Name of 
Exam  

School Attended  Dates  Hours  

School Attended  Dates  Hours  

Any Final Disciplinary Action 
Taken Against this Licensee? Yes               No Provide a copy of any disciplinary action document 

Provide any derogatory 
Information  

 
 

Board Agency Name: 

Date: Title: 

Signature: Printed Name: 

THE STATE 

ALASKA 
of Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
 

  

  

  

  

Board Seal 

 

mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/BoardOfBarbersHairdressers


All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. 
Include this credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee:      _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Program Type:   ________________________________________________________      License Number (if applicable):    ________________________________ 

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):                   AMOUNT       

Application Fee:  _________________________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________        __________________________ 

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):        

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:            ___________________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:            ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               _______________________________________________________ 

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/26/18                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550 

Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST 
be completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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