
 State of Alaska 
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
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Phone: (907) 465-2543    Fax: (907) 465-2974 
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APPLICATION FOR ASSISTANT GUIDE LICENSE  

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.  ANY PORTION OF THE APPLICATION 
THAT IS NOT SUBMITTED OR COMPLETED WILL DELAY THE ISSUANCE OF YOUR LICENSE. 
Qualifications for an Assistant Guide License.  A natural person is entitled to an assistant guide license if the person 

1. is at least 18 years of age or older; 

2. has legally hunted big game in the State of Alaska for at least 30 days in a calendar year or a cumulative total of 60 
days of big game hunting activity over a period longer than two years, if at least 30 of the 60 days is spent working in a 
guide camp or supervised by a licensed guide while performing guide-related duties.  Documented completion of a 
board approved assistant guide training course may count for 10 days.  

3. possess as valid first aid (basic first aid) card issued through the American Red Cross or similar organization; 

4. submits a written recommendation from a Registered Guide-Outfitter who intends to employ the applicant as an 
Assistant Guide; and 

5. meets the eligibility requirements set out in AS 08.54.605. 
The following must be submitted to the above address: 

1. A check or money order payable to the State of Alaska as follows: 

♦ Resident license fee: $610.00  ($200.00 application fee (nonrefundable) and $410.00 license fee) 
♦ Nonresident license fee: $1020.00  ($200.00 application fee (nonrefundable) and $820.00 license fee) 

2. Completed, notarized or postmaster-stamped application. 

3. Completed “Authorization and Release” form. 

4. One complete report of criminal justice information and fish and wildlife violations under AS 12.62. The Alaska report 
can be obtained by contacting the Department of Public Safety, Alaska Wildlife Troopers at any of the following 
locations on page 3 and 4. You will need to purchase a criminal history report and make a point of asking for the fish & 
wildlife violation. 

In addition to the Alaska report, if a state other than Alaska is your primary state of residence, you must submit an 
equivalent report from your state of residency. Nonresident applicant will need to contact your state troopers office to 
obtain the report of criminal justice information and fish and wildlife violations.  

5. Verification of licensure status from each state, or Canadian jurisdiction, where you hold or have held a license to 
provide guiding, outfitting, transportation, or other hunting services license, if any, which is to be submitted directly to 
the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing from the issuing government body. 

6. Copy of valid first aid (basic first aid) card issued by the American Red Cross or similar organization. 

7. Letter of recommendation from a Registered Guide-Outfitter who intends to employ you as an Assistant Guide. 

Alaska Statute 08.54.605 Eligibility for Licenses. 
(a)  A person may not receive a registered guide-outfitter license if 
  (1)  the person has been convicted of a 
   (A)  a violation of a state or federal hunting, guiding, or transportation services statute or regulation for which 
   (i)  the person was imprisoned for more than five days within the previous five years; 
  (ii)  an unsuspended fine of more than $2,000 was imposed in the previous 12 months; 
   (iii)  an unsuspended fine of more than $3,000 was imposed in the previous 36 months; or an 

unsuspended fine of more than $5,000 was imposed in the previous 60 months; 
  (B)  a felony within the last five years; or 
  (C)  a felony offense against the person under AS 11.41 within the last 10 years; or the person’s right to obtain, or 

exercise the privileges granted by, a hunting, guiding, outfitting, or transportation services license is suspended or revoked in 
this state or another state or in Canada. 

It is unlawful for a person to guide without having a current valid guide license and Alaska hunting license in actual possession. 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
Natural Person, means a living, breathing human being, as opposed to a legal entity such as a corporation. 

Resident AS 16.05.940(27), means a person who for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the time when 
the assertion of residence is made has maintained the person’s domicile in the state and who is neither claiming 
residency in another state, territory, or country nor obtaining benefits under a claim of residency in another state, territory, 
or country; a partnership, association, joint stock company, trust, or corporation that has its main office or headquarters in 
the state; a natural person who does not otherwise qualify as a resident under this paragraph may not qualify as a 
resident by virtue of an interest in a partnership, association, joint stock company, trust, or corporation; a member of the 
military service, or United States Coast Guard, who has been stationed in the state for the 12 consecutive months 
immediately preceding the time when the assertion of residence is made; a person who is the dependent of a resident 
member of the military service, or the United States Coast Guard, and who has lived in the state for the 12 consecutive 
months immediately preceding the time when the assertion of residence is made; or an alien who for the 12 consecutive 
months immediately preceding the time when the assertion of residence is made has maintained the person’s domicile in 
the state and who is neither claiming residency in another state, territory, or country nor obtaining benefits under a claim 
of residency in another state, territory, or country. 
 
An Assistant Guide: 

1. May not contract to guide or outfit a big game hunt; 
2. Shall be employed by a Registered Guide-Outfitter and under the supervision of a Registered Guide-Outfitter or 

Class-A Assistant Guide while the Assistant Guide is in the field on guided hunts; and 
3. May not take charge of a camp or provide guide activities unless the contacting Registered Guide-Outfitter is in 

the field participating in the contacted hunt or a Registered Guide-Outfitter or Class-A employed by the 
contracting guide is physically present and supervising the hunt. 

 
 

BE ADVISED 
The Big Game Commercial Services Board will seek maximum penalties for big game commercial services license 
holders who are found to have violated a hunting, guiding and/or transportation services statute or regulation. 

 
Pilot Experience Requirements 
If you personally pilot an aircraft to transport clients during the provisions of big game commercial hunting services, you 
must show proof of a current commercial pilot’s license or 500 hours of flying time in the state (AS 08.54.680(b)). 
 
Law Enforcement Officers 
If you are a fish and game law enforcement officer for the State of Alaska, United States Department of the Interior or the 
United State Department of Agriculture, you may not hold or earn experience credits to apply for a Registered Guide-
Outfitter license while you are a law enforcement officer and for three months after termination status as a law 
enforcement officer (AS 08.54.640 (a)). 
Game Biologists 
A person who holds any class of guide license and who is employed by the Department of Fish and Game or a federal 
wildlife management agency may not, while employed by the department or agency as a game or wildlife biologist and for 
12 months after leaving employment with the department or agency as a game management or wildlife biologist, engage 
in providing big game hunting services in a game management unit in which the person conducted game or wildlife 
management or research activities for the department of agency at any time during the preceding 12 months (AS 
08.54.640(c)). 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
Social Security Numbers 
Alaska Statutes (AS) 08.01.060(b) and 08.01.100(e) require an applicant for an occupational license to provide a United 
States Social Security Number.  However, if you do not have a social security number issued to you, you may qualify for 
an exception. Contact the division and request a Request for Exception from Social Security Number Requirement (Form 
08-4372) to be mailed to you or obtain from the division web page at:  ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov 
 
Renewal 
Renewal notices are mailed at least 30 days prior to the license expiration.  It is the licensee's responsibility to ensure 
renewal of the license.  Please contact the division if you have a change of address.  Failure to receive a renewal notice 
does not excuse nonrenewal. 
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Abandoned Applications 
Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was 
last received from or on behalf of the applicant.  An abandoned application is denied without prejudice and the application 
fee is forfeited. 

Payment of Child Support and Student Loans 
If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, or if the Alaska 
Commission on Postsecondary Education has determined you are in loan default, you may be issued a nonrenewable 
temporary license valid for 150 days.  Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 or the Postsecondary Education 
office at (907) 465-2962 or 1-800-441-2962 to resolve payment issues. 
 
Please be aware that all information on this form will be available to the public, unless required to be kept confidential by 
state or federal law.  In addition, current licensee information is available on the division’s website at: 
www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ under License Search. 

Alaska State Troopers 
Department of Public Safety 

The Department of Public Safety, Criminal Records and Identification (R & I) Bureau maintains Alaska Criminal Justice 
Information. 

Alaska Criminal Justice Information may be obtained by submitting a request based on name search, there is a fee for an 
Alaska Criminal Justice Information search, please contact the Alaska State Troopers for the fee. 

BACKGROUND CHECK 

An application for Alaska Criminal Justice Information search can be obtained on-line at:  
http://www.dps.alaska.gov/statewide/background/index.asp or a request can be made in person at one of the below 
offices. 

When you appear in person, you must present two pieces of identification, one of which must be valid picture identification 
issued by a government unit (example: driver’s license or identification card, a passport or visa). 

 
LOCATIONS 

 
Anchorage DPS – R & I Monday - Friday 
5700 E. Tudor Road 8:15 am – 4:00 pm 
Anchorage, AK 99507 
907-269-5767 
 
Aniak ABWE Post Monday - Friday 
PO Box 167  8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
Aniak, AK 99557 
800-675-4398 
 
Bethel DPS  Monday - Friday 
Braun Building 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
3200 State Highway 
Bethel, AK 99559 
907-543-2294 
 
Bristol Bay PD Monday - Friday 
Building 150 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Airforce Base 
King Salmon, AK 99613 
907-246-4222 
 
Cordova DPS Monday - Friday 
711 First  8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
Cordova, AK 99574 Closed for Lunch 
907-424-3184 12:30 pm – 4:00 pm 
 
 

Fairbanks DPS Monday - Friday 
1979 Peger Road 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Fairbanks, AK 99709 
907-451-5100 
 
Fairbanks PD Monday - Friday 
(Volunteers only) 10:00 am – 6:00 pm 
911 Cushman Street 
Fairbanks, AK 99701 
907-459-6500 
 
Galena DPS By Appointment  
Old Galena Air Force Base Only 
Galena, AK 99741 
907-656-1233 
 
Girdwood DPS Monday - Friday 
Girdwood Tesoro Mall 9:00 am – 2:30 pm 
Suite 8 
Girdwood, AK 99587 
907-783-0972 
 
Haines DPS By Appointment 
159 Main Street Only 
Haines, AK 99827 
907-766-2552 
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LOCATIONS CONTINUED 

 
Delta Junction DPS Monday – Friday 
1420 Alaska Hwy 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Jarvis Bldg. 
Delta Junction, AK 99737 
907-895-4800 
 
Dillingham DPS Monday – Friday 
536 Kenny Wren Road 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Dillingham, AK 99576 
907-842-5641 
 
Homer DPS Monday – Friday 
34115 Sterling Hwy 8:30 am – 4:00 pm 
Anchor Point, AK 99556 
907-235-8239 
 
Juneau DPS Monday – Friday 
2760 Sherwood Lane 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Juneau, AK 99801 Closed for Lunch 
907-465-4000 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm 
 
Juneau R & I Monday - Friday 
450 Whitter Street 8:00 am - 12:00 pm 
Juneau, AK 99811 Closed for Lunch 
907-465-4343 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm 
 
Ketchikan DPS 24 hours a day, 
Dispatch Center seven (7) days a 
5150 N. Tongass Hwy week 
Ketchikan, AK 99901 
907-225-5118 
 
Ketchikan JS Monday - Friday 
Ketchikan State Office 8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
Building  Closed for Lunch 
415 Main Street 12:30 pm – 4:30 pm 
Room 309 
Ketchikan, AK 99901 
 
Klawock DPS By Appointment 
6729 Klawock-Hollis Hwy Only 
Klawock, AK 99925 
907-755-2918 
 
Kodiak DPS  Mon 8:00 –11:00 am 
211 Bartel Avenue Tues 8:00 – 1:00 pm 
Kodiak, AK 99615 Wed 8:00 – 11:00 am 
907-486-4121 Thurs 8:00 – 11:00 am 
   Fri 8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
 
Kotzebue DPS Monday - Friday 
240 5th Avenue 8:00 am – 4:30 pm 
Kotzebue, AK 99752 
907-442-3222 
 
Nome DPS  Monday - Friday 
245 Front Street 8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
Nome, AK 99762 Closed for Lunch 
907-443-2835 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm 
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North Slope Borough PD Monday – Friday 
1068 Kiogak 8:30 am – 4:30 pm 
Barrow, AK 99723 
907-852-6111 
 
Palmer DPS Wed 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
453 S. Valley Road Fri 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Palmer, AK 99645  
907-745-2131 
 
08-4013 (Rev. 05/25/07)   
Seward DPS Monday – Friday 
City Hall  8:00 am – 12:00 pm 
5th Adams Streets Closed for Lunch 
Seward, AK 99664 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm 
907-224-3346 
 
Sitka Training Academy Monday – Friday 
877 Sawmill Creek Hwy. 8:00 am – 4:30 pm 
Sitka, AK 99835 
907-747-6611 
 
Soldotna DPS Monday - Friday 
46333 Kalifornsky Beach Rd 8:30 am – 4:00 pm 
Soldotna, AK 99669 
907-260-2700 
 
Talkeetna DPS Monday - Friday 
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
12.5 Mile Talkeetna Spur Rd 
Talkeetna, AK 99676 
907-733-2256 
 
Tok DPS  Monday – Friday 
1314.5 Alaska Hwy 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Tok, AK 99780 
907-883-4471 
 
Unalaska PD 24 Hours a day, 
29 Safety Way seven (7) day a  
Unalaska, AK 99685 week 
907-581-1233 
 
Valdez DPS Sunday - Thursday 
115 Meals Avenue 9:00 am – 5:00 pm 
Valdez, AK  
907-835-4307 
 
Wrangell DPS Sat - Wed 
215 Front Street 10:00 am – 6:00 pm 
Wrangell, AK 99929 by appointment  
907-874-3215 only; Leave a 

message at 874-3215 
 
Wrangell PD Monday - Friday 
431 Zimovia Hwy 8:00 am – 4:00 pm 
Wrangell, AK 99929 
907-874-3304 
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  GUI 
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2543     
Fax: (907) 465-2974    E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

For Division Use Only 

APPLICATION FOR ASSISTANT GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATION 
This application must be completed.  Type or print all information legibly in ink. 

Submit a complete notarized or postmaster-stamped application all supporting documents, and a check or 
money order payable to the State of Alaska. 

♦ Resident: $610.00  ($200.00 application fee (nonrefundable) and $410.00 biennial license fee) 
♦ Nonresident: $1020.00  ($200.00 application fee (nonrefundable) and $820.00 biennial license fee) 

 
Name:    Telephone:   
 
Mailing Address:   
 
City:    State:    ZIP Code:   
 
Date of Birth:    Social Security Number:    Sex:   
 
E-mail Address:     

Please send correspondence via:     Email  US Mail 

RESIDENCY STATUS YES NO 
According to the definition of “resident” (on page 2 of the coversheet of this application) are you a 
resident of the State of Alaska?   
    

OTHER STATE OR PROVINCE LICENSES 
List all licenses that you hold or have held that authorized you to provide hunting, guiding, outfitting or transportation 
services. 

State/Province License Type: License No. 
Date of 

Issuance 
Expiration 

Date 

     

     

     

     

DISCIPLINARY / INVESTIGATION / PROFESSION QUESTIONS YES NO 

1. Have you been convicted of a crime or are you currently charged with committing a crime?  
 For purposes of this question, “crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony, or a military offense,  
 including, but not limited to, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI),  
 driving without a license, reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license.   
 “Convicted” includes having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea  
 of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, or having been given probation, a suspended imposition  
 of sentence, or a fine.   

2. Are there any unsatisfied judgments against you resulting from your big game services?    

3. Are you aware of any investigations against you, in any state, jurisdiction or in Canada?    
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DISCIPLINARY / INVESTIGATION / PROFESSION QUESTIONS CONTINUED YES NO 

4. Have you ever had a professional license denied, revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted,  
 conditioned, or limited or have you surrendered a professional license, been fined, placed  
 on probation, reprimanded, disciplined, or entered into a settlement with a licensing authority  
 in connection with a professional license you have held in any jurisdiction including Alaska, Canada,  
 and including that of any military authorities or is any such action pending?   
 
HAVE YOU: YES NO 
 
5. been convicted within the last five years, of a violation of state or federal hunting, guiding, or  
 transportation services statute or regulation for, which you were imprisoned for more than five days?    

6. been convicted of a violation of state or federal hunting, guiding, or transportation services statute or  
 regulation within the last 12 months, for which you received an unsuspended fine of more than $2,000?    
7. been convicted of a violation of state or federal hunting, guiding, or transportation services statute or  
 regulation within the last 36 months, for which you received an unsuspended fine of more than $3,000?    

8. been convicted of a violation of state or federal hunting, guiding, or transportation services statute or  
 regulation within the last 60 months, for which you received an unsuspended fine of more than $5,000?    

9. secured or attempted to secure a license through deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation?    

10. failed to comply with a Board order?    

11. continued or attempted to provide big game commercial services after becoming unfit due to 
 professional incompetence?   

 
PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
Within the last five years have you: 

12. been or are you currently being treated for bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, paranoia, psychotic disorder,  
 substance abuse, depression (except for situational or reactive depression) or any other mental or  
 emotional illness?    

13. been or are you addicted to, excessively used, or misused alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates or  
 habit-forming drugs?    

14. had or do you have a physical disability or physical illness which may impair or interfere with your ability 
to provide big game commercial services?   

A “Yes” answer may not prejudice your application, failure to report honestly may. 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions (1 - 11), you MUST submit a full explanation of the 
circumstances of the event(s) in your own words on a separate piece of paper.  Also, you MUST submit any/all 
supporting documents that are applicable (court records including charging documents, judgments, certificate of 
completion, board actions, investigation notices, etc.) 
If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions (12 – 14), you MUST also submit a statement from your 
health care provider stating their relationship to the issue of concern and attesting to your ability to provide 
guide-outfitter, guiding, or transporting services. 
 YES NO 
16. been a state or federal law enforcement officer engaged in fish and wildlife protection in the past 
 three months?    

If “yes,” state the date of your termination:      

17. been employed by the Department of Fish and Game or a federal wildlife management agency  
 as a game or wildlife biologist within the last 12 months?    

If “yes,” state your date of employment and the unit(s) you were employed in: 

Hire date:    Termination date:     Game Management Unit(s):    

18. personally piloted an aircraft to transport clients?    
 If “yes” complete form 08-4009c. 
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AFFIDAVIT OF ALASKA HUNTING EXPERIENCE 

Type or print all information legibly in ink. 

I attest, that I have legally hunted big game in the State of Alaska for at least 30 days in a calendar year or a 
cumulative total of 60 days of big game hunting activity over a period longer than two years, if at least 30 of the 60 days 
is spent working in a guide camp or supervised by a licensed guide while performing guide-related duties.  
Documented completion of a board approved assistant guide training course may count for 10 days.  
 
Identify Calendar Years (years do not have to be consecutive) Hunted in Alaska: 

          

 
Being first duly sworn upon his/her oath, deposes and says: 
 
I  , make the following voluntary statement and no threats,  
 (Applicant Name) 
 
promises, or any form of duress have been used to induce me to make this statement. 
By my signature below, I declare that all facts, statements, and answers contained in this application are true and correct; 
I am not omitting any information that might be of value to the Big Game Commercial Services Board in determining my 
qualifications and character, whether it is called for or not; and I agree that any falsification, omission, or withholding of 
information or facts concerning any qualifications as an applicant shall be sufficient to bar issuance of a license to me by 
the Big Game Commercial Services Board and such falsifications, omissions, or withholding shall serve as sufficient 
grounds for the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of my Assistant Guide license even though it is not discovered 
until after issuance. 

I give permission to the Big Game Commercial Services Board to secure additional information concerning me or any 
statement in this application and supporting documents from any person or any source the board may desire.  I further 
agree to submit to questioning by the board or any member thereof, and to substantiate any statements if desired by the 
board. 
 
 

 
The contents of licensing files are generally considered public records.  If you believe that the additional information you 
are attaching to explain a “yes” answer should be considered confidential, state as such in the attachment.  A request for 
confidentiality may or may not be granted. 

All information supplied with this application is considered public unless required to be kept confidential by state 
or federal law. 
 

WARNING: The Board may deny issuance, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or attempted to 
obtain a license to provide big game commercial services by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to 
criminal charges for perjury (AS 11.56.200). 

 
I certify that the above statements are true and correct. 

 
SIGN HERE     

 Applicant Signature  
 
         
       Printed Name 
 
       Date    
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this    day of  , 20 . 
 

  
SEAL        

 Notary Public 
  
 for the State of   

 (or postmaster stamp if notary public is not available) 
 My Commission Expires:   
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CONFIDENTIALITY 



 

 
State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 

Big Game Commercial Services Board 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2543  

  Fax:  (907) 465-2974    E-mail:  license@alaska.gov 
Website:  www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

 
AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORDS 

 
 
THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED WITH THE APPLICATION 

 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
 
 
I,  , residing at 
 Applicant Name  (Please print full name) 
 
 , hereby authorize the  
 (Please print full address) 

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (Division)and its investigators to examine my medical, 
employment records including all training which pertains to my involvement in the guiding industry, and any records 
pertaining to litigation, judgments, suits, and/or settlements, and any law enforcement records pertaining to me and 
discuss them with persons having possession of them.  I also expressly permit and authorize the release of any and all 
such records pertaining to me to the Division and its investigators. 
 
I authorize the Division to discuss my records with persons or organizations that are considered appropriate by the 
Division in connection with an official investigation, and to provide copies of my records to those persons or organizations 
deemed appropriate by the Division. 
 
This release also applies to any documents or records which contain information pertaining to psychiatric, psychological, 
drug, or alcohol evaluation, counseling, diagnosis or treatment received by me, which were prepared or made in 
conjunction with, or under the authority or guidance of any local, state, or federal law, which relates to psychiatric, drug or 
alcohol evaluation, diagnosis or treatment, including all information previously identified, collected, or stored under the 
authority of any state or federal law. 
 
I request that upon presentation of this release, or a Certified True Copy thereof, that you provide copies of those records 
to the Division and/or its investigators, and/or representatives of the Office of the Attorney General of the State of Alaska. 
 
This authorization expires one (1) year from the date of my signature below. 
 
 
 
 
                
Applicant Signature             Date 
 
 
 
    
Home Telephone Number      Work Telephone Number 
 
 
NOTE:  A photocopy reproduction of this request shall be, for all intents and purposes, as valid as the original. 
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 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2543     
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

For Division Use Only 

LETTER OF RECOMMENDATION 

Type or print all information legibly in ink. 
This form is to be completed by a licensed Master or Registered Guide-Outfitter. Additional pages may be attached, if 
necessary. 
Applicant Name:                
1. Do you intend to employ the applicant as an assistant guide?  
  Yes  No  If “yes” what is your license number?    
2. What is your relationship with the applicant?             
 
                  
3. How long have you known the applicant?        

I attest that the applicant meets each of the following criteria: 
1) has knowledge and experience in the safe operation of firearms; 
2) has knowledge of guide statutes and regulations and game relations; 
3) has knowledge in trophy judging, caping, skinning, butchering, and meat and trophy care; 
4) has directly participated in the spotting, stalking, and subsequent harvesting of at least three big game animals 

   during a guided hunt in this state; 
5) has knowledge and experience concerning general safety and emergency protocol. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I make the following voluntary recommendation and not threats, promises, form of duress have been used to 
induce me to make this recommendation.  I certify the above information is true and correct. 
 
 
                 
Print Name         Date 
 
          
Signature 
 
                 
Address      City   State   ZIP Code 
 
Telephone Number:        

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN (or AFFIRMED) to before me this   day of  , 20 . 
 

      
   Notary Public  
 
 for the State of   

   SEAL 
         My Commission Expires:   
 (or postmaster stamp if notary public is not available) 
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I understand that, in accordance with Alaska Statute 11.56.200, any person knowingly or intentionally 
furnishing false or fraudulent information when completing this form is subject to imprisonment for not 
more than one year, a fine of not more than $5,000.00 or both. 
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Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD 
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E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
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For Division Use Only 

VERIFICATION OF COMMERCIAL PILOT’S LICENSE 
OR 

AFFIDAVIT OF FLYING EXPERIENCE 
AS 08.54.680(b) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Complete this section if you have a commercial pilot’s rating and intend to personally pilot an aircraft to 
transport clients during the provision of big game hunting services. 

COMMERCIAL PILOT’S RATING CERTIFICATION 
Attach a photocopy of your current commercial pilot’s license to this form and present this form with the photocopy to the 
Notary Public or postmaster. 
 
I,      , hereby swear (or affirm) that the attached reproduction of the my current  

(Applicant Name) 
commercial pilot’s license is a true, correct, and complete photocopy of the commercial pilot’s license in my possession. 

 Complete this section if you have a minimum of 500 hours of flying time in Alaska and intend to personally pilot an 
aircraft to transport clients during the provision of big game hunting services. 

AFFIDAVIT OF FLYING EXPERIENCE 
I make the following voluntary signed statement and no threats, promises, or any form of duress have been used to 
induce me to make this statement. 
 
I,      , have personally flown (piloted) at least 500 hours in Alaska . 

(Applicant Name) 

List the number of hours you have personally flown (piloted) in Alaska:       
 
 
 
 

I certify that the above information is true and correct. 

                
Applicant Signature      Applicant Printed Name 
 
                
        Date 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me, a Notary Public, in and for the State of       

this   day of  , 20 . 

  Seal              
        Notary Public Signature 

(or Postmaster Stamp if Notary Public is Not Available) My Commission Expires:      
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WARNING:  The Board may deny issuance, suspend, or revoke the license of a person who has obtained or attempted to obtain a license 
to practice as an Assistant Guide by fraud or deceit.  The person may also be subject to criminal charges for perjury (AS 
11.56.200). 

A Registered Guide-Outfitter, Class-A Assistant Guide, or an Assistant Guide who will personally pilot an aircraft to 
transport clients during the provisions of big game hunting services shall have a commercial pilot’s rating or a 
minimum of 500 hours of flying time in Alaska. 

Type or print all information legibly in ink. 



 

   GUI 
 State of Alaska 

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
BIG GAME COMMERCIAL SERVICES BOARD 
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor 
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 
Phone: (907) 465-2543     
E-mail: license@alaska.gov 
Website: www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ 

For Division Use Only 

AUTHORIZATION FOR INTERSTATE EXCHANGE OF EXAMINATION                       
AND LICENSURE INFORMATION 

If you hold, or have ever held a license to provide guiding, outfitting, transportation, or other hunting services in another 
state or in Canada, this form is essential to the application you are filing with the Big Game Commercial Services Board.  
Before your application can be considered for approval, the information requested below must be officially verified by the 
guide-outfitter board(s) in all states and Canada where you hold or have ever held a license. Please complete the 
information requested and forward it to the state(s) or Canadian provinces in which you hold or have ever held a license to 
provide big game guiding, outfitting, transportation, or other hunting services.  You are advised to check with that state or 
province before forwarding this form to determine if there are additional requirements to be met before the information will 
be released, i.e.(verification fee). 
 
PART I - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT (Please type or print legibly): 
 
 
  

(Please Print Full Name)   Maiden Name 
 
Address   

Street or P.O. Box    City   State (Country)            Zip Code 
 
Date of Birth:    License No.:   
 
 
I hereby request and authorize   to provide any and all pertinent 
information requested in this form to the Alaska Big Game Commercial Services Board to complete an application filed 
with that agency. 
 
    

Signature Date Signed 
 
 
PART II – NOT TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT 
 
The above applicant is applying for licensure in this state.  Please complete the following and return directly to the Big 
Game Commercial Services Board. 
 
State/Agency:   

Name of Licensee:   

License No.:   Issued Effective:   

License Type:    

License is current:   Lapsed:   Expiration date:   

If the applicant’s license has lapsed or expired, please explain why (e.g., failure to pay licensing renewal fees, etc.): 
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Date of exam:   The examination consisted of the following subjects: 
 

SUBJECTS GRADES PRACTICAL/ORAL/WRITTEN 
   
   
   
   

Has the applicant’s license ever been suspended or revoked?      YES   NO      If “yes,” for what reason. 
  
  
  
  
  

Has the applicant been subject to any other disciplinary action(s) (e.g., letter of warning, fine, probation, stipulation)?  
  YES      NO            If “yes,” please provide a copy of the official action taken. 

  
  
  
  
  

Please provide any information you believe relevant to the applicant’s qualifications and fitness to provide guiding 
services. 
  
  
  
  
  

General Comments:    
  
  
  
 
 Signed:    
 
 STATE BOARD Printed Name:    
 OR 
 AGENCY Title:    
 SEAL 
  State Board/Agency:  
 
  Date:    

Please return this form directly to: 

Department of Commerce, Community, and 
   Economic Development 
Division of Corporations, Business and 
  Professional Licensing 
Big Game Commercial Services Board 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
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