
Dental Hygiene Nitrous Oxide Certification Application Instructions 
No dental hygienist may administer nitrous oxide without a certificate issued by the Board. 

A certification to administer nitrous oxide sedation expires on the date the dental hygienists’ license expires or is revoked or 
suspended. There is no renewal of the certification. 

The certificate remains active as long as the holder's dental hygiene license is active and in good standing. 

The following must be received by the division before your application for Dental Hygiene Nitrous Oxide Certification 
can be reviewed:   

1. APPLICATION
A completed, signed, and notarized application (#08-4748).

2. FEES
Fees made payable to “State of Alaska.”
Nonrefundable Application Fee:   $100.00 
One-Time Certification Fee:   $100.00 

Total Fees Due:   $200.00 

3. COURSE VERIFICATION
A completed course verification form (#08-4748a) with university or college seal and a course description or outline from the
university or college verifying compliance with 12 AAC 28.345 -- submitted directly to the Alaska Board of Dental Examiners by the
school.

HOW CAN YOU HELP? 
1. Average processing time to complete the application file is from 6-8 weeks. Apply far enough in advance to allow this

process to occur. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office.
2. If you are concerned about your application being received in our office, mail it Certified-Return Receipt.
3. Ensure that the application is complete when you submit it and provide any necessary explanations with the application.

Print legibly or type your application.

Applications will be processed according to the date received. You will be notified in writing as soon as your application has been 
reviewed. 

The Alaska State Board of Dental Examiners conducts a thorough evaluation of education, training, employment or work history, 
malpractice history, and any criminal or disciplinary history. The Board will not accelerate one application over others, nor will it forego 
any elements of its screening process. 
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General Information 

APPLICATION PROCESSING: 
The average time to process a paper application varies by program but can take several weeks from the date it is received in this office 
complete with all correct forms, supporting documents and appropriate fees paid. When the application is complete and correct, and 
all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license will be issued. Start the process far enough in 
advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not 
expect immediate review.  

PROFESSIONAL FITNESS QUESTIONS: 
A “yes” response in the application does not mean your application will be denied. If you have responded “yes” to any professional 
fitness questions in the application, be sure to submit a signed and dated explanation, and the charging document and judgement. 

DENIAL OF APPLICATION: 
Please be aware that the denial of an application of licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, 
state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT: 
If your program requires continuing education, the Division will audit a percentage of the license renewals. If your license is randomly 
selected for audit, a letter will be sent with instructions to submit documentation as proof you satisfied the continuing competency 
requirements as stated on this renewal form.  Licensees are randomly selected by computer and may be randomly selected as often 
as the computer program chooses. You must save your documents for at least four years so you can respond to audits. 

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE: 
In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's/licensee's responsibility to notify the Division, in writing, of changes of address 
or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the Division’s website. The address of record with the division 
will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications and correspondence. The name appearing on the license must be your 
current legal name. 

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:  
If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or 
court documents that are notarized as a “certified true copy of the original document”. To obtain a certified true copy, you must 
present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, “I certify this is a true copy of the original 
document” and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS: 
AS 08.01.060 and 08.01.100 require that a U.S. Social Security Number be on file with the division before a professional license is 
issued or renewed for an individual. If you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number, please complete the Request for Exemption 
from Social Security Number Requirement form (#08-4372) located at ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov or contact the division for a 
copy of the form. This form is required with every application if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number. 

PUBLIC INFORMATION: 
Please be aware that all information on the application form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by 
state or federal law. Information about current licensees, including mailing addresses, is available on the division’s website at 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov under License Search. 

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:  
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received 
from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division 
will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial 
license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no 
refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited. 

BUSINESS LICENSES: 
The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business 
licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov 

STALE DOCUMENTS: 
Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division 
will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division 
or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing 
jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915) 

08-4748 (Rev. 04/04/2023)  General Information  Page 1 of 2 

ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov
BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov


PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:  
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a 
nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues. 

PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM: 
All actively licensed practitioners with a DEA registration number valid to use in any state or practice location must register with the 
Alaska Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) within 30 days of initial licensure and use the PDMP to review a patient’s 
prescription history each time before prescribing, administering, or dispensing a federally scheduled II or III controlled substance. For 
more information, please visit PDMP.Alaska.Gov 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: 
The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division’s website: 
ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 

If you would like to receive notice of all proposed regulation changes for your program, please send a request in writing with your 
name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the specific program you want to be updated on to the address below. 

Regulations Specialist 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
EMAIL: RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov 
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Nitrous Oxide Certification Application 

PART I Payment of Fees 

Required Fees: 
Nonrefundable Application Fee  $100.00 

One-Time Certificate Fee   $100.00 

PART II Personal Information 

Full Legal Name: 

Provide all other names used (maiden, nicknames, aliases).  If any documentation will be received in a prior name, you must 
provide a certified true copy of the documentation showing proof of legal name change(s). 

 Not Applicable 

 Other Names Used: 

Mailing Address: 
P.O. Box or Street      City    State     Zip 

Contact Phone: Date of Birth:  

EMAIL AGREEMENT: By choosing to receive correspondence on any matter affecting my license or other business with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business 
and Professional Licensing, I agree to maintain an accurate email address through the MY LICENSE web page. I understand that failure to check my email account or 
to keep the email address in good standing may result in an inability to receive crucial information, potentially resulting in my inability to obtain or maintain licensure. 

Email Address:  Select One:  Send my Correspondence Electronically 

Send my Correspondence by Mail 

Note: If both boxes are selected above, you will receive correspondence electronically. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  AS 08.01.060 requires you to provide your United 
States Social Security Number. It is considered confidential information and will  
not be publicly disclosed; it may be used to verify inter-state licensure. 
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PART III Nitrous Oxide Administration Training Information 
Name of College, 
University, or Program:  

Location: 
(City, State) 

Dates Attended: Degree: 

PART IV Professional History 

AK Dental Hygiene License Number: Original Issue Date 

List all other states where you are licensed or certified to administer nitrous oxide:  

State or Jurisdiction License Number Issue Date 
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Notary Signature Page 

PART V Notarized Signature 

I hereby certify that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I further 
certify that all credentials supplied by me are true and correct. I understand that any false information or falsification of 
credentials may result in failure to obtain a nitrous oxide certificate in the State of Alaska. 

I have read the Alaska Dental Hygiene Practice Act. I solemnly declare upon my honor that, if granted a nitrous oxide 
certificate in Alaska, I will respectfully comply with any law governing the administration of nitrous oxide in this state, and 
I will do my best to uphold and maintain the ethics of the profession. 

By my signature below, I certify that all information furnished in this application is true and correct. I understand that it is 
a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn 
falsification. 

Applicant Printed 
Name: 

Applicant 
Signature: 

Notary Public for 
State of: 

Subscribed and Sworn to 
Before me on this Day: 

Notary Signature: 
My Commission 
Expires: 
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Course Verification 

I am applying for a certificate to allow me to administer nitrous oxide in the State of Alaska. The Board of Dental Examiners requires 
that this form be completed by the institution where I received my training in administering nitrous oxide. I hereby release all academic 
records necessary to complete the following form for the Board of Dental Examiners.  

Please complete this form and attach a course description or course outline of the nitrous oxide curriculum and return it directly to 
the letterhead address or email above. 

Full Name:  

Other Names Used: 

Signature:  Date Signed: 

Applicant:  Do Not Write Below This Line -  Institution Use Only

Institution Name:  

Institution Address:  
    Street     City     State      Zip 

Course Title:  Date Completed: 

Check the appropriate boxes below that describe the content of the course attended by the applicant. 

1. A minimum of three hours of clinical instruction sufficient to establish the ability to inspect,
operate, and decontaminate nitrous oxide delivery and scavenging systems; properly induce
nitrous oxide sedation; and recognize and counteract complications?

Yes No 

2. A minimum of three hours of didactic instruction including sedation techniques; physiology of
respiration and pharmacology of nitrous oxide; nitrous oxide machines; induction techniques; and
complications and their management?

Yes No 

3. Procedures for determining whether the dental hygienist has acquired the necessary knowledge
and proficiency to administer nitrous oxide sedation?

Yes No 

4. Is the organization providing the course accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation
(CODA) of the American Dental Association?

Yes No 
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 Signature 

I have attached a copy of the course description and/or course outline with this form. 

I hereby certify that the above information regarding the training in administrating nitrous oxide that the above-named applicant 
completed is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and that he/she has acquired the necessary knowledge and 
proficiency to perform nitrous oxide sedation. 

Program Administrator 
Printed Name: 

Program Administrator 
Signature:  
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All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, do not email credit card information. Include this 
credit card payment form with your application.  

Name of Applicant or Licensee: _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):   __________________________________________________________________ 

License Number (if applicable):    ___________________________________________________________________________

I wish to make payment by credit card for the following (check all that apply):         AMOUNT  

Application Fee:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

License or Renewal Fee:      _________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

Other (fine, exam, etc.):  _________________________________________________________________________________   __________________________

1. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________ 

2. _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________

        TOTAL:                 ___________________________

Name (as shown on credit card):   _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address:            _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone Number:   ________________________________________________________      Email (optional):               ____________________________________________________________

Signature of Credit Card Holder:          ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 08-4438                   Rev 12/06/2022                   Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted) 
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Credit Card Payment Form 

CREDIT CARD INFO:  Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed! 

All 3 fields MUST be 
completed! 

This section will be 
destroyed after the 

payment is processed. 

1. Credit Card Number:

2. Expiration Date:

3. Security Code:
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