Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

## **Board of Public Accountancy**

550 West 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501

Email: BoardOfPublicAccountancy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfPublicAccountancy

# nt FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

# CPA or Public Accountant License Renewal January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2025

- Your license lapses after December 31, 2023. There is no grace period it is illegal to work if your license has lapsed.
- Emailed applications will not be accepted.

PART I Payment of Fees

- Make checks and money orders payable to the State of Alaska or use the attached credit card payment form.
- Plan on a 4–6-week processing time for correct and complete renewal applications.
- Once the renewal is processed, your license certificate will be available for printing via the MY LICENSE self-service portal.

	Certified Public Accountant (for licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2022)  \$300.0					\$300.00
Renewal Fee:		Prorated Certified Public Ad (for licenses first issued on a	\$150.00			
		Non- Certified Public Accou	Non- Certified Public Accountant			\$200.00
			nactive License – Must Check if Applicable nactive licensees may not practice public accountancy).			\$200.00
Late Renewal:		Delayed Renewal Penalty (for licenses which have lapsed for longer than 60 days)			\$100.00	
PART II Personal Information						
Full Legal Name: Name change:				AK Public Acco CPA License Nu		
If you have I	had a legal n	ame change since your last licen	se was issued, yo	u must complete a	Change of Na	<u>me</u> form.
Mailing Address: Address change:	.O. Box or Stre	eet	City		State	Zip
Contact Phone:				Date of Birth:		
<b>EMAIL AGREEMENT:</b> By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure.						
Email Address:	nail Address:  Select One:  Send my Correspondence Electrons Send my Correspondence by Ma					
Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically.						
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: AS 08.01.100 requires you to provide your United States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure.						

PA	RT III	CPAs Without SSNs	
	By check Business the three board:	assN and have provided it above. (If you check this box, you can skip the rest of this section.) have an SSN.  ing this box, I certify that I understand that based on a new policy implemented by the Alaska Division, and Professional Licensing that took effect on January 31, 2023, in order to qualify for renewal exitems listed below. I understand that if I do not provide these items, my licensure renewal markequest for SSN Exemption Form (#08-4372)  Proof of citizenship in a foreign nation; and A letter from the Social Security Administration issued within 12 months preceding the applicate legal ineligibility for a U.S. SSN. (Letters denying an SSN on the basis of an error or incompleteness adequate to establish ineligibility.)	, I need to provide y be denied by the ion demonstrating
PA	RT IV	Professional Fitness Questions	
For ea (#08-4 specif Document The contract	nch "yes" r 1752) appe ic circums mentation ontents or ning to exp	esponse to any question, you must provide an explanation and documentation. Use the letter of ended to this application; include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or particulations. A separate letter of explanation form must be provided for each "yes" answer documents or court orders, charging documents, board, or license actions, etc.  If licensing files are generally considered public records. If you believe that the additional information of the granted.	es involved, and umented below.
		When in doubt, disclose and explain.	
1.	Have purp offer intox licen a ple	e the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed: e you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? For oses of this question, "crime" includes but is not limited to a misdemeanor, felony, or a military use, including a conviction involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while dicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked se. "Convicted" includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered as of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended osition of sentence, or a fine.	☐ Yes ☐ No
2.	Have cond prob conn	e the date your last Alaska license was issued or renewed:  e you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, litioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on ation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in lection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and ding that of any military authorities, or is any such action pending?	☐ Yes ☐ No
	"Yes	If you answered "yes" to any of the above questions, you must submit significantly answers	gned and dated

documentation explaining the specific circumstance(s) of the incident(s).

# PART V Continuing Education

lease o	ease complete the following table with the appropriate category for your license category:					
1.	Renewing as Active License (					
2.	Changing from Inactive to Active License (Submitting CE for first-time review)					
3. 4.	Renewing Inactive Status (No	ctive Status Prior to Renewal <i>(CE hours due)</i>				
5.		for the First Time (No CE hours due)				
6.	Late Renewal (Indicate if CE					
1.	Continuing Education Requi	rements for Active Licenses				
		ing the licensing period January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023, at least 80 hours of with a minimum of 20 hours completed in 2022 and 20 hours completed in 2023.				
	I did not complete at le explanation.)	east 20 hours per year in 2022 and 2023. (Must fill out the table below and attach a written				
	I certify that during the continuing education h	January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023 licensing period, I have completed the following tours:				
	2022 Hours: (20 hour minimum)					
	2023 Hours: (20 hour minimum)					
	Total Hours:					
- or	-					
2.	Inactive Licenses					
	☐ I am not subject to con	tinuing education requirements for this renewal because my license is in inactive status.				
- or	_	,				
3.		rements for Inactive Licensees Who Want to Resume Active Practice				
	To resume the active practi meet the following requirer	ice of public accounting in the next licensure period, an individual with "inactive" status must ment:				
	the immediate past 36	attached copies of certificates documenting 120 hours of continuing education earned during months. I acknowledge that these hours will not satisfy continuing education requirements wal of the reactivated permit.				
- or	-					
4.	4. Continuing Education Requirements for Licensees Who Reinstated or Changed to Active Status Prior to this Renewal					
		ed or the status was changed to active at any time during January 1, 2022 through December otained continuing education in accordance with 12 AAC 04.430(d) as appropriate.				
	10 hours of approved reinstated and Decemb	continuing education for each full calendar quarter between the date that the license was per 31, 2023.				
	80 hours of approved co	ontinuing education between the date that the license was reinstated and December 31, 2023.				
- or	-					
5.	5. Continuing Education Requirements if Your Initial License was Issued after January 1, 2022					
	I am not subject to continuing education requirements for this renewal only because my original license was issued on or after January 1, 2022.					

# PART V Continuing Education (continued)

6.	. Late Renewal Applicants: Applications Postmarked After December 31, 2023						
		I have checked the appropriate box above to certify the method in which I successfully meet the continuing education requirements.					
		Please review the definition of "practice of public accounting" below:  "Practice of public accounting" means the offering to perform or the performance as a person holding a licent practice privilege, or permit under this chapter of a service involving the use of accounting or auditing skills; in the paragraph, "accounting or auditing skills" includes preparing financial statements, issuing reports on financial statements, furnishing management services, furnishing financial advisory services, providing consulting service preparing tax returns, advising on tax matters, or consulting on tax matters.  Holding yourself out as a CPA includes continuing to use the CPA designation on forms, business cards, websites, experiments are provided in the provided in the performance as a person holding a licent practice private as a person holding a licent practice private private provided in the performance as a person holding a licent practice private preparation of accounting or auditing skills; in the paragraph, "accounting or auditing skills" includes preparing financial statements, issuing reports on financial advisory services, providing consulting services.					
		Have you practiced public accounting or held yourself out as a CPA while your license has been lapsed?					
		Yes – You must submit a written explanation.					
		□ No					
- or	-						
		I did not complete all required continuing education during the time period of January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023. (You must submit a written explanation.)					
		Please review the definition of "practice of public accounting" below:					
		"Practice of public accounting" means the offering to perform or the performance as a person holding a license, practice privilege, or permit under this chapter of a service involving the use of accounting or auditing skills; in this paragraph, "accounting or auditing skills" includes preparing financial statements, issuing reports on financial statements, furnishing management services, furnishing financial advisory services, providing consulting services, preparing tax returns, advising on tax matters, or consulting on tax matters.  Holding yourself out as a CPA includes continuing to use the CPA designation on forms, business cards, websites, etc.					
		Have you practiced public accounting or held yourself out as a CPA while your license has been lapsed?					
		Yes – You must submit a written explanation.					
		□ No					

## **Quality Review Reporting PART VI** All licensees (including inactive license holders and those changing from active to inactive) must complete the table below. Read carefully and select the appropriate box: I am not required to complete a quality review in accordance with 12 AAC 04.600 because during the full licensing period of January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023, I was an employee or partner or member or shareholder of a licensed public accounting firm. Any reports on audited or reviewed financial statements were performed under the firm's name. Name of Firm: I have attached a copy of the most recent acceptance report verifying that I have undergone a quality review in accordance with 12 AAC 04.600 within the past three years. I certify that I remained in good standing with the organization that administered the quality review. I have completed a quality review during the concluding licensing period January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023 and agree to submit the acceptance report required by 12 AAC 04.600 within the next 180 days. I understand that the acceptance report to be submitted may not be used to satisfy quality review reporting requirements for subsequent renewal. My first report on audited or reviewed financial statements was issued on or after January 1, 2023. I agree to undergo a quality review in accordance with 12 AAC 04.620 within 18 months after the date of the first completed report on audited or reviewed financial statements.

I am not required to complete a quality review in accordance with 12 AAC 04.600 because I did not issue any reports on audited or reviewed financial statements during the concluding licensing period of January 1, 2022 through December 31,

Date of First Report:

2023.

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

### **Board of Public Accountancy**

550 West 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501

Email: BoardOfPublicAccountancy@Alaska.Gov

Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfPublicAccountancy

Applicant Name:				
PART VII Agre	eement			
I hereby certify that I am the person herein named and subscribing to this application and that I have read the complete application, and I know the full content thereof. I declare that all of the information contained herein, and evidence or other documents submitted herewith are true and correct.				
I understand that any falsification or misrepresentation of any item or response in this application, or any attachment hereto, or falsification or misrepresentation of documents to support this application, is sufficient grounds for denying, revoking, or otherwise disciplining a license, certificate, or permit to practice in the state of Alaska.				
I further understand that it is a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.				
Applicant Printed Name:		Title:		
Applicant Signature:		Date Signed:		

#### **General Information**

#### **APPLICATION PROCESSING:**

The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

#### LISTSERV:

Subscribe at http://list.state.ak.us/mailman/listinfo/Commerce.CPA to receive news and updates from the Alaska Board of Public Accountancy.

#### LICENSE TERM:

If you choose not to renew your license, it will lapse. Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date are issued to the next biennial expiration date. Renewal applications become available 30-90 days prior to the expiration date. One renewal notice will be sent via email or mail at least 30 days before license expiration to the last known email or mailing address of record. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not alleviate the requirement to renew the license if you wish to continue providing services in Alaska.

#### PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS:

A "yes" response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded "yes" to any professional fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement.

#### **RANDOM AUDIT:**

If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency requirements as stated on this renewal form. Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits.

#### **ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:**

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

#### **SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:**

AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is issued or renewed for an individual.

#### **APPLICANTS WITHOUT SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:**

Effective January 31, 2023, the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing established a new policy related to social security numbers (SSNs). As a result, licensees who do not possess a US SSN will need to provide the following with the application for any professional license (including CPA licenses): Request for SSN Exemption form (#08-4372, located at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov*), proof of citizenship in a foreign nation, and a letter from the Social Security Administration issued within 12 months preceding the application demonstrating legal ineligibility for a U.S. SSN. (Letters denying an SSN on the basis of an error or incompleteness are not considered adequate to establish ineligibility). Applicants who do not provide their SSN and who are not deemed legally ineligible to hold one (by providing the three items listed above) may be denied licensure or renewal of licensure by the board. We apologize for any additional burden or inconvenience this creates for our licensees.

#### **PUBLIC INFORMATION:**

Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division's website at *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov* under License Search.

#### **ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:**

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

#### **PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:**

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

#### **STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:**

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below.

**Regulations Specialist** 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov



# THE STATE of ALASKA

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

#### **Professional Licensing**

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: License@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov

# Letter of Explanation for a Professional Fitness "Yes" Answer

Use this form only to explain and document any professional fitness "yes" answers. A "yes" answer is not necessarily disqualifying but concealing one may be.

Each "yes" answer requires a separate explanation and associated documentation. Submit all relevant documentation with this form, even if you have previously provided it.

- **Explanations** include full details, dates, locations, type of action, organizations or parties involved, and specific circumstances. If the space provided is insufficient, make additional copies as needed.
- **Documentation** includes copies of court orders, charging documents, board or license actions, decisions against your professional certification, satisfaction of consent agreements (fines paid, community service completed, off probation, etc.), and fitness to practice letters (statement from your provider that you are safe to practice if you check "yes" to any of the questions regarding mental or physical health, or drug or alcohol abuse or addiction).
- **Disciplinary actions** may include, but not be limited to, suspension, surrender, revocation, probation, academic probation, reprimand, censure, restricted license, limited license, conditioned license, or letters of counseling, concern, advice, warning, caution, admonishment, or reprimand.

If you have multiple "yes" answers or multiple incidents for any professional fitness question, you must use a separate copy of this form and provide a full explanation and documentation for each incident.

The contents of licensing files are public records. If you believe that the additional information you are attaching to explain a "yes" answer should be considered confidential, state that in the attachment. A request for confidentiality may or may not be granted according to state law.

Write the professional fitness question number you are answering "yes" to in the box.						
Location of Incident:					Date of Incident	::
Explanation of Inc When in doubt, and explain. Make copies as ne	disclose					
Did you attach all	applicabl	le documents associated w	ith this incid	ent?		
☐ Court Orders ☐ Consent Agreements ☐ Disciplinary Actions ☐ Charging Documents			g Documents			
Court Recor	☐ Court Records ☐ Fitness to Practice ☐ All Other Documentation Related to This Incident			is Incident		
I have additional incidents for this "yes" answer, or "yes" answers to other Professional Fitness questions and have attached a separate copy of this form for each incident.						
Full Name:					Program:	
Signature:					Date Signed:	

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811

Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form			
All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit car credit card payment form with your application.	d information. Include this		
Name of Applicant or Licensee:			
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):			
License Number (if applicable):			
I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):	AMOUNT		
Application Fee:			
License or Renewal Fee:			
Other (fine, exam, etc.):			
1			
2			
TOTAL	<b>:</b>		
Name (as shown on credit card):			
Mailing Address:			
Phone Number: Email (optional):			
Signature of Credit Card Holder:			
08-4438 Rev 12/06/2022 Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)			
CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless a	Il fields are completed!		
1. Credit Card Number:	All 3 fields <b>MUST</b> be completed!		
2. Expiration Date: 3. Security Code:	This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.		