
   MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION AND FEES TO: CPA
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 
Anchorage, AK  99501 
Phone: (907) 269-4712  Fax: (907) 269-8156 
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ/ 

For Division Use Only

APPLICATION TO RESUME ACTIVE PRACTICE  
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT LICENSE 

Please refer to the last page of this application for information concerning reactivation of an inactive license.  The current 
fee for reactivation is $150.00.   

All applicants for reactivation to active status must submit documentation of 120 hours of continuing education in the 36 
months immediately before the date of the application for reactivation to active status. 
 

 

List all Jurisdictions in which you hold or have held licenses to practice public accountancy.  

State or Jurisdiction License or Permit Number First Issue Date Expiration Date Periods of Lapse?
 
 

 
   

 
 

 
 
 

  

 
 

 
   

 
 

 
 

 
   

 
 

 

PAST EXPERIENCE 

Are you presently in practice?   Yes    No  If yes, give business name and location.  Number of years:   
 
  

(Street)      (City, State, ZIP Code) 

Have you practiced public accountancy in Alaska during the period your license was in inactive status?    Yes       No 

If you answered “yes” to the question above, you must attach a written explanation. 
 

CONTINUED ON REVERSE 
08-4635 (Rev. 03/03/14)  

Full Legal Name: 
Last                                         First                                         Middle   

Alaska CPA  
License Number: 

 

Mailing Address:  

Is this a change  
of address? 

 Yes         No 

Address  

City                                                                                   State                                                          Zip Code 

Daytime Phone:               Date of Birth:  

E-Mail Address:  
I prefer correspondence via: 

 Email   U.S. Mail 

APPLICANT: As required by state law, please provide your United States 
Social Security Number. It is considered CONFIDENTIAL information and is 
not for public disclosure. (per AS 08.01.100) Social Security Number 



 

PERSONAL DATA 

Since the date of your last application for an Alaska CPA or PA license: 
         YES NO 

a. Have you had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted, 
conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed on 
probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority in 
connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska and 
including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending? 
 

   

b. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime? 
For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense, 
including but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated 
(DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked 
license.  “Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having 
entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a 
suspended imposition of sentence, or a fine. 
 

   

c. Have you ever had the right to practice before a federal or state agency denied, 
suspended, or revoked?  
 

   

d. Have you ever been convicted of any crime of which dishonesty or fraud was an 
essential element under the laws of any state or of the United States? 
 

   

e. Have you ever been found guilty of gross negligence in the practice of public accounting, 
or other acts discreditable to the accounting profession? 
 

   

f. Have you ever committed an act in another state for which the holder of a license or 
permit would be subject to discipline in Alaska? 
 

   

g. Have you ever had an application for a fidelity or surety bond denied?  

If so, what date?  

Name of Surety Company 

Address  

   

 
If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, please submit a detailed statement of explanation and legal 
documentation, if applicable.  All information supplied with applications is considered public information except 
information considered confidential by state or federal law.  Information about licensees, including mailing 
addresses, is available from the Division’s website at:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under License Search. 

I CERTIFY THAT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, the statements contained in this application are true and correct, 
and that all credentials supplied by me to support my application are true and correct.  I understand that any falsification of 
credentials may result in failure to obtain certification in the State of Alaska or subsequent revocation of my license. 
 
 
 

  
Signature of Applicant 

 
  
Date of Application 

 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this   day of     , 20 . 
 
 

NOTARY SEAL         
Notary Public 

 
My Commission Expires:    
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EVIDENCE SUBSTANTIATING ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS 
 MUST BE SUBMITTED ALONG WITH THIS FORM 
 
 I.  EDUCATION PROGRAMS ATTENDED 

ATTACH A SEPARATE SHEET AS NECESSARY 
 

COMPLETE NAME AND ADDRESS OF PROGRAM 
SPONSOR, I.E., SCHOOL FIRM OR ORGANIZATION 

CONDUCTING PROGRAM INCLUDING CHAPTER 
LOCATION OR BRANCH OFFICE, ETC. 

 
LOCATION OF 

PROGRAM (CITY)

 
TITLE OF PROGRAM OR 

DESCRIPTION OF CONTENT 

 
 

DATES ATTENDED 
(DAY, MONTH, YEAR)

 
HOURS 

CLAIMED

 
1 

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

 
2 

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

 
3 

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

 
4 

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

 
5 

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

TOTAL
 
 II.  CORRESPONDENCE OR INDIVIDUAL STUDY PROGRAMS 
 

 
COMPLETE NAME AND ADDRESS OF PROGRAM 

SPONSOR, I.E., SCHOOL FIRM OR ORGANIZATION 
CONDUCTING PROGRAM INCLUDING CHAPTER 

LOCATION OR BRANCH OFFICE, ETC. 

 
TITLE OR PROGRAM OR 

DESCRIPTION OF CONTENT 

 
DATES COMPLETED 
(DAY, MONTH, YEAR) 

 
HOURS 

CLAIMED 

 
    
 
    
 
    
 
    
 
 

TOTAL
 

 
 III.  SPEAKER, DISCUSSION LEADER OR INSTRUCTOR 
(30 hours per licensing period maximum) 
 

COMPLETE NAME AND ADDRESS OF PROGRAM 
SPONSOR, I.E., SCHOOL FIRM OR ORGANIZATION 

CONDUCTING PROGRAM INCLUDING CHAPTER 
LOCATION OR BRANCH OFFICE, ETC. 

 
 

LOCATION OF 
PROGRAM (CITY)

 
 

TITLE OF PROGRAM OR 
DESCRIPTION OF CONTENT 

 
 

DATE OF 
PROGRAM 

 
HOURS CLAIMED 

 
PREPARATION

 
PRESENTATION

 
 

 
   

 
  

 
 

 
   

 
  

 
 

 
   

 
  

 
 
 

 TOTAL 
 
  

 
 IV.  PUBLISHED ARTICLES AND BOOKS 

PUBLISHER TITLE OF PUBLICATION DATE 
PUBLISHED

HOURS CLAIMED 
ARTICLE 

ATTACHED?
 
 

 
  

  

 
 

 
  

 

TOTAL 
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GRAND TOTAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS 



12 AAC 04.430. INACTIVE LICENSES. (a) To obtain or renew an inactive license under AS 08.04.410, 
the holder of a license must submit  

(1) an application on a form provided by the department; and  
(2) the fee set out in 12 AAC 02.340(5).  

(b) To resume the active practice of public accounting, the holder of an inactive license must submit  
 (1) an application on a form provided by the department; 

(2) the applicable fee set out in 12 AAC 02.340; and  
(3) documentation that shows the applicant’s completion of at least 120 hours of approved 

continuing education, in accordance with 12 AAC 04.310 – 12 AAC 04.410, during the 36 months 
immediately before the date of the application; no more than 16 of the hours required in this paragraph 
may be from continuing education programs described in 12 AAC 04.360(5).  
(c) The hours of continuing education required in (b) of this section do not satisfy the continuing 
education requirement for a subsequent renewal of the reactivated license.  
(d) Notwithstanding 12 AAC 04.300, a licensee whose license has been reactivated under this section 
shall complete at least  

(l) 10 hours of approved continuing education for each full calendar quarter between the date that 
the license was reactivated and the next renewal date; or  

(2) repealed 7/25/2001;  
(3) 80 hours of approved continuing education between the date that the permit was reactivated 

and the next renewal date.  
 
Authority: AS 08.04.070  AS 08.04.410   AS 08.04.425 
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