THE STATE



ASKA Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Marine Pilots PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550 Email: BoardOfMarinePilots@Alaska.Gov Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMarinePilots

Pilotage Exemption for Pleasure Craft of Foreign Registry Application Instructions

- Applications must be submitted to the Marine Pilot Coordinator at least 30 days before the vessel enters Alaska waters.
- The board has 10 business days to act on a completed application. All required items must be received before the board will review an application.
- Incomplete applications or applications requiring additional information will experience longer processing times.

The following must be received by the division before your application for Pilotage Exemption for Pleasure Craft of Foreign Registry can be reviewed:

1. APPLICATION

A signed, completed application (#08-4479, pages 1-5).

2. FEES

Fees made payable to "State of Alaska" in accordance with AS 08.62.140(b).Nonrefundable Application Fee:\$250.00License Fee (Per foot of length overall* in excess of 65 feet):\$ 50.00

*12 AAC 56.990(e): "overall length" and "length overall" means the horizontal distance between the forward-most and aftermost points on the hull, excluding fittings and attachments.

3. CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRY

A Certificate of Registry as required under 12 AAC 56.115(a)(5).

4. COMPASS DEVIATION TABLE

A Compass Deviation Table as required under 12 AAC 56.115(a)(2).

5. CERTIFICATE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

A Certificate of Financial Responsibility, if required by AS 46.04.

General Information

APPLICATION PROCESSING:

The average processing time varies by program. When the application is complete and correct, all supporting documents have been received and all fees have been paid, the license may be issued. Start the process far enough in advance to allow for processing time. Applications are reviewed in order of receipt in our office, and walk-in customers should not expect immediate review.

DENIAL OF APPLICATION:

Be aware that the denial of an application for licensure may be reported to any person, professional licensing board, federal, state, or local governmental agency, or other entity making a relevant inquiry or as may be required by law.

ADDRESS OR NAME CHANGE:

In accordance with 12 AAC 02.900, it is the applicant's responsibility to notify the division, in writing, of changes of address or name. Name and address change notification forms are available on the division's website. The address of record with the division will be used to send renewals and all other official notifications. The name appearing on the license must be your current legal name.

CERTIFIED TRUE COPIES:

If any of the required documents will be issued under a former name, indicate on the application and submit marriage license and/or court documents that are notarized as a "certified true copy of the original document". To obtain a certified true copy, you must present the notary with the original document along with the photocopy. You must write, "I certify this is a true copy of the original document" and sign your name. The notary will compare the original document with the copy and then notarize your signature.

PUBLIC INFORMATION:

All information on the application will be available as public record, unless required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

ABANDONED APPLICATIONS:

Under 12 AAC 02.910, an application is considered abandoned when 12 months have elapsed since correspondence was last received from or on behalf of the applicant. An abandoned application is denied without prejudice. At the time of abandonment, the division will send notification to the last known address of the applicant, who has 30 days to submit a written request for a refund of biennial license and other fees paid. The application fee will not be refunded. If no request for refund is received within that timeframe, no refund will be issued, and all fees will be forfeited.

BUSINESS LICENSES:

The status of a professional license will directly impact the status of an associated business license. Renewal applications for business licenses are mailed separately. For more information about business licenses, (907) 465-2550 or *BusinessLicense.Alaska.Gov*.

STALE DOCUMENTS:

Application forms, authorizations and verifications older than 12 months from the date the document was received by the division will be considered stale; the document must be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the division or a licensing board. Application documents include the application documents and verifications of licensure from other licensing jurisdictions. (12 AAC 02.915)

PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT:

If the Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division has determined that you are in arrears on child support, you may be issued a nonrenewable temporary license valid for 150 days. Contact Child Support Services at (907) 269-6900 to resolve payment issues.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

The complete set of statutes and regulations for this program are available by written request or online at the division's website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov.* To receive notification of all proposed regulation changes, send a request with your name, preferred contact method (mail or email), and the program you want to be updated on to the regulation specialist at the following email: *RegulationsAndPublicComment@Alaska.Gov.*

Statutes and Regulations

AS 08.62.040(f): The owner or operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry that fails to employ a state-licensed marine pilot as required is punishable by a fine of up to \$10,000 for each violation.

AS 08.62.140(b): The nonrefundable application fee is \$250 plus \$50 for each whole foot in length of the vessel that exceeds 65 feet length overall (LOA). For fees, LOA is determined by measuring the horizontal distance between the forward-most point and aftermost point on the hull, excluding attachments and fittings.

AS 08.62.160: In the State of Alaska, a pleasure craft of foreign registry that is more than 65 feet overall length is required to employ a state-licensed marine pilot while the pleasure craft is in compulsory pilotage waters of the state.

AS 08.62.180(b): The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry of more than 65 feet overall length but less than 175 feet overall length may apply for an exemption from the pilotage requirement of this chapter. If an exemption is applied for and the fee prescribed under AS 08.62.140(b) is paid, the board may issue the exemption to the operator of the vessel. The exemption is valid for one year from the date on which the exemption is issued. **The application for an exemption must be submitted to the board at least 30 days before the vessel enters the state.** The board shall approve or deny an application for the exemption within 10 working days after the application is received by the board. If the board does not approve or disapprove the application within 10 working days, the exemption is considered to be approved, and the board shall issue the exemption. The 10-day period for action by the board is suspended while the board is waiting for a response to a request by the board for additional information from the applicant. An exemption issued under this subsection may be revoked by the board if the vessel is not operated in a manner that is appropriate to protect human life, property, and the marine environment or if the vessel does not comply with all applicable local, state, and federal laws. The exemption must remain on the vessel while the vessel is in state water. An exemption issued under this subsection does not exempt a vessel from the requirement to employ a pilot licensed under this chapter while the vessel is in Wrangell Narrows or in the water between Chatham Strait and Sitka via Peril Strait.

An exemption granted by the board will be confirmed in writing and a certificate provided. A pleasure craft is not exempt from state pilotage requirements until the vessel operator has received the exemption certificate. The operator of the vessel must retain the exemption certificate on board while the vessel is in state waters. An exemption from state pilotage requirements is valid for one year from the date on which the exemption was issued, unless surrendered by the applicant or revoked by the board.

AS 08.62.180(c): The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry more than 65 feet overall length but not more than 125 feet overall length that has received a pilotage exemption shall proceed upon its initial entry into state waters to the first port of call to receive navigational and safety information from the registered vessel agent employed by the operator of the vessel.

AS 08.62.180(d): The operator of a pleasure craft of foreign registry more than 125 feet overall length but less than 175 feet overall length that has received a pilotage exemption shall employ a state-licensed marine pilot from initial entry into state compulsory pilotage waters to the first port of call. The marine pilot shall provide navigational and safety information relating to the pilotage region to the operator of the vessel.

AS 08.62.180(e): A "pleasure craft" is defined as "a vessel that does not carry passengers or freight for hire" and "for hire" is defined as "when consideration is contributed as a condition of carriage on a vessel, whether directly or indirectly flowing to the owner, charterer, operator, agent, or other person having an interest in the vessel."

12 AAC 56.115: If a pleasure craft of foreign registry of more than 65 feet overall length enters compulsory pilotage waters without a pilot or a pilotage exemption, the operator of the pleasure craft will not be granted a subsequent pilotage exemption until the operator provides the Marine Pilot Coordinator satisfactory documentation detailing the pleasure craft's entry into compulsory pilotage waters and all subsequent voyages in violation of Alaska law.

12 AAC 56.115(a)(3)(H): If the vessel is required under AS 46.04 to provide proof of financial responsibility, a current copy of the vessel's Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation certificate of financial responsibility, or a copy of the current application for an Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation for the vessel's certificate of financial responsibility, must be submitted with the application for pilotage exemption.

Reference the State of Alaska Division of Spill Prevention and Response webpage: *https://dec.alaska.gov/spar.aspx* to determine if your vessel needs an approved proof of financial responsibility. Note that COFR's are determined based on gross REGISTERED tons.

12 AAC 56.115(a)(2): The operator of a pleasure craft seeking an exemption from state pilotage requirements must employ a vessel agent from the register of agents maintained by the board, and ensure the vessel is equipped with the following:

- a) An automatic identification system (AIS);
- b) RADAR: if the vessel is over 125 feet long, the RADAR must have the means to automatically track the range and bearings of other targets to determine collision risk
- c) a depth sounder with depth alarm;
- d) a magnetic compass with a deviation table issued not later than one (1) year before the date of application for an exemption or a Transmitting Heading Device (THD); and
- e) a minimum of two VHF transceivers in order to simultaneously monitor Channels 13 and 16.

12 AAC 56.115(a)(3): The operator of a pleasure craft seeking an exemption from state pilotage requirements must ensure the pleasure craft has on board for each area of the state to be transited:

- current copies of all applicable nautical charts
- current copies of applicable Coast Pilot(s)
- current copies of tide tables
- Southeast Alaska Voluntary Waterway Guide (if traveling Southeast region)
- Tongass Narrows Users Guide (if traveling Tongass Narrows)
- Vessel Traffic System regulations (if traveling Prince William Sound)

12 AAC 56.115(c): On vessels over 100 feet in length, the captain or master aboard a pleasure craft seeking a pilotage exemption must hold a current mariner's license for the vessel's tonnage. A copy of the mariner's license must be submitted with the application, and for a pleasure craft greater than 200 gross tons, the master must hold a valid unlimited radar observer endorsement. Masters that do not hold a valid unlimited radar endorsement must submit proof of radar training completed within the five years immediately preceding the date of application.

12 AAC 56.115(d): While underway in compulsory pilotage waters, the master of a pleasure craft with a current pilotage exemption must ensure the following:

- 1) the vessel transmits via an automatic identification system (AIS) the vessel's name, length, beam, draft, course, speed, and destination;
- 2) an individual who speaks and understands English is present on the bridge;
- 3) the vessel crew simultaneously monitors VHF radio channels 13 and 16; and
- 4) while the vessel is transiting the Prince William Sound VTS lanes, the vessel master is present on the bridge.

12 AAC **56.990(e):** "Overall length" and "length overall" means the horizontal distance between the forward-most and after-most points on the hull, excluding fittings and attachments.





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Marine Pilots

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: *ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMarinePilots*

Pilotage Exemption for Pleasure Craft of Foreign Registry Application

(For vessels longer than 65 feet, but shorter than 175 feet LOA)

An application for exemption must be submitted to the board at least 30 days before the vessel enters the state, in accordance with AS 08.62.180(b).

PART I Par	yment of Fees	
Required Fees:	 Nonrefundable Application Fee License Fee (Per foot of length overall* in excess of 65 feet) 	\$250.00 \$ 50.00

*12 AAC 56.990(e): "overall length" and "length overall" means the horizontal distance between the forward-most and after-most points on the hull, excluding attachments and fittings.

Vessel Length Overall: (LOA)		
LOA in Whole Feet that Exceeds 65 Feet:	X \$50 = Footage Overage Fee:	
Total Amount Due: (\$250 + Footage Overage Fee)		

PART II Ve	essel Operator Information			
Full Name:				
Mailing Address:	P.O. Box or Street City		State	Zip
Email Address:		Contact Phone:		

PART III	Vessel Owner Information			
Full Name:				
Mailing Address	P.O. Box or Street City		State	Zip
Email Address:		Contact Phone:		

FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

PART IV Ve	essel Agent		
Full Name:			
Registration Number:		Contact Phone:	

PART V Vessel Information

AS 08.62.180(b): Vessels must be shorter than 175 feet LOA to qualify for this exemption.				
Name:				
Registry:				
Official Number and Call Sign:				
Cell Phone Number:	Satellite Phone Number:			
Email Address:	LOA:			
Air Draft:				
International Gross Tonnage:	Gross Registered Tonnage:			

PART VI Required Attachments

Vessel's Certificate of Registry

Compass Deviation Table

Certificate of Financial Responsibility, if required by AS 46.04.

PART VII Passengers for Hire

A vessel with passengers 'for hire' is disqualified from an exemption and the certificate must be surrendered to the Marine Pilot Coordinator prior to boarding such passengers. This does not prohibit the re-application for exemption from pilotage as a pleasure craft without passengers 'for hire.'

Applicants are reminded that Alaska law requires vessels intending to transit Wrangell Narrows, or from Chatham Strait to Sitka (via Peril Strait, Sergius Narrows, Kakul Narrows, Neva Strait, Olga Strait) to employ a state-licensed marine pilot regardless of any pilotage exemption received.

I hereby attest this vessel does **not** have passengers for hire. I understand a "pleasure craft" is defined as a vessel that does not carry passengers or freight for hire, in accordance with AS 08.62.180(e)(2).

PART VIII Pilotage Waters

You must indicate the pilotage waters and dates below. An application for exemption must be submitted to the board at least 30 days before the vessel enters the state, in accordance with AS 08.62.180(b).

Waters	Dates
Southeast Alaska	
Yakutat / Disenchantment Bay	
🔲 Ісу Вау	
Prince William Sound	
Seward / Resurrection Bay	
Cook Inlet	
Kodiak Island Group	
Alaska Peninsula / Aleutian Islands	
Other:	

PART IX Vessel Crew Information

List the name, position and address of the vessel's captain and officers. Be sure to include members of any mid-voyage crew changes. Print additional pages as needed.

12 AAC 56.115(c): On vessels over 100 feet in length, the captain or master must hold a current mariner's license for the vessel's tonnage. On a pleasure craft greater than 200 gross tons, the master must hold a valid unlimited radar observer endorsement. Masters that do not hold a valid unlimited radar endorsement must submit proof of radar training completed within the five years immediately preceding the date of application.

Full Name:			Position:		
Address:	Street	City		State	Zip
Speaks English?	Yes	No Current License Atta	ached?	Yes	No No
Experience in the waters to be visited:					

Full Name:		Position:	
Address:	Street	City	State Zip
Speaks English?	🗌 Yes 🗌 No	Current License Attached?	🗌 Yes 🔲 No
Experience in the waters to be visited:			

PART IX Vessel Crew Information (continued)

Full Name:			Position:	
Address:	Street	City	State Zip	
Speaks English?	Yes	No Current License Atta	ached?	
Experience in the v to be visited:	waters			

PART X	Ve	ssel Equipment			
Fuel Type Onboard:			Fuel Quantit Onboard:	ty	
Indicate which	n of th	ne following navigational tools are on board the vessel.			
required docu	ment	ents must be on board the vessel at the time of application is are not on board when the application is filed. You n hts on board the vessel, "current" is not an acceptable resp	nust provide		•
AIS			MMSI Number:		
Depth S	Sound	ler with Depth Alarm			
Means	to au	tomatically track the range and bearings of other targets to	determine co	ollision risk	
Magnet	ic Co	mpass or Transmitting Head Device (THD)	Date of Devia	ation Table:	
🔲 Minimu	ım of	2 VHF radios capable of simultaneously monitoring channe	ls 13 and 16		
Coast P	ilot 8		Dated:		
Coast P	ilot 9		Dated:		
Current	tide	table(s)	Dated:		
Current	tidal	current table(s)	Dated:		
Southea	ast Al	aska Voluntary Waterway Guide	Dated:		
Tongass	s Narr	rows User Guide	Dated:		
VTS reg	ulatic	ons for Prince William Sound and Valdez	Dated:		
Current	naut	ical chart to scale for each area to be transited, and/or elec	ctronic equiva	lent	

PART XI Ala

Alaska Law

I hereby certify I have reviewed, understand and will abide by the statutes and regulations applicable to my profession (AS 08.62 and 12 AAC 56).





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Board of Marine Pilots

PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Website: ProfessionalLicense.Alaska.Gov/BoardOfMarinePilots

Signature Page

Applicant Name: Position Representing:

PART XII Agreement

I understand only pleasure craft may obtain an exemption from mandatory state Pilotage requirements. A "pleasure craft" is "a vessel that does not carry passengers or freight for hire." "For hire" means "for consideration contributed as a condition of carriage on a vessel, whether directly or indirectly flowing to the owner, charterer, operator, agent, or other person having an interest in the vessel in accordance with AS 08.62.180(e).

I have read and understand the conditions of operation and underway requirements while holding a current pilotage exemption.

I hereby certify the vessel described above will not be carrying passengers or freight for hire during the time periods for which an exemption had been sought in this application. I further certify all of the information contained herein and evidence or other documents submitted are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

I understand it is a Class-A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210 to falsify an application and commit the crime of unsworn falsification.

Applicant Signature:		Date Signed:	
----------------------	--	--------------	--





Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

State of Alaska PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-2550

Credit Card Payment Form

All major credit cards are accepted. For security purposes, <u>do not email</u> credit card information. Include this credit card payment form with your application.

Name of Applicant or Licensee:					
Profession Type (e.g., Acupuncture):			License Number (if applicable		
I wish to make payment by credit card		for the following (check all that apply):			AMOUNT
Application Fee:					
License or Renewal Fee:					
Other (fine, exam, etc.):					
1.					
2.					
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		то	TAL:	
Name (as shown on credit card):					

Name (as shown on credit card):		
Mailing Address:		
Phone Number:	Email (Optional):	
Signature of Credit Card Holder:		

08-4438 (Rev. 11/21/2024)

Credit Card Payment Form (all major cards accepted)

Page 1 of 1

CREDIT CARD INFO: Your payment cannot be processed unless all fields are completed. 1. Credit Card Number: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 2. Expiration Date: All 3 fields MUST be completed. 3. Security Code: This section will be destroyed after the payment is processed.