Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Chiropractic Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfChiropracticExaminers

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Chiropractic Physician License Renewal

January 1, 2025 - December 31, 2026

- Your license lapses after December 31, 2024. There is no grace period it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
- Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.
- Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form.
- Plan on a 4–6-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.
- Once the renewal is processed, your license certificate will be available for printing via the MY LICENSE self-service portal.

PART I	Payr	nent of Fees					
		Full-Term Biennial License Renewal				\$1	1,000.00
Renewal Fees:		(For licenses first issued on or before Decer	mber 31, . 	2023) 			
(Active License)	☐ Prorated License Renewal					500.00
		(For licenses first issued on or after January	y 1, 2024)				
Renewal Fees: (Inactive License)		May not practice in Alaska.				\$	150.00
Renewal Fees: (Retired)		May not practice in Alaska.				\$	150.00
Renewal Fees:		☐ Delayed Renewal Penalty				\$	200.00
(Late Renewal))	(For renewals postmarked on or after March 2, 2025)					
DARTH							
PART II	Pers	onal Information			-		
Full Legal Name: Name change:				AK Chiropra License Nui	actic Physician mber:		
If you have had a legal name change since your last license was issued, you must complete a <u>Change of Name</u> form.							
Mailing Address Address change:	ss:	P.O. Box or Street City	/		State	Z	ip
Contact Phone	: :				Date of Birth:		
EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.							
Email Address:		Sood Standard Hay result in an industry to receive crucial line	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	Select One:	Send my Cor	respondence E	
				Sciect Offic.	Send my Cor	rrespondence b	y Mail
Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.							
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will							
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.							

PART III

Statement of Compliance Continuing education programs must be approved by the board per 12 AAC 16.320. By checking the appropriate box below, you are verifying your compliance with the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 16.320 during the license period from January 1, 2023, through December 31, 2024. Renewal for licenses issued before December 31, 2022. I have completed at least 32 hours of approved continuing education; at least 8 hours must be devoted to radiographic safety, techniques and interpreting, or diagnostic imaging; 2 hours must be devoted to coding and documentation, 2 hours must be devoted to ethics and boundaries, and 2 hours (but no more than 4 total) must be devoted to CPR training. No more than 16 hours of the above may be earned via distance or internet learning. - or -Renewal for licenses issued between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023. I have completed at least 16 hours of approved continuing education between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023; at least 8 hours must be devoted to radiographic safety, techniques and interpreting, or diagnostic imaging; 2 hours must be devoted to coding and documentation; 2 hours must be devoted to ethics and boundaries and 2 hours must be devoted to CPR training. - or -Renewal for licenses issued on or after January 1, 2024. I am not required to document continuing education for this renewal only. - or -Request for Exemption from Continuing Education I have received board-approval for exemption of continuing education in accordance with 12 AAC 16.390(d). If you have not received board-approval, you must submit a written request prior to submitting your renewal application. The written request must include a statement explaining the reasonable cause or excusable neglect. In order to qualify for renewal, programs must be approved by the board. In accordance with 12 AAC 16.320, to be approved by the board, a subject must contribute directly to the professional competency of a person licensed to practice as a chiropractor and be directly related to the **Continuing Education** concepts of chiropractic principles, philosophy, and practice. The list of approved continuing education courses, along with their approved numbers, is available on our web site: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.

Random Audit

The board will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, you will be sent a letter and required to submit documentation and proof that you satisfied the continued competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Save your documents for at least four years to respond to any audits.

PART IV Professional Fitness Questions

The following questions must be answered. "Yes" answers may not automatically result in license denial.

For each "yes" response to any question, you must provide an <u>explanation</u> and <u>documentation</u>. Use the letter of explanation form (#08-4752) appended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documented below. Documentation includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

	When in doubt, disclose and explain.					
Since the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed:						
1.	Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?	☐ Yes ☐ No				
2.	Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For purposes of this question, crime includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license. Convicted includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine.	☐ Yes ☐ No				
3.	Have you been the subject of an investigation by any licensing jurisdiction or are you currently under investigation by any licensing jurisdiction, or is any such action pending?					
4.	Are you currently suffering from any condition, mental or physical, that impairs your judgement or that would otherwise adversely affect your ability to practice chiropractic care in a competent, ethical and professional manner?	☐ Yes ☐ No				
5.	Do you use drugs or alcohol in any manner that impairs your ability to practice chiropractic care competently and safely?	☐ Yes ☐ No				
"	Yes" Answers If answered "yes" to questions 4 or 5, in addition to your personal statement, a statement from your health care provider indicating your ability to safe chiropractor. Applications submitted without the appropriate attachments wincomplete and will not be processed.	ely practice as a				
PART V Alaska Law						
I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS 08.20 and 12 AAC 16).						



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Chiropractic Examiners

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Website: ProfessionalLicense. Alaska. Gov/Board Of Chiropractic Examiners

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

Signature Page
Applicant Name:
PART VI Agreement
I hereby certify I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application. I further certify I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.
I understand any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, registration, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.

I further understand it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of

Date Signed:

unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

LICENSE TERM:

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of EVEN-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing a license on time.

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions, submit an explanation with the charging and closing court documentation (e.g. court records, fitness letters, etc.).

RANDOM AUDIT:

This program requires continuing education. The division will audit a percentage of license renewals. If selected for audit, you will be sent a letter with instructions for documenting proof of meeting the continuing competency requirements as you stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. Licensees unable to comply with the audit are subject to disciplinary license action.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

AS 08.01.100 requires a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is renewed. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, complete the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.*

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

All information on the application form will be available as a public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov. To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.

12 AAC 16.280. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.

The purpose of continuing chiropractic education is to ensure that the renewal of licenses is contingent upon proof of continued competency and to assure the consumer of an optimum quality of chiropractic health care by requiring licensed chiropractors to pursue education designed to advance their professional skills and knowledge.

12 AAC 16.290. HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED.

- (a) Except as provided in (b) of this section, an applicant for renewal of a chiropractic license must obtain and document successful completion of the following:
 - (1) for an applicant who files a complete renewal application with the department for a license period that concludes on or before December 31, 2012, 24 credit hours of approved continuing education during the concluding licensing period; at least one-third and no more than one-half of the total hours required under this paragraph must be devoted to
 - (A) radiographic safety;
 - (B) radiographic techniques and interpretation; or
 - (C) diagnostic imaging;
 - (2) for an applicant who files a complete renewal application with the department for a license period that concludes after January 1, 2013, 32 credit hours of approved continuing education during the concluding licensing period, as follows:
 - (A) eight hours of the total hours required under this paragraph must be devoted to
 - (i) radiographic safety;
 - (ii) radiographic techniques and interpretation; or
 - (iii) diagnostic imaging;
 - (B) two hours of the total hours required under this paragraph must be devoted to coding and documentation;
 - (C) two hours of the total hours required under this paragraph must be devoted to ethics and boundaries;
 - (D) two hours of the total hours required under this paragraph must be devoted to cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training.
- (b) An applicant for renewal of a chiropractic license for the first time must obtain and document successful completion of the following:
 - (1) for a license period that concludes on or before December 31, 2012, 12 credit hours of approved continuing education for each complete calendar year the applicant was licensed during the concluding licensing period;
 - (2) for a license period that concludes after January 1, 2013, 16 credit hours of approved continuing education for each complete calendar year the applicant was licensed during the concluding licensing period.
- (c) Two of the hours required under (a) of this section will be credited to each applicant for renewal for completing the jurisprudence review prepared by the board, covering the provisions of AS 08.20 and this chapter. An applicant for renewal must verify, in an affidavit, that the applicant has complied with this subsection before the applicant's license renewal will be processed.
- (d) An applicant for renewal of a license to practice chiropractic must submit, on a form provided by the department, a sworn statement of the continuing education that the applicant completed during the concluding licensing period. The statement must include the following information:
 - (1) the sponsoring organization;
 - (2) the title and description of the course;
 - (3) the dates of attendance or period of correspondence;
 - (4) the number of continuing education hours claimed;
 - (5) the course approval number issued by the department.
- (e) An applicant for renewal of a chiropractic license may receive up to four hours of the credit
 - (1) required under (a)(1) of this section from one or more of the following subject areas:
 - (A) cardiopulmonary resuscitation training (CPR);
 - (B) automated external defibrillator training (AED);
 - (C) basic life support training (BLS);
 - (2) required under (a)(2) of this section from one or more of the following subject areas:
 - (A) automated external defibrillator training (AED);
 - (B) basic life support training (BLS).
- (f) No more than 16 credit hours of the credit hours required under (a)(2) of this section for a renewal of a chiropractic license may be obtained over the Internet or by distance learning.

12 AAC 16.300. COMPUTATION OF NONACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.

- (a) For the purposes of 12 AAC 16.280 12 AAC 16.390, 50 minutes of instruction constitutes one hour.
- (b) Credit is given only for class hours and not for hours devoted to class preparation.

12 AAC 16.310. COMPUTATION OF ACADEMIC CREDIT CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS.

- (a) One quarter hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 10 hours of continuing education.
- (b) One semester hour academic credit from a college or university constitutes 15 hours of continuing education.
- (c) Challenged courses are not acceptable for continuing education credit.

12 AAC 16.320. APPROVED SUBJECTS.

To be approved by the board, a subject must contribute directly to the professional competency of a person licensed to practice as a chiropractor and be directly related to the concepts of chiropractic principles, philosophy, and practice, including the following:

- (1) treatment and adjustment technique, including physiotherapy, nutrition and dietetics;
- (2) examination and diagnosis or analysis including physical, laboratory, orthopedic, neurological and differential;
- (3) radiographic technique and interpretation involving all phases of roentgenology as permitted by law;
- (4) study of the methods employed in the prevention of excessive radiation and safety precautions to the patient; and
- (5) diagnostic imaging.

12 AAC 16.330. NONACADEMIC PROGRAM CRITERIA.

- (a) Nonacademic continuing education programs requiring class attendance are approved by the board if
 - (1) the program is at least one hour in length;
 - (2) the program is conducted by a qualified instructor;
 - (3) a record of registration or attendance is maintained; and
 - (4) an examination or other method of assuring satisfactory completion of program by participant is incorporated.
- (b) A qualified instructor or discussion leader is anyone whose background, training, education or experience makes it appropriate for the person to lead a discussion on the subject matter of the particular program.

12 AAC 16.340. APPROVED NONACADEMIC CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS.

- (a) The following programs are approved by the board:
 - (1) educational meetings of the following associations, if the documentation required by 12 AAC 16.290 demonstrates that the meeting in question meets the requirements of 12 AAC 16.320 and 12 AAC 16.330.
 - (A) American Chiropractic Association:
 - (B) International Chiropractors Association;
 - (C) Canadian Chiropractic Association;
 - (2) educational classes, if
 - (A) they are conducted by any chiropractic college that is accredited by or has accreditation status with the Council on Chiropractic Education; and
 - (B) the program sponsor or the applicant for renewal of a chiropractic license
 - (i) requests board approval; and
 - (ii) demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the educational classes meet the requirements of 12 AAC 16.320 and 12 AAC 16.330
 - (3) continuing education programs that are certified by the Providers of Approved Continuing Education through the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards.
- (b) The board may approve other continuing education programs under 12 AAC 16.345.
- (c) Repealed 1/29/2009.

12 AAC 16.345. APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL.

- (a) Except as provided in 12 AAC 16.340(a), to be approved by the board to meet the continuing education requirements of 12 AAC 16.290, 12 AAC 16.320, and 12 AAC 16.330, an applicant for continuing education course approval shall submit to the board, not less than 90 days before the date of the proposed program presentation date,
 - (1) a completed application on a form provided by the department;
 - (2) the continuing education course approval fee specified in 12 AAC 02.150;
 - (3) the name of the course provider;
 - (4) a complete course description, including the course title and a description of the learning objectives;
 - (5) a course syllabus; and
 - (6) an outline of the major topics covered by the course and the number of classroom hours allowed for each topic.
- (b) Approval of a continuing education course under this section is valid until December 31 of the next even-numbered year.
- (c) A sponsor who has a change in a condition required under (a)(3) (6) of this section during the approval period described in (b) of this section must
 - (1) reapply to the board for continuing education credit approval; and
 - (2) submit the continuing education course change approval fee specified in 12 AAC 02.150.

- (d) Notwithstanding the provisions of (a) of this section, the board may award continuing education credit for attendance at a course or seminar that has not previously been approved by the board if course or seminar meets the requirements of 12 AAC 16.320 and 12 AAC 16.330 and if the applicant submits supporting documentation to the board with the application for credit. The amount of credit awarded, if any, will be determined by the board on an individual basis.
- (e) Falsification of any written evidence submitted to the board under this section is unprofessional conduct and constitutes grounds for censure, reprimand, or license revocation or suspension.

12 AAC 16.350. INDIVIDUAL STUDY.

The number of hours of continuing education credit awarded for completion of a formal correspondence or other individual study program that requires registration and provides evidence of satisfactory completion will be determined by the board on an individual basis. A request for board approval for credit of hours of continuing education for an individual study program must be made to the board in writing before the applicant begins the individual study program.

12 AAC 16.360. INSTRUCTOR OR DISCUSSION LEADER.

- (a) One hour of continuing education credit is awarded for each hour completed in preparation for instruction or discussion as an instructor or discussion leader of educational programs meeting the requirements of 12 AAC 16.280—12 AAC 16.390. The number of hours of credit so awarded may not exceed twice the number of hours awarded under (b) of this section.
- (b) One hour of continuing education credit is awarded for each hour completed as an instructor or discussion leader of educational programs meeting the requirements of 12 AAC 16.280—12 AAC 16.390. Credit is awarded only for the initial course of instruction of the subject matter unless there have been substantial new developments in the subject since the prior presentation.
- (c) The total credit awarded under this section may not exceed one-third of the total hours of continuing education reported in any licensing period.

12 AAC 16.370. PUBLICATIONS.

Continuing education credit may be awarded for publication of articles or books. The amount of credit so awarded will be determined by the board on an individual basis.



THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Professional Licensing

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Incident:				Date o	f Incident:	
Explanation of When in doub and explain. Make copies as	ot, disclose					
Did you attach all applicable documents associated with this incident?						
Court Ord	lers [Consent Agreements	☐ Disciplinary A	ctions	Charging D	Documents
Court Rec	Court Records				Incident	
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:				Progra	m:	
Signature:				Date S	igned:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes,	do not email credit card in	formation. Include th	nis credit card payment
form with your application.			

form with your application.				
Name of Applicant or Licensee:				
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):	L	License Number (if applicable):		
I wish to make payment by credit card	d for the following (check all that ap	for the following (check all that apply):		AMOUNT
Application Fee:				
License or Renewal Fee:				
Other (fine, exam, etc.):				
1.				
2.				
,		тота	AL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):				
Mailing Address:				
Phone Number:	Email	mail (Optional):		
Signature of Credit Card Holder:				
08-4438 (Rev. 09/21/2024)	Credit Card Payment Form (all r	major cards accept	ed)	Page 1 of 1
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your	payment cannot be proc	essed unless	all fields a	e completed.
1. Credit Card Number:			All 3 fields MU	ST be completed.