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• Online renewal is available at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ConstructionContractors

• Your general contractor without residential endorsement license lapses after December 31, 2016.

• There is no grace period — it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.

• Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska, or use the attached credit card payment form.

• Plan on a four- to six-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.

CON 

General Contractor Without Residential Endorsement 

PART I Renewal Information

Fees Due: 

 License Renewal $235.00 (for licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2015) 

Prorated License Renewal $117.50 (for licenses first issued on or after January 1, 2016) 

Alaska General Contractor License Number: 

DBA Name: 

Mailing Address: 
This is an address change: 

Phone: (           ) — 

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting your license or other business with the Alaska Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing by email, you agree to notify the Division in writing when your email address changes. You 
understand that failure to check your email address or to keep it in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially 
resulting in the inability to obtain or retain licensure. 

Email Address:  Send my Correspondence by Email 
 Send my Correspondence by US Mail 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

ALASKA of 
 THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Construction Contractors Program 
PO Box 110806, Juneau AK 99811-0806 
(907) 465-2550  •  Email: license@alaska.gov 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/ConstructionContractors
 

Biennial License Renewal   January 1, 2017 — December 31, 2018   

Now Available! 
Renew Online: 

• Fast
• Easy

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/ConstructionContractors
mailto:license@alaska.gov
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/ConstructionContractors
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Attach Additional Page(s) If Necessary 

PART II Type of Business Ownership   

If there has been a change in ownership type or business name since your last renewal you may not renew that 
license; you must apply for a new license by submitting an initial application at: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

Changing, adding or removing officers of a corporation, or members or managers of an LLC, or partners in a limited 
partnership (LP) or limited liability partnership (LLP), does not require a change to your current license. 

Corporation or partnership changes can be made online at: Corporations.Alaska.Gov 

Type of Business 
         Sole Proprietor  Partnership Complete  Table A

         Corporation  LLC/LLP Complete  Table B

Table A
Sole Proprietorships and Partnerships: 

Name Date of Birth 

Address 
Address    City    State    ZIP Code  

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: Required by State law. Please provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not 
for public disclosure; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) 

Social Security Number 

Name Date of Birth 

Address 
Address    City    State    ZIP Code 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: Required by State law. Please provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is not 
for public disclosure; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. (AS 08.01.100) 

Social Security Number 

Table B
Corporations, LLCs and LLPs: 

Alaska Entity Number 

Name and Address of 
Corporate Officer or 
Managing Partner  

First Name   Last Name 

Address   City  State   ZIP Code  

Name and Address of 
Corporate Officer or 
Managing Partner  

First Name   Last Name 

Address   City  State   ZIP Code  

file://cedasdsobfs01.soa.alaska.gov/Users/mgorman/Out%20for%20Review/ProfessionalLicense/ConstructionContractors/InitialApplications.aspx
http://corporations.alaska.gov/


08-4134    Rev 12/28/16         Renewal Page 3 of 5 

PART III  Electrical and/or Mechanical Administrator Assignment       

If your business performs electrical or communications contractor work, list the electrical administrator’s name and 
license number assigned. 

Name of Electrical Administrator:   License Number: 

Name of Electrical Administrator:   License Number: 

If your business performs mechanical or plumbing contractor work, list the mechanical administrator’s name and 
license number assigned.  

Name of Mechanical Administrator:   License Number: 

Name of Mechanical Administrator:   License Number: 

Change In Electrical and/or Mechanical Administrator Assignment 
An Employer/Affiliation form is required to assign or terminate assignment of an administrator. You must attach a 
completed Employer/Affiliation Form 08-4102 and submit the $5 change fee if the administrator(s) assigned to this 
general contractor license has changed. 

Part IV Bonding Requirements

Per AS 08.18.071, proof of a current bond must be attached to this renewal application.  

Applications received without proof of a current surety bond, (or certificate of cash deposit, or a state trust account) in 
the amount of $25,000 are incomplete and will not be processed. 

Surety Bond 
The bonding information you submit must be consistent with the information that is currently on 
file with the Division. A copy of the original bond filed with the Division is not acceptable proof 
of a current bond. Contact your bonding company for a continuation certificate or written 
verification that the bond is still in full force and in effect, or if you have been issued a new 
bond at any time during the licensing period and did not submit it to the Division at the time of 
issue, submit the new original signed and sealed bond and power of attorney with this renewal 
application. 

—  and/or  —

Certificate of Cash Deposit  
No information is required if you have a certificate of cash deposit on file with the Division. 

Electrical or Communications 

Mechanical or Plumbing 

(Attach additional pages as necessary) 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/ead4102.pdf
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Part V Insurance Requirements
You must provide proof of general liability insurance and provide workers’ compensation insurance to the extent 
required under AS 23.30. 

You must provide evidence of general liability insurance: 

General Liability Insurance 
You must submit a certificate or proof of insurance listing the insured exactly as licensed, 
including the name of the insurance provider, policy number, commencement date, and 
expiration date. 

And, check one of these two workers’ compensation insurance options:

WITH Employees:  Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
If your business uses employee labor, or if your business is a corporation without executive 
officer waivers, you must submit proof of workers’ compensation insurance by a certificate of 
insurance issued by a carrier authorized by the Alaska Division of Insurance to transact business 
in Alaska. This certificate must include the name of the insured exactly as licensed, name of the 
insurance provider, policy number, commencement date and expiration date. A policy with “AOS” 
or “All Other States” endorsement will only be accepted if the certificate specifically states 
“covers activities in Alaska.”  

If your workers’ compensation excludes owners or officers, you must provide an executive officer 
waiver if a corporation. 

Select your Business Type: 

Sole Proprietor 
Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) 
Limited Liability Company (LLC) 
Corporation  —  WITH an executive officer waiver 
Corporation  —  WITHOUT an executive officer waiver 

For questions regarding workers’ compensation coverage requirements, contact the Alaska 
Workers’ Compensation Division Special Investigations Unit at (907) 269-4002. 

WITHOUT Employees:  Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
There are no exemptions for family, friends, or non-residents, or for part-time or temporary jobs. 
Alaska labor laws, not business owners, determine employee status. Misclassification of 
employee status is a crime under AS 23.30.250. Do not classify workers as “independent 
contractors” without calling the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division Special Investigations 
Unit at 907-269-4002. 

Select your Business Type: 

Sole Proprietor 
Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) 
Limited Liability Company (LLC) 
Corporation  —  proof of coverage certificate or executive officer waiver or a 
certificate of self-insurance is attached 
Corporations must submit proof of current workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage issued by your provider, or a copy of an executive officer waiver, or a 
self-insurance certificate issued by the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division. 
Contact the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division at (907) 465-2790 with 
questions concerning executive officer waivers or self-insurance.   
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PART VI Professional Fitness

The following question must be answered. A “Yes” answer may not automatically result in license denial.  

If you answer “Yes”, please explain dates and circumstances on a separate piece of paper, signed and dated, and send 
any supporting documents that are applicable (court records, judgments, charging documents, etc.).  

Since the date of your last application for an Alaska general contractor license: 

1. Since the date of your last application for a general contractor license have you or 
an owner, partner, corporate officer, or managing member had a professional 
license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, conditioned, or limited 
or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on probation, 
reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in 
connection with a professional license you hold in any jurisdiction including Alaska 
and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?

 Yes No 

Before mailing this renewal application, have you... 

 completed all questions in the form? 

 attached the required bond and insurance documents? Copies of certificates are acceptable. 

 attached your check for fees payable to the State of Alaska or credit card payment form? 

 signed and dated the renewal form?  

 attached explanations and supporting documents for any “Yes” responses? 

PART VII Signature

WARNING: The Division may deny, suspend or revoke the license or registration of a person who has obtained or 
attempted to obtain a license or registration by fraud or deceit. The person may also be subject to criminal charges 
for unsworn falsification.  (AS 11.56.210) 

I certify that the information in this application, including the attached insurance and bonding documents, is true and 
correct, and that I am the owner of this general contractor license if it is a sole proprietorship or partnership, or that I 
am an authorized agent or managing partner of this business if it is a corporation or LLC. 

Printed or Typed Name: 

Applicant’s Signature: Date: 
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APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program, but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office, complete with all 
correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. If the application is incomplete, the applicant will be notified of the incomplete and/or 
incorrect documents and fees. When the application is complete and correct and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid 
the license will be issued and sent to you with a cover letter about Alaska statutory requirements. If the application is not approved for licensure, a written 
explanation of the basis of that denial and information on how to appeal the decision will be provided. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for 
processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.  

LICENSE TERM:  
There is no “inactive” status. If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of 
even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial 
expiration date. One renewal notice will be mailed at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known address of record. 

“YES” RESPONSES: 
A “Yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “Yes” to any professional fitness questions in the 
application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and both charging and closing court documentation. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local 
governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals.  If your license is randomly selected for audit, 
you will be sent a letter and required to submit copies of documentation and proof that you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as you stated 
on this renewal form.  Please note that licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program 
chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:  
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and 
address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the Division will be used to send renewals and all 
other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name. 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:   
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that 
are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the Division before a professional license is issued or renewed for 
an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement form 
located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov or contact the Division for a copy of the form. 

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS FOR EXAMINATION: 
Programs under the jurisdiction of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing are administered in accordance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. If you require a special accommodation when taking the licensing examination, you must submit an Application for Examination 
Accommodations for Candidates with Disabilities form (08-4214). 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. 
Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the Division’s website at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.gov under License 
Search. 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of 
the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the Division will send notification to the last known 
address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be 
refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued and all fees will be forfeited. 

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT AND STUDENT LOANS:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary 
Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at 
(907) 269-6900, or the Postsecondary Education office at (907) 465-2962 or (800) 441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed 
separately. For more information about business licenses, call (907) 465-2550 or online at:  BusinessLicense.Alaska.gov 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:  
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the Division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact 
method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to: 

REGULATIONS SPECIALIST 
Email: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 110806  
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 

! General Information 

http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4372.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/Portals/5/pub/adm4214.pdf
http://commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ProfessionalLicenseSearch.aspx
http://businesslicense.alaska.gov/
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov
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For security purposes please do not email credit card information. Mail this credit card payment 
form to the Division. Completion of this form is not proof of payment until the Division processes the 
information. If any information on this form is illegible, the form will be rejected. 

Name of Applicant or Licensee:  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Type of License:  _____________________________________________________ License Number (if applicable):    ____________________________________ 

 I wish t o mak
 

e payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):   Amount

Application Fee:  __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

License or Renewal Fee:  __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

Other (name change, wall certificate, fine, duplicate license, exam, etc.):  

1. __________________________________________________________________ _______________________ 

2. __________________________________________________________________ _______________________

Total:  _______________________ 

Name (as shown on credit card):  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:  ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone:  ______________________________________________          Email (optional):       ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

Credit Card Type:                     VISA              — or —                         Mastercard 

   Signature of Credit Card Holder: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________

VISA or Mastercard Number: __________________________________________________________       Expiration Date: ______________________________ 

This section below the dotted line will be destroyed upon processing of the payment. 

State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 
Phone: (907) 465-2550

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY THE STATE 

ALASKA of 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
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